WIP Beta released OGC Map - Ultimate Beam.NG Map 0.50

WCUSA, Derby, Industrial, GridmapV2 / combined in the OGC Map!

  1. JoshD

    JoshD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2020
    Messages:
    137
    Can't say definitively, I didn't monitor my FPS at the time, just a visual observation.
     
  2. Andryusha

    Andryusha
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2020
    Messages:
    428
    Then it only matters when you solely run OS, if an app is on HDD then its performance gonna be cripled
     
  3. JoLi

    JoLi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    79

    I guess it's more of a issue that beamng in general isn't that well optimised. With these specs you should be fine, I ran a 4790k and 1060 6G with 32gb ram for years, until like half a year ago and had very few performance problems with 1 vehicle even on Ultra settings. I'd guess the bottleneck in your system (when running the game, so apart from the hdd) is the RX 560, my Laptop has a GTX 950M 2GB, I think it's a little held back by the 6200U, but I can barely get playable framerates on lowest settings (~30-40fps on less demanding maps like GridMap V2). You can use MSI Afterburner's OSD to see what's the issue.
    Also (especially with an HDD) you should wait a bit after loading into the map for all the resources to finish loading in, it's normal to have low fps and a few "hangs" until everything is ready (even I have ~10fps the first 10seconds after I load into the OGC map)
     
  4. Santiyesss

    Santiyesss
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2022
    Messages:
    4
    Idea: Make the gridmap part look like a salt flat with rocks and rusty textures for the obstacles so that it looks more "natural".
     
  5. Galacticdude542

    Galacticdude542
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    I was SO looking forward to playing on this map.. guessing i can't becuase my game crashed THREE times!! I don't understand why!! such a dam shame......................
     
  6. Lewhik

    Lewhik
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2021
    Messages:
    384
    Maybe because the Map is pretty much huge?
     
  7. Online90

    Online90
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 26, 2022
    Messages:
    37
    Nice idea, I like it. lets see how I can include grid map better in the future of the map :)
    --- Post updated ---
    Because I am using the original beam.NG maps and also the files from them, did you modify any of the 4 original beam.NG maps featured in my version? If so, this could cause the crashes?
    The default advise, try to clear the cache and if you want to be extra sure, reinstall the game, this fixed many bugs for me too.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Joomes

    Joomes
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    I used mangohud to monitor. And as expected, GPU is by far the biggest bottleneck, even at lowest settings.
    Are you also a Linux player? I see xeyes and Cinnamon in your profile pic.
     
  9. JoLi

    JoLi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    haha yes I am although nowadays I'm using garudalinux, the profilepic is ~3 or 4 years old i guess, it's from back when I had my sister's old laptop (athlon x2 or smth, and ran linux mint 18 or 19 on it, didn't even know beamng existed back then lol)
     
  10. Joomes

    Joomes
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Ok, got another Linux question for you. Does the map editor make your game crashy? 'Cause I've always had that issue since using Linux for gaming for the past few years. The first person "walking" thing also makes the game kinda crashy.
     
  11. JoLi

    JoLi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    yes, it does.
    But you know what? I just read on the speculation thread that tdev confirmed experimental linux binaries in the next update, apparently coming "not until" mid next week
     
  12. Joomes

    Joomes
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Holy crap next week!? Where is this speculation thread?
     
  13. JoLi

    JoLi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    • Like Like x 2
  14. Online90

    Online90
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 26, 2022
    Messages:
    37
    Digging a new tunnel :D

    be a bit more patient


    upload_2022-6-10_22-55-13.png upload_2022-6-10_22-55-44.png
     
    • Like Like x 6
  15. hodog2010 2

    hodog2010 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    would it be possible to add Utah?
     
  16. Online90

    Online90
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 26, 2022
    Messages:
    37
    Right now I will polish the existing areas. I would finalize the existing content first, before adding more levels

    (But it is POSSIBLE)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. xXNitroGamerXx

    xXNitroGamerXx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Messages:
    147
    yeah you can add utah and pretend its nevada as nevada is next to california and west coast usa is california
     
  18. Galacticdude542

    Galacticdude542
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    so its crashing my game becuase its a huge ass map.. guess that makes sense....
    --- Post updated ---
    I believe I do, acutally. I am going to remove any modified versions of the maps you use, clear cache and see what happens, thanks for your advice!
    --- Post updated ---
    I Believe I do, acutally I am going to remove any modified veresions of the maps you use, clear cache and
    just tried.. game crashes.....this is the error message I got
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG-6919.jpg
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. JoLi

    JoLi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Messages:
    79
    looks like you don't have enough memory for the map
     
  20. Galacticdude542

    Galacticdude542
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    11
    I Believe I do, acutally I am going to remove any modified veresions of the maps you use, clear cache and
    is there anything I can do to fix that??
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice