WIP Beta released American Road 1.6.0

Very large (120 sq/km, 11x11 km) map, hundreds kilometers of all types of roads. 8 GB RAM required

  1. PolishPetrolhead

    PolishPetrolhead
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    456
    Damn, I didn't think I'd ever see a full blown formal letter with real, full name signature around here. You can chill, Al, we're all just normal people goofing around in a game.
    Concerning your issues: I don't really follow this particular mod all that well, but I can share my experience with other mods and that knowledge is universal. Usually after an game update some of the mods break. New features and fixes make mods made on previous versions misbehave, that's how it is. But it's not always the fault of the mod itself, it could be this one mod having a beef with another mod. To try combat this problem you boot up the game in safe mode, go to mods tab and activate the one mod you want to test. If the problem is gone, then it's some other mods' fault and to fix that you're on your own. If the problem is still there, that means that the mod is having issues with the game and the mod needs to be updated by the creator.

    In this case I think it's the latter, the mod needs a fix. As you said: "Since the last update of BeamNG.drive" the mod has some issues. You have made the creator aware of the problem and now all you can do is sit tight and wait. Quick PSA, modders are regular people and modding is just a hobby for them, so pressuring, nagging and any sort of tries to hurry the fix almost never work and just makes you look bad, so yeah, don't do that.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Alistair McKinley

    Alistair McKinley
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you very much for your reply and the ... ehm ... praise ... I guess. ;-)
    Be reassured: I'm absolutely chilled.
    I am not new to forums like this. ;-)
    I just like to communicate in a way that is comprehensible and polite because I've seen so much inappropriate posts that I think it is important to show gratitude and respect (towards modders and others).

    The purpose of my post was to make the creator/modder aware of the problem. Maybe it's just a simple file which needs to be renamed or to be put into another folder.
    I'be been playing and handling mods in Assetto Corsa for several years now and I know that patience is required because the modders have real-life jobs, maybe a family and other real-life obligations/duties. Perhaps the issue will be solved when a new update/patch of the game itself will be coming out.

    Thanks again.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. PolishPetrolhead

    PolishPetrolhead
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    456
    I get you, I'm also trying to be as polite as possible but I just don't like formal stuff, not my thing. Also, I got over the basic stuff first because you made your account today, people with new accounts generally need a heads up with those kinds of things. Either way, we gotta wait, enjoy the forums in the meantime.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. primo3001

    primo3001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Thank you Alistair for reporting this issue! There is no environment sound at all on American Road in my case too. I can also see a problem with fog and sun light. I will fix those issues as soon as I can.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  5. Kerouha

    Kerouha
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    After recent updates there are missing textures on trees around the map. Clearing cache does not help. I use the ingame repository version.

    If you play on 1GB graphics card, system RAM usage can go up to 14 GB (low settings).

    Also, there are some spots around highways where FPS drops from 50-60 right to ~20, impairing car controls.

    Image 1, Image 2

    Maybe consider decreasing the amount of trees in these places?

    There is an uneven tunnel entrance on one side, probably unintentional and can make you jump into a wall.

    Image

    Another uneven piece of a highway.

    Image
     
    #385 Kerouha, Jan 2, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2020
  6. primo3001

    primo3001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Hi. I also cleared my cache and everything seems to be fine. First thing you can do is to make sure that you don't have any outdated American Road files. Those can be found in documents/BeamNG.Drive/levels or in "mods" and "repo" folders. I see that you have opened this map in the editor. If you accidently saved it, you may have created copies of files in documents/BeamNG.Drive/levels folder. Files from "levels" folder are loaded in the first place, so you need to get rid of them to load new files. If you have a file called "mymap" or "american road" there, you need to remove it and clear cache again. Try that, and tell if it worked or not.

    I can also see that you play on very low settings. I don't think that it could cause "missing textures" issue, but 1 GB of VRAM is pretty small for this game and this map. It can be reason why you experience FPS drops.

    As for the uneven roads, I will fix it in the next update.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Kerouha

    Kerouha
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    I indeed tried to remove objects from that spot. Every single tree, road, river. Driving in that same spot, with only bare terrain in sight, still managed to drop frames to 20-24. what is this next gen whack i don't even comprehend

    I've noticed console messages about some content failing to load. The "clearing cache" procedure did not see the corrupted files. All this time, I somehow neglected the absence of ETK cars in my menu, as well as the missing map that contained ill-fated tree textures.

    Removing conflicting archives and running Steam integrity check actually helped. Never been happier seeing spruce trees, adorned with their own textures, almost in time for the New Year.

    Fun fact: launching the map after integrity check made models properly textured. But as you moved away from trees, they would turn into low-res sprites, that were still a mess of orange pixels. Removing remains of old cache fixed that.
     
  8. primo3001

    primo3001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Good to hear it works. I had a lot of troubles with those distant trees textures in the past too. Those textures are generated automatically, so if they was generated while trees had orange "no texture" texture, they will be cached. Clearing cache forces those textures to regenerate using correct tree textures.

    If you saved this map while editing it, be sure to remove "mymap" folder from "levels" folder, because it may collide with future updates.
     
  9. Iridescent

    Iridescent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    I have a question about PC performance requirements for this map, how does it compare to Italy? My computer can run Italy alright (it takes a while to load), so should it be able to run this map? My computer has around 8GB of ram.
     
  10. primo3001

    primo3001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    It should be ok. It also depends on GPU, but I see that you have pretty strong video card. I have more FPS on American Road than on Italy, but you just need more RAM to run American Road because of it's size.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Iridescent

    Iridescent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 26, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks. I don't fully trust my RAM because BeamNG gives me warnings if I'm already using some with other programs open. I'll give your map a shot.
     
  12. Kerouha

    Kerouha
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    I've found a thing that caused the immense lag near the mountain.

    Image

    Does that thing serve any purpose in the map?
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. primo3001

    primo3001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Not anymore. I was using it to create mountains. It should not cause any problems. I will remove it in the next update. Where exactly did you found it? :D
     
  14. Kerouha

    Kerouha
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    It's that same area from my previous screenshots, a large banked higwhay turn near the mountain. You can go into editor and hide terrain and forest to find it.

    Also, enable performance graphs and leave just the GPU. It will create noticeable overhead when in sight.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. primo3001

    primo3001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Thank you. I will remove it.
     
  16. jmendes

    jmendes
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Hi
    I dont known what to do more to get ride from the orange trees :(. I deleted mymaps, cleared cache and even deleted the mod and downloaded it again. I allways get this: help :)
    upload_2020-1-27_23-19-54.png
     
  17. primo3001

    primo3001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    You need to remove it from all places. If you have problems with textures, it means that there still are some outdated filed somewhere. You can search for "mymap" in BeamNGdrive folder in Documents ,or go to BeamNG.Drive/levels/mymap if I remember correctly, and remove it. Then you need to clear cache again, and it should work.
     
  18. tonimark

    tonimark
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    good, I have noticed that 1.downloading from mod section is broken
    2.looking at south cause huge fps drop
     
  19. primo3001

    primo3001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    88
    Hi. I can't do anything with download problems. It is up to game developers.

    Second problem is known for me. I will fix it, but I don't know when. I have no time because of some "real life" problems. I will try to fix it as soon as possible. Thanks for reporting it.
     
  20. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,862
    Works fine here. Please provide more information
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice