1. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice

General computer talk/advice

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by BlueScreen, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. MehmetErdemErcin

    MehmetErdemErcin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Lowering resolution and settings, and updating some of the software on my laptop is improved my gameplay. Italy is still very laggy but smaller maps are working well.
     
  2. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,666
    Nvidia control panel, Manage 3D settings, Global settings, choose Adaptive Performance under power management instead of power save, should give you extra performance :)
    The MX150 is a perfectly respectable GPU, simply run the game in windowed mode at say 1280x720 or something small, all on Low settings and you will get good frames... Italy is a hard map to run however.

    I play beamng on a GT940mx laptop, runs well enough for me.. (although I use lightweight maps, haven't tried Italy)
     
  3. MehmetErdemErcin

    MehmetErdemErcin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Thanks man... I will try. I really love this game and I'm playing it since 2013/2014. I have knowledge about hardware and I even made this game work on a AMD FX6100 CPU (by slapping a huge cooler and overclocking it) but I suck about software stuff.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,666
    grr, this clevo laptop it has quite a loud fan, its not that loud but the noise is very annoying and sort of reverberates throughout the entire chassis, sounds very cheap... So I bought some fan control software, £20 or so it cost (eyewatering) but it's the only way to have a semi-quiet machine... it has 2 fans one for GPU one for CPU and both connected via heatpipe, so instead of 1 blasting fan I have 2 at low speed..

    However, on automatic, the CPU fan runs quite fast, the design of the laptop means the CPU fan (on the left) draws air from beneath the left palmrest.. This means that reducing the CPU fan speed, and running 2 low speed fans, means that the left palm rest gets hot. There is a hot chip somewhere there, probably north or southbridge, probably why the battery life sucks..

    It's very annoying as I have had the same problem with my old HP Compaq laptop, you'd think windows laptops would have moved on, in 14 years but no same problems still crop up. The fan at idle is just keeping the case cool, having some weakly directed airflow over the laptop motherboard to stop the palm rests being hot. However most of the air is obviously going past the heatsink and through close ventilation holes so most is bypassed anyway..

    The only laptop I have used that has got the fan control absolutely perfect has been my 2010 MacBook air. Who would've thought that putting temperature sensors in the parts that users touch, and taking an input from that (for fan control), would be a good idea... Only apple it seems.

    Thankfully amd with their STAPM (skin temperature aware power management) should finally put a stop to this.

    Furthermore, why do windows laptop fans have steps, the MacBook doesn't, it's just a smooth ramp, only enough fan speed is used, no more.. I hate hearing laptops ramping fans up and down on every page loaded web browsing...
     
  5. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,023
    Most Windows laptops do also ramp, sorry to hear you've bought one that doesn't.

    Apple however are notorious for fans that don't ramp quickly enough, leading to heat damage within their systems, in particular the MacBook air which has an incredibly high failure rate after about a year or 2, with CPUs that have cooked themselves
    --- Post updated ---
    Here is the MacBook air cooling btw. Anyone notice anything odd?
    XAVKrLNmWnE5CvRehuge.jpeg
    The fan intakes from bottom, blows out the back, fine, fine. See in the top middle of the laptop there's a black metal heat sink? Thats where the CPU is. There are no heat pipes connecting the CPU heatsink to the fan. The fan takes air in, blows it straight out to the inside of the hinge mechanism, at no time does the air actually go anywhere near the CPU. Works MacBook air we've seen hit 115c and trip thermal shutdown almost daily. It works quite hard though. It has been replaced by the cheapest non air MacBook, which is more powerful and doesn't do that daily at least.

    Its not a surprise that these machines died.

    There are similar issues on the macbook pro, they thermal throttle at just half the CPUs rated load, newer models are factory undervolted and have liquid metal as a thermal paste, except, that didn't solve the problem, problem was simply their fan curve is too lazy and the fan is under rated for the application. Extra problem, liquid metal can leak out and there isn't any protection against shorts so a few systems having been chucked in laptop bags have died and become unresponsive.



    Apple designs things to fail, but makes them seem nice.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,666
    I was actually thinking that perhaps my experience with windows laptops (reinstalling windows on hopelessly low end hardware) is probably a bit swayed, and that obviously will have less refined cooling than a premium macbook.

    Unfortunately other oems are learning from apple, the XPS 13 will now run at 99c at full load and is designed that way.. component longevity? Nope
    Come to think of it I think I might have a good macbook air, full load CPU it'll go around 84c, full combined load it'll edge 88c but no throttling, the CPU and GPU chosen were adequately cooled. The cooler design in a 2010 macbook air is better than that in a 2020 one.
     
  7. ThatGamer164

    ThatGamer164
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    611
    Would it still be worth it to purchase a Logitech G25 steering wheel in 2020 as long as it is cheap and in full working order?
     
  8. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,666
    I would say so, as long as it isn't too pricey.
    upload_2020-4-26_13-44-4.png This is steam verifying BeamNG off my external 5400rpm hard drive... hmmmmm
     
  9. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Weird, I've seen lots of people having various issues with Steam and disk usage lately
     
  10. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    262
    Yup. Logitech wheels are a pretty good starting point for sim racing. Something like the G25, G27 and G29/G920.
     
  11. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,666
    I bought a new battery for the laptop I am using right now.. it arrived with 0% (not a good sign, lipo batteries should be charged with 50% before shipping) and is charging excruciatingly slowly...
    upload_2020-4-29_14-51-18.png I have a feeling the cells took some damage during transit being discharged so low (I think it is a 3 cell unit). Unfortunately I think it is only 32whr. Which is 1/2 what was advertised.

    upload_2020-4-29_18-42-12.png
    it has an odd way of charging too..

    Full speed ahead, then trickle charging (0.045w), then full speed again.. very weird.

    Took ages and it got to 62whr *shrug*..

    I undervolted my R9 290 quite heavily and it's impressive, breathing new life into what is quite an old GPU now!
     
    #8871 Michaelflat, Apr 29, 2020
    Last edited: May 2, 2020
  12. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,252
    I need help. Something strange is going on with my computer.

    Lately my free disk space is getting low, and I don't think it's my doing. In recent memory, first it was over 80 GB, then over 60 GB, and at the time this post was made, first at 59.5 GB, then 58.7 GB, and it's still continuing to drop. UPDATE: As of this update, it stopped at 58.4 GB.

    I ran Adwcleaner, and it says I have a threat called "Windows Security," which is a folder in program files that contains a file called "BrowserCore," but apparently that can't be right because it's a file from Microsoft. All my search results pointed to that conclusion.

    What am I dealing with?
    --- Post updated ---
    UPDATE: I was able to figure out how to view what all was taking up space on my computer, and apparently I have a bunch of temporary files taking up space, well over 400 GB. As of this post, I have it scanning what all I can remove.

    Now what I want to know, is how did a bunch of temporary files cause this?
     
    #8872 MisterKenneth, May 22, 2020
    Last edited: May 22, 2020
  13. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,252
    Update #2: I gave up on the scan. It was taking too long. I gave it three hours to show me all of the temporary files I could remove. It remained on "language resource files" for the majority of the time.
     
  14. fivedollarlamp

    fivedollarlamp
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,610
    Malwarebytes, my guy.
     
  15. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,252
    Thank you for the suggestion. I downloaded Malwarebytes, and as of me posting this, I have it running a scan.
     
  16. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Microsoft is notorious for their OS's not cleaning up after themselves.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,252
    The Malwarebites scan just finished. It ran for 3 hours and 20 minutes, scanned over 400,000 files, and it said no threats of any kind were found.
    --- Post updated ---
    I may have a potential culprit, but I'm not 100% sure. I want to ask if anyone has had any experience with this file, and I'll describe why I think it may be a potential culprit.

    The file in question is one of the Service Hosts (svchost as described by the system), wsappx. I have noticed very peculiar behavior from it for quite some time. It likes to affect my computer's performance, so I have used the Resource Monitor in the past to shut it up by suspending it. I've ended it a few times, but I believe there are some stuff on the computer that is dependent on it, because it seems like I have to turn it back on sometimes to get a process to work, one example being settings. I've noticed that sometimes when I mess around in settings with wsappx suspended, settings can get stuck, and when I reactivate wsappx, settings gets unstuck.

    For a period of time recently, it was at a point to where it wouldn't affect performance all that much, and it would eventually close itself off after a while, so I let wsappx run in the background, but I'm starting to believe that I may have made a mistake.

    Earlier today, my free space was at 59.9 GB. After reactivating wsappx a couple of times before suspending it again, the free space fell down to 59.1 GB. I think I've noticed that as long as I keep wsappx suspended by the Resource Monitor, the free space stays at a consistent spot, so that's why I suspect that it may very well be what's triggering this issue. But, if I'm right and it is, how is it causing it? How do I stop it? And how do I get back all of the free space I've lost if wsappx is what took it all away for no apparent reason?
     
  18. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,666
    One thing i've noticed with this game is that it is now rather light on the CPU... Remember back a few years, when we all knew this game was hard to run and etc... Now it is comparatively easy... 4 core CPU can quite happily run the game at 60FPS... Whereas same CPU (in sisters computer) will have framedrops in (what was) a light game called Fortnite.
    BeamNG has stayed relatively constant, and sure extra cores makes the game experience a bit better (adding more traffic cars).. It is still well optimised enough to be playable on 4c/4t CPU.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. skodakenner

    skodakenner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,565
    Currently thinking about getting a Gamecube and modding it to hell because you can put HDMI, The GCloader and so on on it wich really would be marvellous but gamecubes are getting kinda expensive now.
     
  20. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    299
    Modding a Dreamcast, or OG Xbox would probably be more interesting.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice