1. Thread posting restricted: Only the BeamNG team members can post new threads in this sub-forum in order to prevent spam. Posting is available on unlocked threads.

Vulkan API – Feedback, Known Issues, and FAQ

Discussion in 'Microblogs' started by Car_Killer, Jun 22, 2021.

  1. Sepehr

    Sepehr
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2019
    Messages:
    306
    Means that i need to copy game before testing out the Vulkan or it can fix breaked things by deleting cache?
    Screenshot_20210712-032925_Edge.jpg
     
  2. Keemo

    Keemo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Usually just clear cache, worst case probably file verification on steam.
     
  3. stenyak

    stenyak
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,363
    Yep, having to manually choose Vulkan each time is a deliberate decision. We even scrapped an in-game Vulkan option shortly before the release.
    The idea is to avoid people forgetting they had enabled the shiny new (but unsupported, and still too experimental) Vulkan feature, in turn flooding our Support team, in turn making it harder to identify and solve the issues coming from those of you using the normal renderer :)
     
    • Like Like x 5
  4. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    4,310
    That's a really good idea, I can imagine how many false reports you would get from that, knowing this community lol
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Artistterrymartin

    Artistterrymartin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 5, 2019
    Messages:
    346
    I can't believe I was dumb enough a couple weeks ago to almost make a thread for help. My editor window was all grey, where I could somewhat see the world through it. I unintentionally dragged the tool bar to the bottom of the screen stretching it from top to bottom. Not realizing what I did.
    I even reinstalled the game before figuring out what I did wrong LoL.
     
  6. Andrew 208

    Andrew 208
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    When I try to launch either safe mode or normal mode in Vulcan it goes straight to a black screen and I have to End-Task on Beamng to be able to get my desktop back

    My PC is
    Ryzen 3600
    AMD Vega 64 8gb (Latest AMD drivers)
    B450M motherboard

    RDR2 plays fine as it also uses Vulcan, so im assuming its just a bug
     
  7. Car_Killer

    Car_Killer
    Expand Collapse
    QA / Mod Support
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,296
    Could you attach Vulkan Safe mode logs? It might help us a lot :)
     
  8. Krt3k

    Krt3k
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    29
  9. avz7

    avz7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    I'm getting a black screen and a crash after a few seconds with the error 0x0000001.
    So far, I've
    - Started the game in safe mode
    - Updated the graphics and CPU drives
    - Changed the display settings to windowed mode
    - Renamed/removed the user folder
    - Cleaned cache

    However, nothing changes. It always crashes the same way.
    My specs are -
    Intel i5-7300HQ
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti 4GB (mobile)
    8GB RAM

    Attaching the logs with the Vulkan safe mode run here. Any idea how to fix this? I really want to play with more AI drivers.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  10. avz7

    avz7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Don't know if this would be helpful but I also noticed that there are a couple of extra errors related to Vulkan if I changed the user folder to an empty directory. Here are the safe mode logs for that.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  11. bot9ra

    bot9ra
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Also, GPU wait time doesnt work when fps below 60
    upload_2021-7-18_19-57-55.png
     
  12. obl

    obl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Everyone,

    Just to report that with Vulkan, fire does not appear at all. Is anyone experiencing the same issue?

    Cheers.
     
  13. Car_Killer

    Car_Killer
    Expand Collapse
    QA / Mod Support
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,296
    Hello!
    With a new hotfix, we've released stability updates for Vulkan API.
    The new update also contains a fix for borderless mode.
    Feel free to feed us with the results of new tests. As usual, before reporting an issue check the first post.
    Also, we are aware of the worse GPU performance of Vulkan API with this update.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. obl

    obl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2021
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for the constant and frequent updates! Fire is still not showing for me on the latest update (0.23.3) using Vulkan.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. robert357

    robert357
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    348
    I loaded ETK map and I get ~60 FPS on Vulkan with some hiccups. Nice improvements. I didn't even found any graphic glitches. Only particles were missing (water splashes, smoke, dust, fire etc). However when I loaded this map second time in safe mode with Vulcan... I get ~12 FPS. I again loaded game in just Vulcan (without safe mode) and again - 60FPS. Still less than on DirectX but more stable.

    On WCUSA performance is worse than before. I have barely 2FPS. On second loading however graphic glitches didn't occurred.
    vulkan.png

    I manage so far load WCUSA only in Vulcan without safe mode. Every other time game will froze on loading screen (sometimes in the middle, sometimes at the end). I waited several minutes and it didn't finish the loading.

    Finally I loaded Gridmap. Like on WCUSA there were graphical glitches on the first loading. They go away when I loaded map second time. Unlike like WCUSA I have 80-100FPS here but still less than on DirectX (max to 150FPS) but on Vulcan FPS is more stable.
     
  16. avz7

    avz7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    I tested out the 0.23.3 update on my system (Win 10/1050 Ti Mobile/i5-7300HQ/8 GB RAM). It's still crashing with a black window after a few seconds like before.
    After cleaning the cache, the first launch always crashes with STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION.
    All subsequent launches always crash with 0x00000001.
    (This behavior happened before the update too)
    I've attached the logs for both here. The Vulkan errors that were there in the logs before the update are missing now but the crash still happens the same way.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Car_Killer

    Car_Killer
    Expand Collapse
    QA / Mod Support
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,296
    I've forwarded your logs.

    Low performance on VK Safe mode is normal since its collecting much more debug data.

    Unfortunately, I'm unable to reproduce your graphics glitches, it seems to be related to Kepler series of NVIDIA GPUs.

    I'll test it, thanks for the report.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. alexelcaza

    alexelcaza
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    well now it loads levels much faster and fps are as good as dx11 but textures and models dont really load

    vulkan safe mode does start now but its just as broken

    upload_2021-7-19_14-23-0.png
     
  19. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    4,310
    First impressions:
    • FPS stayed the same as normal.
    • Fire is invisible, explosions too. Actually seems like all particles are invisible.
    • Popped a tire and this happened (doesn't happen in normal mode). Every time I do this the car becomes a stretched mess.
      sdawd.png
    • When driving vehicles that have triggers, I noticed some FPS drops.
    • Then dropped the Pigeon from a height and this happened:
      asddsasdawd.png
    • And then the game crashed. Crash log didn't even register the crash. So basically, this renderer doesn't like mesh breakage at all.
    • Tried to load West Coast USA, game froze on exiting loading screen and crashed. Again the log says nothing about this. The last thing it metions is exiting loading screen. I can't load WCUSA at all.
    • Trying with traffic on East Coast. FPS is like 3 times lower than normal, but the UI works way faster for some reason.
    • Deleted 1 traffic car, FPS improved a lot but still not to the point where it is with normal renderer. Deleted another and it's back to normal.
    • This happened when I crashed the hero bus:
      daawdasd.png
    • And unsurprisingly the game crashed shortly after. The logs seem to be frozen at the time when I spawned the bus, nothing after is registered. So there is no point in even attaching them.
    Overall: Everything stretches when you break mesh (and then sometimes game crashes), West Coast won't load, no particles and a bit less FPS, logs don't seem to work properly.
     
  20. Tsutarja495

    Tsutarja495
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    The Vulkan renderer is an extremely promising prospect in terms of squeezing more performance out of this game. That being said...

    The issue I've noticed (video attached): Significantly worse FPS in borderless mode compared to fullscreen. FPS never seems to break 30 in borderless mode, and in my testing (WCUSA with 12 traffic cars), FPS varied between 20 and 30 depending on how many cars were on screen. In contrast, in fullscreen mode, FPS practically doubled, varying between 40 and 60.

    This happens when: Borderless mode is enabled.

    My specs are: Windows 10 build 19042.1110, AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 3.6 GHz, Sapphire Pulse RX 5600 XT, driver version 27.20.21002.112
     

    Attached Files:

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice