General computer talk/advice

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by BlueScreen, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. Cory5503

    Cory5503
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,029
    Thanks for the tip!
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Jetpackturtle

    Jetpackturtle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    On the contrary, I'd keep the WD Caviar drive. I've been using 3 of them for 10+ years and haven't had one die yet.
    Also, have you considered bumping your SSD to an 860 500GB? I love the extra drive space in mine and it benchmarks at over 100% in UserBenchmark.
     
  3. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    493
    And I've had 12 of them die in 10 years.

    I'd rather trust data to an original Hitachi Deskstar.
     
  4. Cory5503

    Cory5503
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,029
    Do you have experience with any Seagate drives? If so, how are they?
    I haven't really, I'm kind of on a constrictive budget but if they're close in price, I'll try it.
    --- Post updated ---
    Which CPU would be better for running BeamNG? Intel - Core i3-8350K 4 GHz Quad-Core Processor or AMD - Ryzen 5 2600 3.4 GHz 6-Core Processor ?
     
  5. Jetpackturtle

    Jetpackturtle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    The Ryzen 5 will destroy the i3 in any game, ever.
    Seagate drives are ok. I have a 1TB Barracuda and it's pretty good.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. Jetpackturtle

    Jetpackturtle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Huh, that's weird, where are you buying them from?
     
  7. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    493
    Seagate is all I buy. I've had them fail on me, too, but not in the same scope as WD. The only drives I've not had a problem with yet are Toshiba, but none of them are old enough for me to really have a say on reliability.

    As for your processor question, it's all about what you want to do with the game. You'll see me in camp AMD. Typically people will say one core per car as a general rule, but my personal experience has been one thread per car. So with that, you'll be able to comfortably run 4 cars with the i3 and 12 cars with the Ryzen 5. However, I've played the game on a quad core processor and could get up to 6 cara before seeing bad performance hits.
    --- Post updated ---
    I've bought them new, had them come in brand new computers, bought them used, refurbished... Have had blacks, blues, enterprise grade drives, 3.5", 2.5"... I'm just not impressed with them at all.

    I have two in my system right now. A 3TB Green, and a 1TB Blue. We'll have to see if they can change my tune. The Green is almost impossibly slow in random I/O, but that's okay as its mainly a bulk storage drive.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Joeyfuller2000

    Joeyfuller2000
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,203
    Hard drive failed on me. Replacing it with these.
    IMG_0924.jpg
     
  9. Jetpackturtle

    Jetpackturtle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Good move :p
     
  10. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,491
    Is it a good idea to have my PC have its fans shut off under a certain processor temp, i've chosen 45c or thereabouts, and the fan cuts in and out at 500rpm, is this ok for my CPU? before it would have the luxury of cooling down to 30c when system is idle..

    i'm doing this to help dust buildup a bit and reduce wear on fans.. i have 2 cats and thus it gets dusty!
     
  11. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    493
    Assuming it doesn’t wait until tjMax to spin up the fans, it’s a little unconventional but otherwise fairly safe.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,002
    It's the stock setup for all Nvidia GPUs Pascal onwards and certain AMD models.

    Nvidia it's a 60degree threshold, and not a hard fan shutdown, it slowly ramps down when you hit under 60 rather than hard shut off
    --- Post updated ---
    In fairness though, it does make a lot more sense for a GPU considering its going to be idle for a good chunk of time
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,500
    Thanks Adobe... xD

    upload_2019-3-6_23-10-21.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Funky7Monkey

    Funky7Monkey
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,030
    Nvidia drivers on Linux are horrible. Tried installing through Nvidia and apt on a fresh install of Ubuntu 18.04 LTS. Reboots to black screen, no terminal, every time.
     
  15. The F12 of Maranello

    The F12 of Maranello
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,270
    To be honest if you want to use a GPU with Linux AMD is a better choice.
    And what are using a GPU for Linux for?
     
  16. Funky7Monkey

    Funky7Monkey
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,030
    Primary need is NVEC, because it'll be an encoding box. But I could be using it for literally anything and still have these problems.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Jetpackturtle

    Jetpackturtle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Just ordered an EVGA 450W and an RX 570, I'm so excited for smooth gameplay!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    493
    The Galaxy S10's wireless power sharing feature is Samsung outright admitting their phone has abysmal battery life.

    Change my mind.
     
  19. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,500
    I'm confused by your logic?

    The feature is designed so that you can charge other devices using your Galaxy S10's battery. So for example, your friend has an Sony/HTC/Samsung etc device (that supports wireless charging) that has ran out of battery, well now you can use your Galaxy S10 as a battery bank to charge their device without wires.

    So if anything it means the exact opposite surely?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    493
    Hardly. In the end, you're just being robbed of precious battery. Modern phones with those unnecessarily high resolution screens already can't last through a day. Why would I share it with others? Why should others share with me? "My Galaxy (Insert other Qi compatible phone here) has died! Let me rob you of your last 10% before we jump on the plane!" Then you bump phones together like it's 2013.

    Thought still stands. I don't wirelessly charge my wireless charging capable phone anyway.

    Doesn't mean I think the Qi standard is crap, though. I love the idea. I've used the idea in practice. It's awesome! I just haven't implemented it in my routine.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice