WIP What's wrong with my file?

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by starblockset, Jun 10, 2020.

  1. starblockset

    starblockset
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    So I'm creating a Ford Ecoboost mod and I'm pretty new to modding. I tried making a stock turbo, internals, and ECU. The game crashes every time I load into a map, so I'm suspecting there is something wrong with one of them since the engine was working perfectly without them. If you could look at my engine file that would be awesome. Any help is appreciated!

    P.S. I think it might also have something to do with the slots and slot-type thing at the beginning of the code.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
    Not sure if this could be of importance but did you put this line into the turbo section ?
    Code:
    "cylinderWallTemperatureDamageThreshold":530
     
  3. starblockset

    starblockset
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    I did not... I should try it. Thanks.
     
  4. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
    I'm not sure but I think it doesn't belong there. It's at line 347
    --- Post updated ---
    if it DOES belong there then it's lacking a comma so that's why your game jams. :)
     
  5. starblockset

    starblockset
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Didn't work.
     
  6. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
     
  7. starblockset

    starblockset
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    forgot to refresh the page. ill try it tho
     
    #7 starblockset, Jun 10, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2020
  8. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
    Alright :)
     
  9. starblockset

    starblockset
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    It still didn't work :( I think it has something to do with the beams?
     
  10. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
    that would stop the vehicle from loading unless there's a typo

    Maybe try removing the spaces within these lines :
    Code:
              ["em1r", "e1r"],
              ["em1r", "e1l"],
              ["em1r", "e2l"],
              ["em1r", "e2r"],
    
              ["em1l","e3l"],
              ["em1l","e3r"],
              ["em1l","e4l"],
              ["em1l","e4r"],
              ["em1l", "e1r"],
              ["em1l", "e1l"],
              ["em1l", "e2l"],
              ["em1l", "e2r"],
     
  11. starblockset

    starblockset
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    ill have to check it out. thanks once more
     
  12. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
     
  13. starblockset

    starblockset
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Will look into it!
    --- Post updated ---
    still not working. fml
     
  14. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
    You mentioned the slottype thing in your early post. This one → "slotType" : "pickup_engine", ?
    For it to be recognized it must also be named like that in the main jbeam file where the vehicle's slots are listed.
     
  15. starblockset

    starblockset
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    It is listed as "pickup_engine" in the slotType thing, so I don't really see anything else. i've posted my issue on the BeamNG subreddit so hopefully, I can get more hope there! thanks for all your help I really appreciate it!
     
  16. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
    It must also be listed as "pickup_engine" in the '"slots" thing' of your main jbeam file, don't forget to check. :)

    You're welcome
     
  17. starblockset

    starblockset
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    "slotType" : "pickup_engine",
    "slots": [
    ["type", "default","description"],
    ["pickup_v6_small_intake","pickup_v6_small_intake", "Turbo", {"coreSlot":true}],
    ["pickup_header","pickup_exhmanifold", "Exhaust Manifolds", {"coreSlot":true}],
    ["pickup_exhaust_v8","pickup_exhaust_v8","Exhaust"],
    ["pickup_v6_small_ecu","pickup_v6_small_ecu", "ECU", {"coreSlot":true}],
    ["n2o_system","", "Nitrous Oxide System"],
    ["pickup_v6_small_internals","pickup_v6_small_internals", "Internals", {"coreSlot":true}],
    ["pickup_transmission","pickup_transmission_4A","Transmission"],

    That is the part of the code I'm talking about, is it that i have to change the "default" line of code to" pickup_engine" or is it because I sort of have v8 and v6 parts in the same part of code? I'm just so confused
     
  18. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,682
    I scrolled to the bottom of your file and found this
    Code:
        "mainEngine":{
                "revLimiterRPM":2700,
                    "revLimiterType":"soft",
        ],
    
    You have a block starting with { and ending with ]
    it should be
    Code:
        "mainEngine":{
                "revLimiterRPM":2700,
                    "revLimiterType":"soft",
        },
    
    In the future, the old console is your friend (the one introduced in 0.19 has been broken since release), accessed with (SHIFT+~). If you scroll to the top of all the red error text, it'll tell you there's a JSON error at some line.
     
  19. starblockset

    starblockset
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks for trying.. but it's still not working. I didn't know you could access the old console now, but the scroll wheel doesnt stay in place and practically makes it impossible to find the error...
     
  20. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
    Does it keep on spurting output ? try to pause ?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice