WIP Beta released Rally pack (with pacenotes)

Discussion in 'Scenarios' started by lellolillili, Jan 6, 2022.

  1. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    109
    On the next update...

    I've been working on the code and added a couple features for more granular control over pacenote direction. Pacenotes in the next version will have an "options" field. You'll be able to take short or long pauses in between the corner call and the distance call, or skip the distance call. I like it because if you're approaching a slow corner such as a hairpin, you want to hear the distance call as you approach the corner instead of right after the call. (Watch a couple onboards to get the feel of what I mean). Of course, the whole thing will crap the bed if you have a bunch of slow corners in rapid succession, so I needed to add options to disable the feature if needed. More on this on release.

    Another thing I did is I added a ton of new samples of common phrases to make the co-driver sound a bit more natural. For example, "into X left", "and junction", etc etc are now samples. Sounds way better now, but I need to test more thoroughly.

    As far as stages go, as anticipated, I won't be doing anything new per se, but I'll create a couple of small stages (shakedowns) out of Italy (which I'm improving the pacenotes for), and possibly others. I'll also merge the 2 Utah stages, the 2 PJS stages and the 3 East Coast Dirt stages. (I know it takes like 5 minutes, but it's not fun so I've been putting it off. If you want to do it yourself please go ahead. Contributions are always welcome!)

    Finally, I'm super stoked about @el_ferrito's conversion of Jungle Rock Island. Once that's up on the repo, I'll add pacenotes to that and it'll be one of the best time trial packs ever.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Kirby_49

    Kirby_49
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    194
    where are the time trials meant to be? i can't find them anywhere.
     
  3. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,570
    One thing i've noticed on the PJS Gravel stage is that the "around barrel" call sounds very repetitive and robotic, especially in the part where's theres a lot of them. i know it's not a often used call, but i thought i'd point it out.
    --- Post updated ---
    They are in the normal time trials section.
     
  4. Kirby_49

    Kirby_49
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    194
    can't get them to appear, even after a deep cache cleaning and disabling all other mods.
     
  5. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,570
    Is it activated ? Have you got the latest version ? have you got the original pacenotes by dummiesman as well ?
     
  6. Kirby_49

    Kirby_49
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    194
    yes to all
     
  7. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,570
    dunno then.
     
  8. Kirby_49

    Kirby_49
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    194
    i have come to the same conclusion
     
  9. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    109
    Yeah it's actually "around bale". It does sound like crap, and I've resampled it already. New sound will be there with the next update.

    In the meanwhile you could run a find and replace on the prefab if you really hate it.

    Thanks for the feedback, much appreciated!
    --- Post updated ---
    Does the test scenario work? Under scenarios
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,570
    Nah it's fine. I was wondering too, since it seems to use pretty much the same system, would it be possible to replace sounds with sounds from other codrivers, like the ones available in RBR ?
     
  11. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    109
    Yeah you just use your own samples and modify the pacenotes.json file to match them. But for the love of god do not publish anything you get from the RBR's modding community without their permission, they're really obsessed with that kinda thing.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,570
    Of course, don't worry about it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Kirby_49

    Kirby_49
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2018
    Messages:
    194
    nothing about the mod appears in-game.
     
  14. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    109
    FYI you're not the only one who has this problem. No solution yet.

    Can you send me your log file and a screenshot of your repo/mods screen? Maybe there's something in there.
     
  15. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,570
    It just kinda randomly happened to me too, while i was managing mods i noticed the time trials weren't here even though the mod was active, as well as the test scenario. Didn't look into it much as it was late.
     
  16. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    109
    Ctrl-L is another thing to try. I had a completely random weird problem once and I fixed it by doing Ctrl-L, quitting the game and restarting the game.

    Last resort/test is to copy paste the level folder directly into the beamng local folder I guess, but it's far from ideal.

    Also try and see if there are any errors in the console
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. alex1dp

    alex1dp
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Has anyone found a fix? I even tried copy pasting the level folders to the local folder, but nothing worked so far.
     
  18. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    109
    So, this makes me think something's really wrong here and it's not necessarily my mod. What happens if you just try to add any sort of custom time trials to your game? For example, try both of these (not either)

    1. install other mods that add custom time trials and see if they load up.
    2. add your own custom time trials by just copy-pasting existing ones (you can find them in the zips inside the contents/levels folder of the global beamng folder)
     
  19. pacifistduck

    pacifistduck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Messages:
    88
    For whatever reason all the time trials w/ pacenotes doesn't show up on my end. I tried cleaning cache and disabled every mods except this and dummiesman's core but no luck either.
     
  20. lellolillili

    lellolillili
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2021
    Messages:
    109
    It's been breaking for other people too. Unfortunately, it still works for me so I can't troubleshoot this properly. I suggested 2 things to try one post above so we can narrow it down.

    One thing to try in addition to 1 and 2 above is

    3. installing a previous version manually and see if it works.

    Let me know how it goes so I can narrow it down.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice