1. Trouble with the game?
    Try the troubleshooter!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.35 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

What are the default beam properties

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by ThreeDTech21, Jun 2, 2016.

  1. ThreeDTech21

    ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,616
    I have a jbeam with a section beams that have no properties, the beams under it have properties but the first beams do not. When I try to add beam properties to that section the game becomes unstable. The beams work well but I'm not able to tweak them.

    Since they do work, what default properties are they operating under?
     
  2. Goosah

    Goosah
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    790
    I believe these are the defaults that will be used:

    if vehicle.options.beamSpring == nil then vehicle.options.beamSpring = 4300000 end
    if vehicle.options.beamDeform == nil then vehicle.options.beamDeform = 220000 end
    if vehicle.options.beamDamp == nil then vehicle.options.beamDamp = 580 end
    if vehicle.options.beamStrength == nil then vehicle.options.beamStrength = math.huge end
    if vehicle.options.nodeWeight == nil then vehicle.options.nodeWeight = 25 end
     
  3. ThreeDTech21

    ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,616
    Ok thanks! it looks like this is code straight from the lua, Ill try those settings and tweak them to see if I can control it from there.
     
  4. Goosah

    Goosah
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    790
    Yes, sorry it was late for me to make a detailed post. But if you look at jbeam_main.lua lines 736 and 1897 you will see how these values can get applied to the beams. At least it looks that way to me, I had to check it out myself when I saw your question ;)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice