1. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice

General computer talk/advice

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by BlueScreen, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. skodakenner

    skodakenner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,565
    Thats the plan for later on i kinda wanna start with the Gamecube first because i currently have more games i wanna play on it and i have alot of the hardware here already. (Controllers and Memory Cards for example the only thing i lack is the Gamecube itself)
     
  2. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    262
    I want to buy a broken Xbox, and build a PC inside it.
     
  3. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    That is a serious project that will require some creative ways of mounting the parts. Having a 3D printer would probably help with that.

    What I want to do eventually is get a 3D printer and make a custom Raspberry Pi case. Much easier project but would still be fun.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. Phym

    Phym
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    875
    I have a case, I have a screwdriver, and I have a credit card...
    You know what’s gonna happen;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    504
    I seemed to have accidentally bought a fully functioning Apple MacBook (late 2006, white). It was listed on Ebay "as is for parts: missing HDD and RAM"

    I thought fine, its a little rough. I ordered it and some parts.

    Low and behold, the thing comes in, its extremely clean, has max RAM, and has a functioning 60GB hard drive. Installed Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard on it and now I have a $35 knock around piece for when I need a laptop and don't want to use either my Inspiron Gaming 15 or my pride and joy: Early 2009 MacBook Pro 17".

    Wonderful.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,666
    How much is max ram? I have a 2010 macbook air but 2gb of ram (1.75 as 0.25 goes to the GPU) struggles on web browsing... i think it'd be ok if it has 4gb tbh.
     
  7. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    504
    They officially max out at 2GB for 2006 models. Technically they can support up to 4, but can only use 3 and a bit despite being a 64-bit system.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    That means that its only using 32-bits of the memory addresses which for a 64-bit system is... really weird. I wonder if it is using 64-bit pointers, and ignoring the other bits or if its some sort of weird 64-bit word size with 32-bit memory addressing.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,666
    This is likely a chipset limitation. My 2006 HP laptop is like this too. 3.5gb addressable, and it ends up being 3.35 once the GPU gets its fair share of ram.
    Still 3.35 > 2gb. and DDR2 is cheap. (at least it was when i upgraded that laptop).
     
  10. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Oh right, chipset limit makes sense because the memory controller was built into that instead of the CPU like how it is now (on x86-64 CPUs anyways).

    I have a computer from 2004 that can address 8 GB of memory. The thing is kind of a weird one though. PowerPC G5 dual-processor.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    504
    Yeah, that's what I'm thinking. Those old C2D mobile chipsets were really weird in the mid-2000's. I'll have to do some experimenting, it'll officially support up to Lion so I bet I can hack something vaguely modern onto it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    504
    Mmm, yes, so it seems that I am an idiot (no surprise). The MacBook is, indeed, not a Core 2 Duo. It's a Core Duo.

    What does this mean? Imagine making a lovely Mint Julep using your favorite whiskey and the purest of crushed ice (so 2 cores), but come to find out you've forgotten the mint, which is the whole point of the drink (Core Duo is 32-bit only).

    It's the fastest Core Duo offered at 2.0GHz, but that's like saying Budweiser is the best American beer (it's not, that honor goes to Rolling Rock for mass produced stuff). It's the best at being the worst.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice