1. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice

WIP Beta released Chevrolet Silverado 1500 1986 (conversion/help needed)

Discussion in 'Land' started by Elvisnake, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. FastestClassic

    FastestClassic
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    AHA! Got it working.

    Here's everything I did:

    1. Fresh install to default game directory
    2. Downloading file to primary SSD instead of HDD
    3. Left game on default settings

    I don't know which one of those 3 things fixed it, but one of them did.

    EDIT: Game just crashed after auto-detecting settings while driving the car, I'll check to make sure it wasn't the car that caused it.

    EDIT 2: I think if you lower the graphics settings too much (mainly, the texture quality) too much, the car goes all weird and the game crashes.

    EDIT 3: Ah, if you lower the graphics settings so that the texture quality is below normal, the game crashes when you load the truck.

    Alright, I did some testing on it, and it's really cool! There are a few problems, though:
    1. (Like someone said before) Taillight textures aren't correct on one side (missing reverse lamp)
    2. Headlights/taillights don't glow
    3. The crash bug when you put the texture quality below normal (I'm guessing it's something adieu with how it was exported from pdn...)
    4. The camera position in the interior view is WAY too far forward and high up. My recommendation would be to move it down a little and back closer to the seat.

    EDIT 4: I'm fairly certain the orange panels on the side are what's causing the game crash if your graphics settings are too low. They seem to freak out when I lower the graphics settings without reloading the car.
     
    #61 FastestClassic, Sep 15, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2013
  2. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,023

    On this note, are the textures a power of 2 resolution (2, 4, 8,....256,512 etc), because I was larking with kerbal space program once and found that when I inadvertently used a 255 pixel wide texture rather than 256 by accident one time the game would crash at anything other than full res textures. Half res would be 127.5 pixel textures which is of course not allowed.

    If the textures are indeed power of 2 resolutions then of course its something else entirely.
     
  3. johandahl

    johandahl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    I have tried to... download again, reinstall the whole game, follow all steps like I should and even then, this masterpiece of a car does not work. The games crashes emidiatley after I have selected the Silverado in "Ctrl-E-menu". :(

    Johan

    Skickat från min Galaxy Note 2 4G via Tapatalk 4 Beta9
     
  4. FastestClassic

    FastestClassic
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    514
    Try setting "Texture Quality" in the options menu (ctrl+o) to "Normal". That fixed it on my end.
     
  5. Bullinator30

    Bullinator30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Hello, This is an amazing truck. But it does have this problem: when in interior view everything is over exposed, but in an exterior camera it is just fine. Is this the map or the truck?
     

    Attached Files:

    • screenshot_00005.png
    • screenshot_00006.png
  6. johandahl

    johandahl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    With Grid-Map, the same problem occur with the Grand Marshall. Try adjusting your gamma slightly, it did help it a bit. :)

    Johan

    Skickat från min Galaxy Note 2 4G via Tapatalk 4 Beta9
     
    #66 johandahl, Sep 15, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2013
  7. Bullinator30

    Bullinator30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Ok thank you. I will go try other maps now. Didn't think about that.
     
  8. kittensmittens

    kittensmittens
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    This is definitely my favorite car in the game by a mile!
     
  9. moosedks

    moosedks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112

    Thanks a ton it works now
     
  10. Bullinator30

    Bullinator30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    This is my new desktop background. Nice truck. It just got up and climbed this hill no problem.
     

    Attached Files:

    • bandicam 2013-09-15 14-14-59-662.jpg
  11. xDecapitator

    xDecapitator
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    You are a beautiful human being. That is all.
     
  12. Bullinator30

    Bullinator30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Who me? or Elvisnake?
     
  13. JetRivas747

    JetRivas747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Hahahahah, LOL. You have Windows 8 with classic shell like me :D xxDDDD.
    Also i am getting the problem with it crashing when I try to select the car :/

    Edit: You also have Your bottom layout kind of like mine and you have Apps like Minecraft,Euro Truck Sim 2,Fraps, like me :D
     
  14. Bullinator30

    Bullinator30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Actually I run the Pokki Start Button.
     
  15. JetRivas747

    JetRivas747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Ohhh, They look very similar xD
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screenshot (9).png
    #75 JetRivas747, Sep 16, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2013
  16. Bullinator30

    Bullinator30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Yes they do. Now, how about back on topic xD
     
  17. Zalmoxis

    Zalmoxis
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Messages:
    99
    I tried spawning the car twice so far, and it doesn't work. The game doesn't freeze, but the car won't appear either...
     
  18. sevin112

    sevin112
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    I was having this problem too, until i opened the folder and i saw a folder named vehicle, open it and there's another folder named silverado... just drag the "silverado" folder in your beamNG vehicle directory and it works :D
     
  19. LSDMT420

    LSDMT420
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    The Truck is working great for me, I also just found out that the Dragster engine mod for the Gravil-D is working with this truck. 190MPH in aSilverado :D. So much detail on this truck, one of my new favorites, great work and thank you for releasing it!
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screenshot (9).png
    • Screenshot (10).jpg
    • Screenshot (12).jpg
    • Screenshot (13).jpg
  20. Insanegaz

    Insanegaz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    463
    It's a great pick to add to the game and great off-road :)

     
    #80 Insanegaz, Sep 16, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 21, 2015
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice