Do I understand slots right?

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by Defman, Sep 11, 2019.

  1. Defman

    Defman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    I read the wiki but it's kinda complicated, so I'll ask there.

    If I understand correctly, slots work just like the visibility toggle in Blender/3DS Max/etc., meaning if I e.g. pick `Car_Part_Spoiler_01` for my "Spoiler" slot and it's placed on the back of my car model (but exported as a detached jbeam with nodes and beams), it would appear on my car just like if I'd change the visibility toggle for that part in Blender. Am I right? If yes, how does the game know where the spoiler should be placed at? My guess is that when I export my part as a jbeam, the Blender plugin does save the node coordinates/offset which is relative to (0, 0, 0) coordinates. If I'm wrong, please correct me. Thanks!
     
    #1 Defman, Sep 11, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2019
  2. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,376
    The exporter will keep the global coordinates of the nodes/vertices.
    If a node/vertex is placed at 0, 2, 1 it will be so too when exported.

    And sort of yes, but also no. It's not just hiding, it's installing or not a part onto the vehicle.
    If a slot is empty, that part will not be loaded.
    If the slot has X part selected, it will be loaded.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Defman

    Defman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the answer :)


    Yeah I thought so. Didn't make that obvious in my post though.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice