1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

0.24 Discussion thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Leeloo, Dec 2, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. default0.0player

    default0.0player
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,746
    You'll change your mind when you tune the alignment in vehicle customization while using Advanced Wheel Debug UI app.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    7,998
    If an image has space in the name, it can't be displayed now for some reason. But I've heard that somehow even after you fix it it's still invisible. So you need to save this as a new config with a different name without any spaces and delete the old one. It sucks that saving configs takes minutes now and it used to be a few seconds.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. KenKen911

    KenKen911
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    The new UI brings many likes and dislikes. It is natural that preference for new things is divided.
    But I think it's wrong for a few 'some' people to express their opinions that don't like the new UI as if they were wrong.
    It is wrong to quote the opinion that you don't like it and express it as if you don't understand it
    Someone may not like the new UI just as you like it.

    The discussion thread is for improvement, not to suppress someone's dissatisfaction.
    Preference based on UX(USER EXPERIENCE) based experience is not easy to change.
    It would be great if you could select a new UI and an existing UI as an option, but it will be a big task.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. SupremeDalek73

    SupremeDalek73
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2019
    Messages:
    122
    I know the performance has been talked about endlessly over the past few days, but every so often there's lag spikes where simulation continues, but input does not, so when shifting for example there can be a 0.5 second delay where clutch and throttle just stop, same with steering and other functions.
     
    #764 SupremeDalek73, Dec 7, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2021
  5. beamn driver

    beamn driver
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    213
    I have dropped fps on jungle rock in general to 33 and for some reason it drops to only 27 fps with traffic, (before fps was 45 and more and with traffic 36) I think the optimization of the map is to blame on other maps everything is fine in Italy 45 fps in the heaviest location and with traffic fps 32 I think it's because of the addition of pbr even though I have it turned off
     
  6. ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet

    ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    3,091
    i dont think you can turn off pbr?
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  7. TDK

    TDK
    Expand Collapse
    FLIT KILLS MOTHS
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    475
    exactly this - sound systems expect speakers to be set up at 30 degrees left and right of centre... if you then wear headphones, the drivers are obviously at 90 degrees left and right of centre, so selecting this mode helps compensate for that. It's not 100% perfect yet, but a lot better.

    We have found an issue with headphone mode and 3rd party engine audio, which we're currently looking in to... selecting/deselecting headphone mode with a 3rd party engine sound causes the spacialisation for that sound to break.
     
    • Like Like x 7
  8. KenKen911

    KenKen911
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    104
    I learned that the v1wagon_jsz mode causes a headlamp texture issue.
     
  9. Matt_890s

    Matt_890s
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    415
    For the custom configurations thumbnail thing, I just put a dash between the separate words. For example, I have a custom Covet called the The Basic, and when I renamed the .png file and the .pc file to The_Basic, the thumbnail shows up no problem. Guess this isn’t exactly the most elegant solution and I seriously hope the bug gets fixed soon, but it works. Hope this helps!
     
  10. Baby Skye

    Baby Skye
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    same problem also
     
  11. TonyCartony

    TonyCartony
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2020
    Messages:
    133
    I have enabled cameradistance and a new cumbersome red point appeared. How to rid of that mess?

    upload_2021-12-7_16-44-33.png
     
  12. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,868
    We've identified and fixed the issue where the parkingbrake was applied inconsistently after spawning/reloading/resetting a car. :)
     
    • Like Like x 13
  13. DaddelZeit

    DaddelZeit
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    Messages:
    3,122
    Thank you :):):):):)
    That's been annoying me a lot lately
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  14. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
    Sorry for asking but is there any news yet concerning the Humble Bundle download ?
     
  15. IonicOwl

    IonicOwl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    221
    I had a play with the UI using a controller as much as possible. Using a wired XBox 360 controller, here are my observations:
    • I can't highlight options with checkboxes when using the D-pad, the cursor just skips right past them.
    • When using the bumper buttons to switch between tabs, there are inconsistent freezes. I mostly encountered then when trying to get to the vehicle select and vehicle config tabs. Ideally the user should be able to hover the tabs and press the selection button to load it, if there's an optimisation issue here.
    • I found that any time I needed to highlight something and then confirm that selection, spawning in a new vehicle for example, the process is not intuitive. My suggestion would be for the user to be able to select the vehicle they want, then the cursor to go to the "Spawn New" button in the bottom right corner. It is not obvious that the user has to double-tap the selection button. Same goes for the quick travel feature. When the user selects a quick travel location, the cursor should go straight to the confirm button, the user shouldn't have to navigate the cursor around the UI to get to that button.
    • More of a general bug rather than UI specific, but some of the buttons on my wired XBox 360 controller would stop registering inputs during gameplay. In my case, it was the D-pad and both A and B buttons. Only way I could resolve it was to quit the level and reload it. Respawning the car or refreshing the UI didn't do anything.
    Hope this info helps.

    I've seen some people mention not being able to see UI apps with the vehicle configuration menu open. I don't seem to have that problem.. Everything appears to work as normal, unless I've missed something.

    BeamNGdrivex642021-12-0716-48-03.png
     
  16. robert357

    robert357
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    There is still issue on Utah with AI spawning wrong way on that spot.
    screenshot_2021-12-04_16-47-01.png

    Issue with GPS that lead to this bus stop.
    busgps.png

    Spawning AI cars leave a lot of tyre marks.
    screenshot_2021-12-06_23-50-55.png
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. EdxTm

    EdxTm
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Something is very odd on this version.
    I can see the game lagging quite a bit with traffic, even though I always had more than enough power available (RTX 3060 Ti + 32 GB RAM - 16 Cores I7-11700)
    AI traffic on Italy stops suddenly sometimes, I wasn't able to pinpoint a reason for that.
    The Radial menu sometimes open, sometimes it doesn't open. Tried with all mods disabled, doesn't make any difference.
    Game looks great though, I guess we have to wait until fixes are out.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. a plane guy

    a plane guy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2021
    Messages:
    3,831
    Just found out a way to fix the menu without restarting the game,
    Press ctrl L and wait a few seconds, your screen will go black for a second but the radial menu starts working after.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,815
    Or F5, it's faster.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. a plane guy

    a plane guy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2021
    Messages:
    3,831
    I guess that works too lol
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice