1. Stuck or having problems creating your mod?

Outdated Random Tour 1.4.1

Drive from somewhere to somewhere else! It's different each time!

  1. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Delete any old version of the mod, clear the cache and reinstall the latest version.

    BeamNG's caching is nice in that it helps loading times, but boy does it break a lot of shit.
     
  2. Skirmisher

    Skirmisher
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    With BeamNG version 0.5.5, this mod apparently breaks all scenarios (including its own); they don't spawn anything or even display mission text. (Seems to affect your Double Joker pack too; I just installed it and had a psycheout when the problem reappeared, haha.)
     
    #22 Skirmisher, Apr 30, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2016
  3. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Both mods work fine on my end. If any of my mods break scenarios, it's far more likely to be the resettable ones. Are you sure you don't have those installed.

    Apart from that, be sure to delete the cache whenever an update comes out or you update mods.
     
  4. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    So here's a thing I made: Random Tour scenario with random Time of Day! I'm not sure how I feel about this, so rather than just updating the mod, I decided to post it here and get some feedback. So, random tod, yay or nay?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  5. Dagalufh

    Dagalufh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Even though, as you pointed out, some of the mods don't have working lights, i think this is rather cool. it adds another element to the tours, the random tours are the most used scenario that i have.

    I did also not that the highbeams on the ETK is... bright. :)
     
  6. Skirmisher

    Skirmisher
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Something between this and your checkpoint scenarios was it. Disabling and re-enabling likely culprits was more frustrating since I basically have to restart BeamNG every time I test...

    The official cars have some stripped/performance/etc. configurations that don't have headlights, too, so you're gonna run into that regardless. But it's still doable if you squint and drive slowly :p Though I can see why one wouldn't want that if they're concerned about their eye health (or they just can't see very well).

    Anyway, I like the concept too. Definitely lets you see the maps in a new...light.

    ...Pun aside, I feel like it could be made more interesting if the time wasn't totally random, and caught some of the more subtle variations around dusk and dawn more often. After all, 10 PM and 2 AM aren't much different in terms of lighting, but 6 PM and 7 PM can be drastically different (for example).
     
  7. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    The way the ToD selection works is that the script first decides on dawn/day/dusk/night (equal chances each) and then picks a random time within the chosen range.

    As this is mostly a proof-of-concept, I haven't fine-tuned this per level and these ranges are hardcoded into the script for Small Island: if you play that scenario, you should (hopefully) notice the ToD selection to be more like you describe. For other levels, however, these ranges are different, and the selection will be somewhat off.

    If I decide to add ToD selection to the mod, I'll be reading the range data from the scenario.json, so that the selection ranges can be fine-tuned for each level individually.
     
  8. racefan105

    racefan105
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    I've deleted the cache, uninstalled the mod, reinstalled the mod, uninstalled it again, cleared the cache, reinstalled the mod, rinsed, and repeated. Am I missing something? Mod's still broken. I can run other scenarios, but not these.
     
  9. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Did you delete the entire Documents\BeamNG.drive folder too? If so, post your logs so I can have a look at them.
     
  10. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    605
  11. 0rangeGhost

    0rangeGhost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    #31 0rangeGhost, May 4, 2016
    Last edited: May 4, 2016
  12. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    605
  13. FS16

    FS16
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    882
    That is great! :D
     
  14. Dagalufh

    Dagalufh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Great @Scepheo that you chose to integrade the ToD, and now also the mod support. :)
     
  15. Josef733

    Josef733
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Please fix the checkpoints in VR city. They are too far apart and not placed conveniently at all.
     
  16. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    I plan on revisiting the checkpoint placement algorithm anyway, that will hopefully address this issue too.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Binkey

    Binkey
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    298
    I love this mod. It's been the only thing I've been doing for the past few days. It's almost perfect, accept this one issue I've encountered...
    plzfix.png
     
  18. Arne Hurnik

    Arne Hurnik
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    960
    Well if you drive through it fast enough Beam won't recognise the impact. After all, you just have to get through it in a 2000th of a second, so that won't be a problem with a 4.5m long car.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    That's an issue with the map itself: The road data for the map indicates you can drive there, and as I use the road data to generate routes...

    A similar issue exists with the blocked tunnels in Utah. You'll sometimes see the AI (if set to "random") drive into that wall/those rocks too: It uses the same data I do.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    605
    Scepheo updated Random Tour with a new update entry:

    Update 1.3.2

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
    #40 Scepheo, May 8, 2016
    Last edited: May 9, 2016
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice