use of multiple 'sound' folders in one car (multiple sbeams)

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by NinetyNine!, Aug 9, 2017.

  1. NinetyNine!

    NinetyNine!
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,377
    Hi, As far as I know it wasnt possible to have two sound related folders for one car at once.

    But for example i have a certain bolide mod in progress, which *really* needs a flatplane V8 sound. but right now we can only select from crossplane v8 sounds.

    So my question is : would it be possible to have one 'sounds' folder which could for example be named 'sounds_modname' to give modders a chance to include their own sounds without overwriting other sound folders and the sbeams in them?

    An official answer would be nice :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  2. CharredWing

    CharredWing
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Messages:
    560
    Bolide mod? *wiggles eyebrows* *mumbles in Italian* *Exclaims, "Oh my!"* *monocle pops out*
     
  3. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,407
    If we are talking about a new mod anyway, why not go all the way and use the new system in the first place?
    It's much more powerful than the old sbeam stuff :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. TheAdmiester

    TheAdmiester
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    529
    Is the new system very well documented for modders yet? I would give my sound mod another shot but don't know where to start in terms of definitions/applying my own sounds to cars with the new system.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  5. NinetyNine!

    NinetyNine!
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,377
    i would, but ive been reading through the forum and saw that the new sound system isnt really something for modders according to @Nadeox1 , and modders should stick to sbeam since its easier to use.

    and is the new system even possible with like 4 samples? (dont have the skill to have like 10 files perfect for each rpm range)
     
  6. Bakasan

    Bakasan
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    945
    I just checked ingame, but you can use both sbeam and the new sound system in the same mod

    basically, this line of jbeam controls the new sound

    Code:
        "soundConfig": {
            "sampleName": "I4",
            "mainGain": -18,
            "maxLoadMix": 0.65,
            "minLoadMix": 0.05,
            "onLoadGain":1,
            "offLoadGain":0.7,
            "eqLowGain": 10,
            "eqLowFreq": 400,
            //"eqLowWidth": 0,
            "eqHighGain": -5,
            "eqHighFreq": 6000,
            //"eqHighWidth": 0.5,
            "fundamentalFrequencyCylinderCount":4
            "eqFundamentalGain": 10
        },
    If you remove that line, the game should revert to either the stock v8 sound, or sbeam sounds if you have them

    Also, above this code is the line:

    "soundConfig": "soundConfig",

    I'm not 100% sure, but I believe you can use this to specify different sounds within a single sbeam file.

    For instance, take this sbeam

    Capture.png
    Notice how in the "group" section instead of "default", there is "5M-GE" and "5M-GEtuned"

    Now, if we change the jbeam code so it reads

    "soundConfig": "5M-GE",

    It will play the 5M-GE sounds but not the tuned sounds. So you can use this setup to create multiple sound profiles for different engine sounds.
     
  7. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,407
    No no, not at all, modders are ofc meant to use the new system. We only had to "lock down" the samples due to license concerns.
    You could potentially even use just one sample with the new system, even thought that of course won't sound great.
    Sbeam has way less features and I definitely would not recommend that for new mods.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. NinetyNine!

    NinetyNine!
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,377
    ah okay, good to know

    And will there be a how-to for the new sound system at some point? im having problems to understand adding new sounds.
     
  9. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,407
    At some point? Sure :D
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. TheAdmiester

    TheAdmiester
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    529
    Just wondering, if we want our own sound files to be detected by the sampleName parameter, where should we place them and how should we structure any folders/zips?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice