1. Stuck or having problems creating your mod?

WIP Beta released East Coast Dynamic Traffic (Gull) 0.9.3

Free roaming traffic! Yay, I did it!

  1. cgjunk

    cgjunk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Oh yeah, this is something I've already seen some of driving around. Never thought about that, but that's a factor that definitely would have some negative implications. And I would imagine that the AI is not capable of passing slower cars, lol. I guess that is all the unsung invisible work modders/coders have to deal with...


    All this stuff you are doing behinds the scene aren't even something I could have guessed is going on. Keep up the great work, hopefully that creativity will crack more doors open with these scenarios/app. Do you think the devs would give you a peek behind the curtain and reveal tidbits that would help you out (like if the traffic lights are a value somewhere in the code?)
     
  2. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,779
    Maybe this is interesting for you:
    https://www.beamng.com/resources/random-vehicle-config-spawner.635/
    --- Post updated ---
    K-Series seems to always have broken rear window, not sure if you have any ideas how that could be, it is only K-series and always, but not other vehicles.

    Also this happens at times:
    upload_2019-2-11_3-44-19.png

    Has happened twice on this road, link should give you button that opens up game in location:


    Car spawns on my car, in this case bus, it does happen with car too, maybe that road is bit slower or something.
     
  3. Gamergull

    Gamergull
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    270
    Gamergull updated East Coast Dynamic Traffic (Gull) with a new update entry:

    Version 0.9.3

    Read the rest of this update entry...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. DoritoMan113

    DoritoMan113
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    I am really excited that someone was finally able to bring this to the game as a lot of us have been waiting a long time for a traffic spawner. I have one question though, could you maybe add an extreme mode where you could put as many cars as you want? For instance, 7 may sound like a lot for most middle of the road to high end CPU's, but I have an I7 8700k and 16gb ram and the benchmark in the bmng settings said I could go up to 20 realtime vehicles. Do you think this could be added as a feature that had a warning not to enable it without a high end system, or would it not work with the script. I think being able to spawn up to 15-20 vehicles would help promote it better as many beam youtubers have very high end systems and they could easily do that many vehicles.
     
  5. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,779
    You will not be able to run 15 cars @ 60fps, even all cores at 5Ghz it might be pushing it.

    See, Bananabench measures only physics, what it does not take account is graphics and graphics takes good amount of CPU time too, also it does not take account LUA, that takes CPU time too, then there are other stuff like sounds, controls, etc. etc.

    Your PC will lag with 10 cars, especially when using SSAO and dynamic reflections, highest graphics, if your GPU can handle that your CPU won't.

    If you have vsync on, disable it and see how many fps you get with current 7 vehicles.

    When recording video there is additional load on CPU, despite using nvsync, so even you have threads to run many vehicles, additional cars cause load on single thread which becomes a limit more than anything else.

    Reducing graphics helps a lot though, no SSAO, no dynamic reflections, no light rays etc. one can run more cars.
     
  6. alex_333

    alex_333
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,937
    Why not have a drop down menu to determine how many cars you want on the road
    --- Post updated ---
    Like 1 - 10
     
  7. Gamergull

    Gamergull
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    270
    That feature is coming in the form of an app. You'll be able to push the limits and play with other options! Still working on it, though.

    I spawned 11 AI traffic cars in Gull Coast, and it brought my PC down to an uncomfortable 25 FPS. AMD Ryzen 5 2600 6-core btw.

    Coming soon in my new traffic app! I still have to fix bugs, and I'm working an irritating double shift at work today. Ugh!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  8. alex_333

    alex_333
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,937
    Quick question. How does the traffic app work? I think you might have stated this, but are the AI cars driving based on the decal roads/something similar? Because I know not all maps have AI paths.
     
  9. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,779
    Oh yes, I like to keep 60fps solid, anything that drops below that I like to classify not running, but if you can bare less fps, then that allows lot more :D

    It is highly dependent from graphics settings though, I think that if I use normal graphics without SSAO or dynamic reflections, I might be able to run that 10 cars and after 1 year for now, who knows if we can run that 15 already on high graphics?

    I'm still tuning this system, but technically I can run 10 cars just fine, if they are same kind and if there is not too much LUA running and if CPU render is not too high, that means no ssao or dynamic reflections and alike, also on gridmap, but it is insane how far BeamNG can go with modern hardware though and I think even more is possible in future, traffic app will be really cool benchmark too :p
    upload_2019-2-12_1-52-29.png
    8086K which is same as 8700K, but with higher price tag for stupid persons like me :D



    Oh yes, I did edit your scenario a bit and got it to work in WCUSA and some other maps too, tires of cars were appearing blown though even working like intact, also some other damage in cars, but those seemed to be only visual.

    Noticed similar with your newest version of your scenario though, some cars had pieces of mesh broken at front, not sure if you have experienced such bugs?

    Maybe broken ETK K-series rear window was result of similar, it was fine with new version though.

    Altering altitude which cars initially spawn in prefab did not seem to affect this mesh breakage too much, I wonder what makes such happen and if those are bugs you are facing with AI app?
     
  10. Gamergull

    Gamergull
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    270
    Yes, they drive on decal roads that have a drivability value of higher than 0. So the roads still have to be AI friendly for this to work. I still need to get other properties of decalRoad nodes for smarter spawning and AI.
    --- Post updated ---
    Yes, I noticed that bug with broken things and tires. Pretty weird, but I don't think I can fix it.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Jarret Rucker

    Jarret Rucker
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    467
    1 word for this update:







    yos.
     
  12. cgjunk

    cgjunk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    88
    Are you seeing the broken meshes on east coast? I ran the update today and it ran great, and didnt notice any broken stuff. Occassionally the sound clipped in and out though.

    The AI is noticeably smarter, cool to see them stopping in my rear view mirror when I was stopped. Totally expected to get rear ended, lol.
     
  13. Gamergull

    Gamergull
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    270
    Vehicle meshes seemed fine on East Coast, but they got glitchy in my West Coast test. The sound issue is a bit annoying, I had it fluctuate from good to bad.

    Also, yeah, funny thing is, after a lot of successful tests, I still wince when I stop in front of traffic, expecting a bang.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  14. alex_333

    alex_333
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,937
    I hope I'm not getting on your nerves with these questions, but will we have the options to choose what vehicles spawn using the traffic app? Or will it be only dev cars?
     
  15. Gamergull

    Gamergull
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2018
    Messages:
    270
    Both! :)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Chat's7

    Chat's7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Very good mods, fun to play, it brings life to the card ^^^

    I hope you will continue by adapting this mod on the map Italy and West coast;)
     
  17. CrimsonCrocodile

    CrimsonCrocodile
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,422
    He is creating a UI app so you can have dynamic traffic in freeroam so it will work on any map with dedicated AI paths :D

    (Modded maps too if I'm not mistaken)
     
  18. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,779
    Yeah, they mostly are fine at East Coast, but I did see some 200BX with missing pieces at front and D-series grille had tiny missing pieces, it varies a lot though, first start and there probably is not much of anything, then after crashing few times and restarting, I think there is more of it, but kinda hard to say, haven't paid so much attention at East Coast as certainly it is much more subtle effect there.

    I don't know if it could even be some weird bug in game that is getting triggered only when teleporting vehicles, any way it is kinda interesting, makes curious about what is causing that, so need to dig it a bit when I get time for that, maybe end of next week or so.

    AI cars somehow have gotten awfully smart, somehow I'm not sure if they are actually crashing now less than I am!? I suspect some magic has been involved :D
     
  19. DoritoMan113

    DoritoMan113
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    I see. Whats your GPU? my best friend IRL has the same processor and he loves it. Beam runs 1 vehicle per thread until it runs out and it puts multiple on each until it starts to lag. so 11 sounds about the max considering the cpu doing the graphics and the backround processes as well.
     
  20. A Turbocharged Turbocharger

    A Turbocharged Turbocharger
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    he has a gtx 1050 ti
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice