1. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice

BANANA Benchmark Results Comparison

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by garyjpaterson, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. ThreeDTech21

    ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,607
    Wow I always thought BeamNG cars were assigned to threads, makes since becuase on a 2700x perfermance drops to about 25fps with 16 cars, vs 90 fps with 8 cars.
     
  2. zarak82

    zarak82
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Before I had a look at those results I wasn't sure if it was one car per physical core, or one car per thread. If you look near the bottom of sheet three you'll see that my Sandy Bridge i5 2500 (4C/4T) scored 100k at 3.30 GHz, and just above it a Sandy Bridge i7 2600 (4C/8T) scored 110k at 3.30GHz. So the i7 has approximately a 10% advantage. I'm not sure if that could be down to other factors, such as the motherboard or RAM used, though.

    So, if I (ever!) put together another PC I'll be after something efficient but not over expensive with lots of physical cores. If I was buying something now I might be tempted by the eight core Ryzen 7 2700 for £190. I'm not buying anything atm, though. I'm just waffling on! :rolleyes:
     
  3. ThreeDTech21

    ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,607
    Yea it’s looking like thread architecture is skipped over in BeamNG it just uses the whole core, but I’m not too sure about it; if you look at my CCX performance comparison the 4 core 8 thread 8 car test has similar performance to the 8 core 8 car test. One of the Devs said it may be due to multi vehicle optimizations needed in fact on my intel 4770 4 core 8 thread 8 cars I get similar performance running that on a ryzren 2700X 4 core 8 thread 8 car test
     
    #1003 ThreeDTech21, Jul 16, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019
  4. Alex [ITA]

    Alex [ITA]
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    490
    Most likely RAM is a factor to consider, more ram at higher speed will increase the banana bench result (and accordingly in-game smoothness). Btw the banana bench is a theoretical bench, the most limiting factor in game is the GPU. My cpu (i5-7600K) could run 15 vehicles (according to the bench) but in game, it can run up to 6 vehicles (may vary from map to map) before it goes under 30 Fps (which is far from what I consider playable though).
     
  5. esesesel

    esesesel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    334
    Just spawn 15 cars and and dont look at them... U should be getttin almost only cpu load... Also i dont know what is considered real time, or if it even matters...
     
  6. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,021
    They arent "assigned" to anything. Windows doesn't allow you such control. The idea of describing a CPU by "threads" is actually inaccurate as a thread is a software construct not a hardware one. Virtual/logical cores is a much better descriptor. In software development you actually have no control over cores. You create a thread, the operating systems task scheduler determines which core the thread runs on and for what time slice. Multiple threads can share 1 core in different time slices, the time slices can also be varying in length.

    Hyperthreading and virtual cores, the CPU kinda exposes 1 core as if it is 2 to the operating system, as far as the OS is concerned, it's 2 cores (and it's physical implementation is actually more like a conjoined core in *some* ways).

    BeamNG spawns a thread per vehicle, it's entirely up to windows where it runs them.


    Now the issue you will find. As 2 logical cores are only 1 physical core, they share some resources, this can cause a bottleneck, windows for high demand tasks prefers to avoid the virtual cores (you can see this in task manager where every other core tends to get loaded up first), unless you're in the power saver modes where it'll load up both logical cores corresponding to 1 physical core first. Windows doesn't allow code to choose it's own affinity (ie, which cores in the host system it runs on) and so that is beyond BeamNGs control.

    (I am a software engineer in a multithreaded application)
    --- Post updated ---
    The tl;dr of hyperthreading, it exposes 2 instruction pipelines per core rather than just 1 and interleaves the 2 pipelines, leveraging out of order execution to take advantage of instructions dead times filling in for each other.

    Effectively, 2 dishwashers in a restaurant kitchen, 1 sink, 1 just waits for the other to be done and occupied with stacking clean plates and vice versa.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,655
    Yup 100%. Didn't want 8 and definitely don't want 10. Every time I use Windows 10 on the email computer in the front room (it's an old Athlon x2 box I built 10~11 years ago), I feel like I am drowning. That's literally the only way I can describe it, like I am suffocating. I have all this knowledge of computers, fast as all get-out when using a desktop... but almost none of the keyboard short-cuts work, and nothing is where you expect it. There's not even a 'My Computer' icon on the thing. I am going to have to sit and hack Windows 10 on my next machine, for a week, and then configure Norton to BLOCK it from phoning home, connecting to the update server, etc. Not fun. Will get the LTSB version to lessen the pain (LTSB = Long Term Service Branch).
    If the computer booted me off because it decided that now would be a good time to update while I'm working (or typing this out), or cost me my progress, I'd probably shoot it.
    My next computer might just be a linux workstation to do the modeling work from and leave this one to run BeamNG in Windows 7. I hate Windows 10 that much, I mean, I absolutely, positively DESPISE it. While some may think that defeats the point of putting together a new machine after 5 years, I just am not feeling this 'Windows 10' for the life of me - nor am I jumping head over heels into the rest of the Orwellian society that it's becoming (GPS tracking Watches, Amazon Alexa, Smart TV's, Cell phone on me constantly - nope - not doing any of that).
    Heck after 10 years of Windows 7 I'd say I'm used to it now finally, yes, of course I am used to it, it looks just like Windows 98 with the long buttons on the task bar and classic Windows look, too.
    It has a My Computer icon, too - you can bet your life on it. Don't be too shocked if I research what update(s) to block and buy a key for Windows 7 or 8.x on my next computer just to avoid Windows 10.
    I'm the guy that fixes everything that breaks, no matter what it is - I can't afford to lose my work when I get called away all-of-a-sudden without even time to save my work, because Windows 10 decides to update, closing out my applications without saving, rebooting, and in the process of updating - completely breaking the @#$%ing computer... ugh.
    I need a stable work environment that will be there and ready for whenever I have time and ability to do something on my projects (or read the news, for that matter). This way I can continue to make awesome things for BeamNG and not be blasting the computer full of holes, with very expensive ammunition, because The Bob hates Windows 10...

    That is all, I'll stop derailing y'all's thread now (sorry!).
    --Cheers!

    EDIT: ON TOPIC: The most limiting factor when running loads of vehicles (12+) is usually DRAW CALLS. If the interiors didn't render when they were 100+ feet (37 meters or so) away or more, it would drop that a bit. It would be super-nice if cars used LOD's like most other driving games, but we're not there yet!
    It's becoming much more pertinent now that processors are becoming much more powerful with Ryzen and general competition in the market.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. esesesel

    esesesel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    334
    CMIIW but i think there definitely is a physical component yo hyperthreading the die has to support it
     
  9. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,021
    The tl;dr of hyperthreading, it exposes 2 instruction pipelines per core rather than just 1 and interleaves the 2 pipelines, leveraging out of order execution to take advantage of instructions dead times filling in for each other.

    Effectively, 2 dishwashers in a
    Yea, I mentioned this, the second pipeline as the glossed over simplification.

    All of Intel's core and Xeon series CPUs actually have it, it's just disabled in some models. Just the same as how with 9th gen, intel only have 2 dies, a 6 core and an 8 core (6's are not binned 8's). i3 through i7 is just the same die, but binned for clock speeds and with cores/hyperthreading disabled (they literally blow a fuse of sorts)
    --- Post updated ---
    Operating system level threading though, well, look in resource monitor, your PC will already have over 1000 threads running, just all requiring such low activity that they'll all get allocated super tiny time slices
     
  10. ARES IV

    ARES IV
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Messages:
    285
    You may want to look into using Shut Up 10:

    https://www.oo-software.com/en/shutup10

    This freeware allows you to disable all - to date - known spy features of win 10. Quite shocking to be honest that after using the intergrated windows settings for maximum privacy you find yourself changing another 20 settings or so.

    It also makes it possible to run updates IF and when YOU want.
     
    • Informative Informative x 4
  11. TheRobster5555

    TheRobster5555
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Might as well put the results in for my Core i7 3930K which I unfortunately can't push past 4.3 ghz, (might be getting a 4930k at some point to hopefully remedy this issue) and I'm decently impressed for an 8 year old chip!
     

    Attached Files:

    • 3930k43banana.png
  12. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,655
    I think some of the XEONs on x79 and x99 were unlocked, and they support cheap old server (registered / ecc) RAM, which you can sometimes find up to 1600~2400mhz depending on the spec of the system, not really worth the price (if you can find rdimms that fast for cheap) for the 5~15% performance bump in heavily threaded apps though when you already have 32gb. The unlocked xeons, however, can be quite fun to play with. Not all are unlocked, and you'll have to do some reading to find out which ones are unlocked and which not. They don't have any unlocked ones for mainstream desktop chip sets / motherboards though, only HEDT boards / chip sets - and only if your board supports it. Try to get something HASWELL-based for your board *IF* it works with it (and is not x99), I don't know if they made them on your board or not, Haswell has 256-bit FPU and AVX-2, which helps lots with BeamNG computations (and also is why Ryzen 3xxx is so much better in BeamNG vs 2xxx or 1xxx Ryzen performance).
    Your best step-up would be a Ryzen honestly, with 1333mhz ram in there now, you'd really want to step up to faster memory too along with it - unless a garunteed overclockable CPU is <100$ that's different of course. So maybe keep saving up that little cash cushion for a new machine to last you another number of years.
    Still great to have a system go 8 years, I thought I was bad with my 5 year old Z97/4790k/32gb 2400mhz cl11 ddr3/Win 7 Pro-based computer. Still running though (oops, I shouldn't type that, the magic smoke might come out then). With the power supply in RMA-land and a serviceable spare in it's place, I don't have the heart to cut her down in her prime (or the desire to use Windows 10 on the new one).
    I will say one thing, that 3930K still smokes the pants off of my FX6300 PC that I used up until 5 years ago (it was an Athlon xII quad-core 2.8ghz, had the FX for ONE month and couldn't stand it and almost threw it out the window, when I went and built this one). So no worries, you're still in the clear with that one.
    It sure would be nice if I could get my delidded 4790k over 4.4ghz without the tower burning down, on air cooling... can't have everything we want can we?
     
  13. TheRobster5555

    TheRobster5555
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Unfortunately, my Gigabyte board, (GA-X79-UP4) doesn't support the V2 xeons (RIP unlocked 8 core) and Haswell-E doesn't exist, AFAIK on the LGA 2011 non-V3 socket. I actually used to use a 4790 non-k based PC for a while, but then a friend of mine was ready to throw this PC out and just outright gave it to me. Good thing that happened too, as the 4790 system died just under a year after it got retired.
     
  14. firestarspelt

    firestarspelt
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    now we need 3000 series threadrippers
     

    Attached Files:

    • baneena.png
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. TheRobster5555

    TheRobster5555
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Man those 64 core 128 thread beasts will be insane! just imagine spawning up every car in the game twice and still being above 60 fps!
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,655
    I just bought parts and put together a 3700x machine today, I will try to post some numbers on it this weekend.
    It's stock settings, just memory XMP profile is loaded in so the memory runs at 3000mhz CL15, didn't get it to overclock (as there's not much point).
    I want to see what it can do, with this game physics-wise, as the results from the 3900x (with more cores) looked awesome.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. daveywaveyHD

    daveywaveyHD
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    325
    upload_2019-7-26_13-35-2.png
    Replaced my 3770k with a 3700x! Awesome upgrade :) Running 4.2ghz until i get bored of low temps haha
    Ram is c16 3600mhz (no idea if it makes a difference).
     
    • Like Like x 2
  18. mtslittow

    mtslittow
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    126
    To be fair, you can enable both my computer icon and a thin taskbar with long buttons in Windows 10. But to disable tracking, third-party tools are needed. Screenshot69.png
    upload_2019-7-26_16-0-21.png
    On topic: Overclocked i7 4790k at 4.7GHz clockspeed
     
    #1018 mtslittow, Jul 26, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2019
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Masterjoc

    Masterjoc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Switched my Laptop Ram from 8GB Single Ram 2667 Cl19 to 16gb dual rank 2667 CL15.
    Plus 15 mbeams i see.
    Ingame i see 20 FPS more and reach nearly 100 FPS in Italy town.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Anmerkung2019-07-21110408.png
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Arm0sius

    Arm0sius
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    3700X running on 3466 CL16 RAM
     
    • Like Like x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice