Protecting user/dev-made content

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by Mythbuster, Jan 6, 2013.

1. Mythbuster

Mythbuster
    Expand Collapse

So, as some of you know there's a few websites that distribute work other people created, and some users ask money... For things they didn't make themselves.

I feel BeamNG shouldn't suffer from these issues. My suggestion is that you design a way to protect the content both you(the devs) make, and the content users might create in the future. I've understood in RoR it is impossible to make it read locked zips... Personally I think creating some sort of special fileformat to replace the normal zip archives is a no-go: honest users wouldn't be able to do the stuff they like anymore, whereas the dishonest people would probably find a way to open up the new archives anyway.

Even though I have zero knowledge of programming, I'm just gonna write up an idea of how it might be done, perhaps one of the devs could get a brainwave from that on how to deal with the issue properly if my idea is impossible...

Personally I've never seen anyone steal the meshes from trucks/cars in RoR to port them to other games, I don't think the meshes should be too big of a deal. So the main focus would probably be on the BeamNG equivalent of the .truckfiles.
    Is it hard to write a text editor alike notepad or even Notepad++? If it's not too hard, perhaps it would be possible to do this:
    -BeamNG uses a special fileformat for the .truckfiles(I'm sure it won't be the same as RoR... Or maybe it will, who knows)
    -Like with RoR, you can save this format using notepad(or whichever texteditor Gabester currently uses to make his cars).