1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.23 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Can't play with any mods??

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by Yota, Nov 12, 2020.

  1. Yota

    Yota
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    I know the support page isn't for mod related issues, but to be completely honest, BNG would need a lot more content before I could play it vanilla for long term. I consider mods to be part of the game, and if the game isn't working with mods, the game isn't working at all. I have 1060 hours, a lot of them were played vanilla but it gets pretty boring without mods at this point.

    Also, all of those 1060 hours were played on this system with the same OS, at times with 250+ mods active. I've been having this issue for 11 months at this point, and I haven't touched the game much since then (it crashes like every 10 minutes...not fun). If I recall correctly, I had no troubles with the debug branch besides it not supporting 0.18 or something.

    Basically, if I launch with a cleared cache and no mods, I'm good to go. If I put one mod, it seems to work OK. same for two mods. When I get to 3 mods, it starts crashing pretty often. Remove the mods, still messed up until I clear cache. NOW, which mods I install doesn't seem to make a difference. Sometimes, it just closes out and it's fine to reboot. Other times, it will crash my whole desktop. Crash I'm getting is "GPU Not Responding". I play games that are way more GPU intensive with no issues. If I'm forgetting anything let me know.


    support ID 86118
     
  2. TunedS54M3

    TunedS54M3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 28, 2020
    Messages:
    450
    The fact that you had 250+ mods active at times is alarming. That's already a sign that your game has been overworked, so that's probably why it's doing this.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  3. Yota

    Yota
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    That is probably the most ridiculous video game related thing I've ever heard and I'm not sure why two other people would think that's a solid diagnosis. Not trying to be a jerk, but seriously... the game has been overworked and now it will never work again??

    I haven't had that many mods in a long long time. I went on a crusade a while ago and got it down to about 80. I think I got it down to around 20 or so before my hard drive died and I had to do a fresh install. Fresh install didn't fix the crashing.
     
  4. TunedS54M3

    TunedS54M3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 28, 2020
    Messages:
    450
    It's like if you knew your car was going to overheat because you put a phat turbski in it, but you didn't care because you wanted to anyways. Now since the car's engine is seized up, you gotta face the consequences. 250 mods active at one time is not ideal, so I don't know what to tell you. Doesn't matter how long ago it was, it still suffices.
     
  5. Yota

    Yota
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Game worked fine with 250 mods. It was slow. I cut the amount by 2/3rds and the game still ran fine, but much faster. It's irrelevant, I haven't had that many mods in a long time, I was just putting that info in there so that any support staff knows my computer has run fine with mods in the past, but suddenly can't run with more than 3.
     
  6. TunedS54M3

    TunedS54M3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 28, 2020
    Messages:
    450
    Is it still possible to reinstall? Other than that, I don't know dude.
     
  7. Yota

    Yota
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    I already reinstalled. I also had to reinstall my OS because the boot partition and system partition were split up between my SSD and HDD, and when my HDD died the system wouldn't boot.

    I reinstalled my OS, Beam, and have current video drivers. I'm pretty sure this is something on their side because it did work perfectly with that debug branch. There was another fix that I can't quite remember and the mods deleted the thread/post about it.
     
  8. TunedS54M3

    TunedS54M3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 28, 2020
    Messages:
    450
    Hm.
     
  9. ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet

    ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,243
    Sounds like your computer is pretty much toast...
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  10. Yota

    Yota
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    It's most definitely not. I can play any other game. Crew 2, Ride 4, Squad, Arma 3, etc. If my computer was "pretty much toast", I doubt it would run perfect without mods.
     
  11. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,594
    I have no idea wtf this would be. Maybe some weird bios or hardware clashing problem
     
  12. Yota

    Yota
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Yeah... I swear I've done everything. Last night I did a DDU uninstall of my graphic driver in safe mode and reinstalled the newest ones with my ethernet cable unplugged. I kept it unplugged to make sure it wasn't Windows shafting me and it still crashed.

    Like I said, that debug branch worked perfect, though slow and not up to date. Then they scrubbed the forum of everything related to the branch. I only bring this up because in that thread, there was a fix that worked. It involved downloading a file off github or something. I think I cleared my cache which in turn deleted that file and now I'm back to crashing. Ugh.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice