1. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.20 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Glitchy/leaking ui

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by crashmaster, Dec 4, 2016.

  1. crashmaster

    crashmaster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,598
    Ive been having a few issues with the ui lately, after playing for a while the ui is very slow and it starts using a ton of memory.
    Screenshot306.png
    It also crashed earlier saying that it was unresponsive and then closed beamng, which never happened to me before.

    Also, everytime that i change a file it "reloads" everything and it takes longer which is a bit annoying. idk if its bc of the way the mods are loaded now but its annoying to have to wait 30 sec for a small change.
     
  2. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,702
    There is a bug, where if your game starts to spam too many errors, it will start to slow down, and eventually freeze the UI.
    So if you are working on a mod, and at a certain point it started spamming the game log with errors, that's more likely what is causing your slowdown.

    A ''''''fix'''''' would be pressing CTRL+U to open the UI console and pressing F5 on it to reset it.
     
  3. crashmaster

    crashmaster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,598
    Ahh, i can reset the ui. ok thanks lol.
    There is a few errors but only missing mesh errors, not infinite error spawnings.
    But after a while it becomes very slow. ill try that tho, thanks.
     
  4. jtreign9097

    jtreign9097
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    my game fps is decent .. 62-73fps with 3 cars.. my issue is the UI.. i used a timer on my cell to confirm its the same issue no matter what car... example Stock sunburst No mods.... i click vehicle config.. takes about exactly 3.5 seconds.. then i drop into the parts list that's goes fast.. if i change the engine from the 1.8 to the 2.0 or any part of the car its takes exactly 9.3 seconds no matter what part i change to back and fourth same 9 second delay on all cars... im not too much of betting man but this issue seems to be isolated to the UI only... the game does freeze for 9 seconds not just the UI during a simple part change. what is the UI software based on maybe its a visual studio file or DLL i could use to speed this up? or maybe im am missing a required pack which explains the slow down for the UI...as a guess i assume maybe the ui is based on HTML? .. i don't have any crazy error or anything filling the console that i would think would slow the ui down i have reset the UI with the F5 Method and still the same result...im down to try anything to speed it up or find out why it seems the UI is using a a phanton 486 processor and not my 8core amd running at 4.4ghz? i set priority to the UI to high.. it doesn't do anything even at any other setting... i just wanna know what the ui is based on maybe i don't have a certain component that helps it perform normal?
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7,050
    My understanding is that JS is involved with UI, but don't know specifics of that.

    There is this kind of issue too with damage app:
    https://www.beamng.com/threads/low-fps-speedometer.38006/

    Perhaps in 1 or 2 weeks game might get update, so it is possible it runs better on your machine then.
     
  6. jtreign9097

    jtreign9097
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    Yeah cant wait for the update so i can change my parts instantly instead of 9 second part changes lmfao that makes me crazy.... my method that keeps me calm is pausing physics then the UI is Perfect and i change all the parts i need and then un-pause physics and wait only 9 seconds instead of 9 per part..
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7,050
    How is your CPU load for individual cores?
     
  8. jtreign9097

    jtreign9097
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    usually depends on how many cars i spawn... each car from what i see run on its own core. but ill check now... cpu load probably increases during the 9 second intervals of part changing. exactly 9 seconds i tried different methods to see if i can get the wait time lower so it must be the ui which is its own program... i tried adjusting priority in the task manager to high on the UI and still the same.. does anyone else have this 9 second deal because maybe its a direct x or driver issue?
    --- Post updated ---
    Capture.png
    Noticed this on Main menu after a fresh start 2 warnings about the UI not sure if this of any help
    ill attach the Cpu loads in the next post in a few

    Capture2.png
    --- Post updated ---
    Capture3.png Not Sure if this helps.. it wont let me open the parts selector with this test going so its running fine here it seems... fps does drop momentarily when i click part selector.. there a loading speed issue... i have not tried safe mode.. because i assumed it may be a game glitch that needs to be patched.. but 9 seconds per part change...something not right
     
    #8 jtreign9097, Apr 11, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2017
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7,050
    If you turn vsync on, does it make delay any shorter?

    In bug report section it is advised to turn mods off / run in safe mode as quite often mods do something that they should not, which causes issue to main game.

    You can press Alt+U when doing that performance graph thing so it shows more real data, it tends to get slower and slower more graph is drawn.

    Have you tested removing those UI apps, so that you have only tach? Does not necessarily change anything, but that is one difference I see, number of UI apps running.

    Mods do increase time to open parts menus as game has to go trough all the stuff, not sure if HDD/SDD speed is affecting that.

    For me delay when choosing part is 1-2 seconds.
     
  10. jtreign9097

    jtreign9097
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    195
    View attachment 256123 Not Sure if this helps.. it wont let me open the parts selector with this test going so its running fine here it seems... fps does drop momentarily when i click part selector.. there a loading speed issue... i have not tried safe mode.. because im unaware if this is
    i am using an SSD for the mods folder and the games main folder as well... the game loads alot faster and maps do too... i will attempt safe mode to verify a mods issue... i only have car addons. up to date ones.. no game changing Lua type of mods. i like the game as is so ill try v-sync... i do know vsync back in the day was a fps boost on on older games so lets try that out.. i did try and remove all all ui apps... fps shot up BIG TIME from 86fps to 138fps on grid map with 1 vehicle.. but part changing was still 8.9/9.2 seconds
    --- Post updated ---
    i seem to have resolved it by disabling all mods.. ill have to go through them and figure out whats worth keeping but now its only 1-2 second part change time.
     
  11. Josh

    Josh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,126
    Same issue here as @jtreign9097.

    Loading different cars and parts is very time consuming.

    Loading the parts menu takes the longest.

    Sometimes it takes longer than 10 seconds to load a car and or part, it's so bad that the game will sometimes freeze with "not responding" and the spinning icon, for more than 10 seconds.

    Tested no mods, fresh install and fresh start up.

    No change.

    Core usage is stable and not abnormal, lots of free ram left.

    3770K @ 4.5 GHz W/ 380X 4 GB

    12 GB ram.
     
  12. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7,050
    One thing that still puzzles me is that when I tested 8800GTS 512, menus were instant fast, less than a second, probably less than 0.5 seconds, but I don't think I tested parts selector.

    With GTX 1050 Ti menus are slower, but it has been that 1-2 seconds now, before fresh install I did get sometimes very slow menus, but it is odd how 8800GTS was so fast when it had so low FPS, of course that did leave more time for CPU to do it's thing, but still, now with vsync on I have solid 60fps with hardly any CPU load and menus still take longer to open than with 8800GTS.

    Probably next update will change things, so perhaps not worth to spend too much time on it.
     
  13. GoldChicken

    GoldChicken
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    BeamNG version 0.7.0.2, hmmmmmmm isn't it 0.8?
     
  14. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7,050
    He made post at Dec 4 and 0.8 was released only later in December.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. crashmaster

    crashmaster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,598
    Yeah but its still happening. its the reason why i rarely use the part selector :/
    ctrl+u will open another panel. with that you can press "f5" and it will refresh the ui and make it run somewhat smoother again. but not for long.
     
  16. NoxiousFumes

    NoxiousFumes
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    786
    UI is limited to 20fps, If it's any help. Nadeox1 had said so because of "technical reasons"
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice