1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

CPU and GPU not 100% used

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by jojos38, Apr 30, 2018.

  1. jojos38

    jojos38
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    I have a quite good computer (see my signature), but i don't understand why my CPU or my GPU is not 100% used. I know the cpu can bottleneck the graphic card, but so, why my CPU is not 100% used ?
     
  2. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,626
    That is the total CPU usage across all cores, one core might be heavily loaded on the game and another core might be low loaded.

    Go to the performance tab, go to the CPU and rightclick the graph and "Change graph to" and to "show logical processors" if you see one with high CPU usage then it is CPU limited.

    From this:
    upload_2018-4-30_22-35-43.png
    to this:
    upload_2018-4-30_22-35-56.png
     
  3. terasect

    terasect
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    108
    It is not possible to achieve 100% usage of a multithreaded cpu in real world usage like a game, only benchmarks/stress testers do that. And currently beam is not fully optimized, as well as it only uses more threads when more cars/other beam objects are spawned in. Gpu will be less than 100% if it is bottlenecked by single thread performance of the cpu, particularly in this case beam is using that same thread for many other things like physics, graphics, sound, etc. These things are not multithreaded like the physics part of the engine.
     
  4. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,606
    From what I remember about computers now is that if you have a Multi-Core processor the load gets spread out across all cores to "lessen" the impact of a single program on a computer so it doesnt slow down as much
     
  5. terasect

    terasect
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    108
    Unfortunately that is not how it works, nor how windows is programmed to function. It is entirely up to the program itself how multithreaded it is. Otherwise we would not still be worried about raw single threaded ipc of our cpus, we would all be using cpus with 50+ weak cores.

    To make something multithreaded is a heck of a lot of work, even for simple programs. Timing is everything with the execution of instructions, cannot just 'spread the load' without serious failure/errors/memory issues/etc.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. jojos38

    jojos38
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    792
    Okay thanks for all answer, i see now :)
    --- Post updated ---
    3.50Ghz but run at 4.4Ghz you overclocked it 0.9Ghz :eek: ?
     
  7. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,606
    I had to have a guess at it....
     
  8. terasect

    terasect
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    108
    Maybe someday when we actually get NEW technology and operating systems instead of more of the same, only more ghz and cores or releasing operating systems like they are call of duty...
     
  9. TechnicolorDalek

    TechnicolorDalek
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    971
    It'll reach 100% usage when you spawn about 32 cars.

    Why would you expect it to be 100% used with a small amount of cars?

    The physics runs at 2000fps, it doesn't just add more physics frames if there's free cpu power.
     
  10. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,626
    Unfortunately, that's not what happens. If you have one intensive operation that uses one core, yes the OS will probably move other processes away from the core and allow that process a whole core to itself. But this isn't as good as it being multithreaded. A game can do this by having many processes happening at the same time.

    Eg. Physics on one core
    Gfx on another
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice