1. Thread posting restricted: Only the BeamNG team members can post new threads in this sub-forum in order to prevent spam. Posting is available on unlocked threads.

  2. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice

World Editor 2.0

Discussion in 'Microblogs' started by nekitu, Feb 16, 2019.

  1. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,503
    I'm just hoping this new editor eventually looks better. IMO it's very cluttered, the icons are way too big, and this blue boxy style is one of the least visually appealing UIs I've seen in a game. It's honestly the reason I still use the old editor.

    I'm not just saying that because "ew it's new", that's just honestly how I feel about it.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  2. jammin2222

    jammin2222
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    I hope the new editor can do everything the old one could.
    --- Post updated ---
    Where do i find this feature in the new editor?
    Capture.jpg
    It's not in the obvious place I would expect in the new editor
    Capture2.jpg
     
  3. Taza

    Taza
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,291
    I have only used the old editor, and I am working on a map that won't be finished before the next update. Is there anything I need to do to my map before starting to use the new one?
     
  4. nekitu

    nekitu
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Not really, you should continue work in the new editor, the level files are used by the new editor as well.
     
  5. jammin2222

    jammin2222
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    If I am to continue working on maps under the new editor I need to locate this feature in the new editor. I can't find it anywhere.
    Capture.jpg
     
  6. nekitu

    nekitu
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    There are a lot of new developments in the new editor since last update (you can also customize the editor theme colors, size/scale). I will check if that panel is implemented, we can add it if not.
     
  7. jammin2222

    jammin2222
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    I was having a mild heart attack thinking I will no longer be able to continue working on projects, or maintain my old ones if this feature is removed. I spent an hour in the new editor trying to find it but concluded it's not in there.
    I really hope it turns up in the next update or I will regret updating the game.
    Without this feature I won't be able to import sketchup models and set up LOD's and collision meshes for them, thus making future projects laggy and inefficient as everything will be using visible mesh collisions and have no LODs to reduce rendering load.
    Thanks for the reply :)
     
  8. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,718
    By the way, that method of adding LODs is quite unsupported (literally not used in official content/workflow), and it makes relies on TorqueScript .cs files (ie. not future-proof)

    You would be better setting up lods inside your .DAE as shown in there instead:
    https://wiki.beamng.com/Creating_static_objects#LOD_meshes
    https://wiki.beamng.com/Exporting_static_objects
     
  9. jammin2222

    jammin2222
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    Well I have no experience using Blender and every attempt at using it made me want to give up. Sketchup is my modeling software of choice and I am very comfortable using it. This feature is really useful and allowed us to enjoy making maps that didn't have horrible performance issues. If this feature is removed it will mean I won't be able to optimize models anymore making anything I create much worse than it needs to be. I hope you can consider supporting this as I know a few people use sketchup models in their projects. It will allow a wider set of users to continue making content.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. ChibbiNation

    ChibbiNation
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    @nekitu Will we ever be able to add pedestrians on the streets or drivers in the cars using the world editor, or is the long-term plan to never have any kind of humanoid figures in the game (because of rating concerns)? I've been wondering this for years, if Beamng Drive will be forever a driverless car, no people world, so I'd really appreciate any type of answer from you in this.
     
  11. nekitu

    nekitu
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    You can ask this question in the gameplay topics, I do not have any info about pedestrians, but if the game will support it, we will surely add a tool to place them and define walk paths and so on.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  12. ffzero58

    ffzero58
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    I was just about to ask this too :) I did ask this before but it seemed to get overlooked. Does the new world editor allow parenting of imported DAE models (i.e. some mesh, whether if be a static object - like a textured driver model) to the vehicles?

    I have done it via editing the jbeam file (just adding the mesh to the list) but it would be a dream if I could do this natively in the World Editor.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Occam's Razer

    Occam's Razer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,015
    I usually set everything up in Blender, but there are occasions where the model will import with some weird LOD settings, collision meshes importing as visual LODs, etc. In those cases, the shape editor is still useful.
     
    #93 Occam's Razer, Jun 24, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2020
  14. arnok19

    arnok19
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Messages:
    235
    This new world editor is lit. I used it today to edit some stuffs on my map and things were really smooth. At first, I was hell confused for where to find the Inspector window and because of that I had to ask my friends but eventually found it, yay! So, placing objects in the old editor was a headache; in this one providing a new grid mat beneath the spawned object (already set in 90 deg.) just makes my day. It's so much simpler now. Also, adding (-, +) buttons to change values gradually is great especially for "tod". Although, my screen resolution is 1366x768, things get really congested on my screen. Sometimes, I have to remove the previous window in order to make space for the new one. But, then too this doesn't bother me from using the new world editor. Kudos, devs.
     
  15. Mopman93

    Mopman93
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    The Inspector window should be open when you open the editor for the first time. Was it not open for you? Did you try the new Editor before this update at some point?
     
  16. arnok19

    arnok19
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2018
    Messages:
    235
    Yeah I'm trying this editor after the update. The Inspector window wasn't open. I had to add one from the navbar.
     
    #96 arnok19, Aug 10, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2020
  17. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    243
    I didn't have the inspector window either, I had used the editor before I think, but never saw the window until I found out how to enable it. What I did was simply setting the layout to default and it appeared. Seems like the default layout wasn't default (??)
     
  18. DuneWulff

    DuneWulff
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    954
    Yea, I'm in the same boat. Was totally lost until I figured out I was missing the "inspector" tab.
    Maaybbbe make it so that always opens when the world editor is started the first time?
     
  19. gsk11740

    gsk11740
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Messages:
    105
    Is there a decent tutorial for the editor? I'd like to make use of it. I've done some "minor" editing on some of the existing maps, mostly trial and error. Ok, mostly error (I made half a town disappear with one mouse click) but I'm trying.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. NightcoreDJ101

    NightcoreDJ101
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Yeah, if there is one out there, I need it because I just can't find many of the functions of the old editor. For now, I'm having to switch between editors because both road editors (Mesh+Decal in old editor) do not work, but everything else does.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice