1. GPU Fatal Error? Intel HD Graphics 620/630 Crashes? Help us solve them!
    Dismiss Notice

Modding issues with pickup V8s code.

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by yuki1986, Sep 1, 2013.

  1. yuki1986

    yuki1986
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Alright so I'm in the process of modding the pickups speed for project I'm working on. (More on that later) I have run into a slight problem.

    I can only max out the RPM at 7500. The line in question is below.

    Coding.png

    I know i have to edit the "maxRPM": section of to something like xxxxx amount.

    Do i edit the ["rpm", "torque"] section as well? What would I alter if i wanted to have sayyyy, 40,000 rpm?

    Is there anything else i need to modify?

    I also looked for a thread that had something to do with this, all i could find was one that mentioned you had to alter the max RPM that was it.

    Thanks in advance everyone.
     
  2. SleepyPickup

    SleepyPickup
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Hmm, I have no problem. I've experimented with a very high redline. For now I have mine set at 12000.

    I think I understand your question though, you also need to add the extra RPM lines you want.



    Example of mine:


    (imported from here)
     
  3. yuki1986

    yuki1986
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    See i was under the impression that all i had to do was modify the existing lines to what i wanted.


    Sooooooooo I think it works... Speed.png
     
  4. SleepyPickup

    SleepyPickup
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Haha, holy crap.

    Just in case you didn't know, you can edit the rear differential gearing, as well as the transmission gearing. So you dont need a 40K redline haha.

    But that's just in case you didn't know, by all means have as high of a redline as you want lol.
     
  5. yuki1986

    yuki1986
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Yea i was looking at that. i messed with it a bit and got the truck up to 500+

    Now onward to the tires! and maybe a few more crashes.
     
  6. SleepyPickup

    SleepyPickup
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Good luck with the tires! If you can beat my MPH high score, I would LOVE to know how. The tires simply explode at a certain wheel speed, It's difficult finding out what lines of code control that.


    (imported from here)
     
  7. zaroba

    zaroba
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    how do you get the truck to go so fast?

    I mean, I get the file editing, but the faster I get the truck the more impossible it is to control, it veers to the left and once it hits 100mph it rolls by itself.
    I have the torques set low enough to barely make the truck do a burmout, much lower then the ones in that pic.

    And with a higher torque that causes a burnout, then forget about any hope of controlling it.
     
    #7 zaroba, Sep 4, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2013
  8. SleepyPickup

    SleepyPickup
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    It's a fine art I suppose, haha. How quickly you accelerate in what gear plays a major factor.

    For example, my 3rd gear goes up to 300mph, and 5th to over 700mph. But if I try to floor it in 3rd, 4th, and 5th to get up to speed, one side of the truck will pull to the side and start to swerve. So when I get the shakes, I shift up to 7 or 8, regain control and then go back to accelerating in a lower gear.

    And since I prefer, and only use a keyboard, it takes even more 'skill' I suppose (not saying I'm a master or anything lol). Delicate minor corrections to the steering I guess. But I've also changed every line in the steering code to suite my needs.
     
  9. zaroba

    zaroba
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    I only use keyboard as well, have been for many years :p


    But, I do get a hint from your post, I'm guessing your using a manual transmission.
    Maybe it's not working for me due to using an automatic. It's just jumping up the gears ignoring the shift rpm setting.
     
  10. SleepyPickup

    SleepyPickup
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Most of the time I actually leave it in automatic mode, to keep the tires from burning out. Then once I get to say...400 or 500mph, I switch to manual mode and really accelerate.

    With all the suspension, tire and steering changes I've been making, I haven't actually been able to recreate my 1000mph+ top speed in some time, but I can get to 800mph without too much difficulty.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice