1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

Can BeamNG be Ported to UE4?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by austint30, Feb 3, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tdev

    tdev
    Expand Collapse
    Developer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,977
    Uhm, there is no point in doing that. We know the graphics can be nicer in UE4 ...
     
    • Like Like x 4
  2. austint30

    austint30
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    196
    I still wanna do it. Worth learning more UE4.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  3. Deleted member 126452

    Deleted member 126452
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Why did you build it on Torque3D by the way? Is it that cheap?
    You don't wanna give up, do you? ;)
     
  4. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    Its open source. Entirely free. Total cost to use: 0. Freedom to modify it and all too. T3d isnt DX11 compatible for a start, yet BeamNG is.
     
  5. Deleted member 126452

    Deleted member 126452
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Interesting.
    Since when does UE4 exist though? I mean, it seems to be free either.
     
  6. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    UE4 isnt free for commercial applications. Its free for low volume only, although I think BeamNG goes above that.
     
  7. Deleted member 126452

    Deleted member 126452
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Ah, makes sense now. Thanks. I'll inform myself further about the pricing.
     
  8. clayton8or

    clayton8or
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,045
    I have no idea what wheel or setup you were on, but beam feels nowhere NEAR as good of feedback for the vehicles as there should be. I feel like i complain about this alot and its annoying but its true, The only reason i dont race in beam is the lack of racing content, and more importantly the feeling of it. Its either feels like driving on cobblestone roads or ice. I have a t300 with t3pa pedals and (comparing this to AC) Beams FFB and "Experience" feels like crap, just because of every single unfortunate thing that happens, my 750 Ti cant handle 2 cars and any map over low settings above 40 fps, and the ffb as i said makes it feel really awkward.
    Its not all bad, its gotten SO much better from the past, but there is still always room for improvement.
     
  9. Deleted member 126452

    Deleted member 126452
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    You have to admit though, BeamNG is one of those games that set your standard of what is good way, way up. There are only quite few of those games, I think I could only name you one or two more that I know of.
     
  10. clayton8or

    clayton8or
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,045
    I know,Im not saying its not realistic or something, a game can still have realistic physics even if the cars cant be driven with a realistic feel to them.
    AC for example is an almost full on racing sim, beam is kinda everything at once... With trying to be the best vehicle simulator of all time, it does its job remarkably well. Driving normal cars on normal roads is totally fine and enjoyable on my wheel if i get the settings right. One of the best simulators for that stuff. When it comes to racing and other driving maneuvers where feedback and better performing vehicles are more important, then beam starts to fall under with that aspect.
     
  11. Deleted member 126452

    Deleted member 126452
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Yeah, the point is, everything at once. It's extremely hard for something to be able to do anything you want with it. And the fact that BeamNG even IS everything at once - kinda - is pretty stunning anyway. Some slight downs are totally understandable, but I think it can be fixed.
     
  12. cosacc

    cosacc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    the fps problem it is not due to the game engine but from the physic, the physic is managed by the CPU and not by the GPU as per the most of the other games.. so you could have 10 video cards but they cannot improve your fps.. in past I had CPU temperature problem when I run BeamNG (over 70° C and my PC shot down for safety as per my setting)..
     
  13. Funky7Monkey

    Funky7Monkey
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    You're missing the point. People that have a machine that can handle the physics still struggle to get good FPS because of Torque3D. It isn't well optimized for, really, anything. It's inefficient, and is just plain outdated. The physics core has become incredibly efficient, now the graphics engine is holding the game back. However, as is said before, the task of changing engines is a very complicated and time consuming endeavor. Don't expect an overhaul until the BeamNG physics engine (that's the right terminology, right?) is complete, or nearly complete.

    As far as your CPU, you probably need a new/better heatsink. What CPU do you have anyway?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. mumboking

    mumboking
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,404
    I'm pretty sure the CPU is used for physics in almost all games. It's just that BeamNG has way more information to process than other games.
     
  15. amarks240

    amarks240
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    i think its pretty damn good. there is still major work going on with the tire model. this game isnt even good yet and its great. wait till they sort all the rough spots and this game will pretty much be a one stop shop driving sim. no one else could imagine doing rock crawling and circuit racing on the same sim. name another sim that doesn't completely break down off road.
     
  16. cosacc

    cosacc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    I have an old I7 920 that is working good for all games that I have exept for BeamNG..
     
  17. Deleted member 126452

    Deleted member 126452
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Yeah, it's a pretty dated CPU. It shouldn't be too big of a problem though.
     
  18. cosacc

    cosacc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    In other games is used the GPU card and Nvidia PhysX, I have a GTX970 and an old I7 920 and my performance are good for all kind of games (over 60 fps)
     
  19. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    Actually very very very few games use PhysX. PhysX is just a physics engine and itself fuck all today with GPU usage. You are thinking of CUDA and OpenCL which are GPU accelerated calculations, PhysX can utilise CUDA hence the confusion for most people. Very very few games use CUDA or OpenCL.
    Infact I am struggling to think of a single AAA game out right now that is making use of it for anything other than minor graphics effects (such as the water ripple in just cause 3, the only thing in that game which is CUDA accelerated). Mafia 2, used it for breaking glass bottles and little bits of terrain destruction, thats it. Batman games the same, thats it. Nothing uses it as the primary physics tech.

    Every mainstream game does the physics on the processor. This is fine as most games do the physics at less than 100Hz. BeamNG does it at 2000Hz. BeamNG also uses far far more complex physics structures than other games, particularly driving ones.
     
  20. crazikyle

    crazikyle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    The games still in an alpha, so what would be the harm in changing the engine before the final release? Use the alpha period to fine tune the physics, and when you guys are happy with the physics, and have the game in a relatively stable and bug free release, focus on moving to a new engine. The vehicle and map people could still make vehicles and maps to keep the community happy, but the majority of the programmers could get the game to the new engine. With the release of the game on the new engine, call that the beta period. It's what betas are for after all, working out the bugs and fine tuning the game before a final release.

    Since UE4 is free to develop on, there would be no large upfront costs, and I genuinely think the game would sell much better if it's running on a modern engine. Plus, a new engine could really help speed up development if it's easier to make new maps, and you don't have to spend time updating Torque to have better graphics, and larger worlds. The time spent updating torque could be put into developing in unreal engine, and the end results would be much better.

    I think you should at least toy around with the idea, try importing some models, and see how easy or difficult it would be to move the physics over.
     
    • Like Like x 2
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice