Would you want an Alignment Tutorial?

Discussion in 'Automotive' started by pollypeptide, Jan 10, 2018.

1. pollypeptide

pollypeptide
    Expand Collapse

Hey all, I'm very much the noob here but I have a lifetime and a half of automotive experience which I'd like to share with other enthusiasts. Brake and chassis is my specialty and I've been doing alignments for over 15 years. Alignments are the most critical part of a cars handling and for a game like BeamNG.Drive, knowing how to line up your car is essential. You can score faster lap times with a decent set of tires and a good alignment than you can with $5k worth of struts and bushings....

Thing is, it took me 20 years to learn what I know so doing a tutorial would be a monumental task...

I know there are a lot of people who would like to know the in's and out's of alignments so I guess what I'm asking is, how much do you want to know? Would a basic run-down of alignments be enough or would you want a full on explanation of everything from contact patch to spring rate to instant-centers??

I want to contribute and I have a lot of experience to share, how far does "general interest" go though? I really do want to spin up this tutorial on alignments just as a test of what I know, so do you want such a thing? Is it worth my time?

Please hit me up with some input here! If you all want a decent guide to alignments then I'll do a tutorial. I'd like to create an alignment app as well, so if there is anyone interested in that let me know. Alignment is important so it's worth learning about... Such is my opinion at least...

2. fufsgfen

fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

All information is more information, so of course more information is wanted!

3. atv_123

atv_123
    Expand Collapse

I am willing to learn... impart your knowledge.

4. Codeslamer

Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse