Force feedback experiments with T300 RS

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by Flex, Nov 28, 2017.

1. Flex

Flex
    Expand Collapse

Hello,

Last update brought a new circuit (in West Coast USA), and it is really great, so I wanted to tweak my FFB settings to be able to go fast around it with various cars.

I have a Thrustmaster t300rs which I use in Assetto Corsa, Project Cars 2, and other sim racing games. My goal was to try and reproduce the great feel of those games in BeamNG, because I know the tyre physics are quite well made. (basically reproduce Assetto Corsa's stock FFB settings, which are great)

What you need in the force feedback to feel the car and to be able to drive it quickly is 3 mains things :

- Feel of the lateral grip : you feel the load on all tires when you turn, especially in fast corners. Gives you precision, helps you find the best racing line/speed in the middle of the corner.

- Feel of the front tire grip/understeer : helps you brake later, and not lock up. Also useful for FWD cars.

- Feel of the car's weight/oversteer : help you exit turns faster, and to not lose the rear. Extremely important in RWD cars.

I tested various settings around the USA circuit and Hirochi raceway, with (mainly) 3 cars similar to the cars you find in racing sims :
    - Ibushu 200 bx Race version : High power RWD
    - Old ETK I series Race : Lower power RWD
    - Old Pessima Race version : FWD

First of all, here are the settings that stayed more or less the same :

- t300 driver settings : Overall strength 75%, Constant 100, Periodic 100, Spring 0, Damping 0. This is what I use for all my racing sims.

- 540 degrees rotation
    - Max strength : 10 (don't need to lower it, it is never too much with this wheel)
    - Strength and Strength (lower speed) : both around 300 to 400
    (I don't like to have lower strength at low speed, it doesn't feel realistic on race cars.)
    - Response curve automatically generated by the game.