WIP Volvo C30 R (updated 26.9.2015)

Discussion in 'Land' started by AxelWal, Sep 20, 2015.

1. AxelWal

AxelWal
    Expand Collapse

[WIP] Volvo C30 R

My first proper attempt at making a car for beamng. I decided to make Volvo C30 R because I own this particular vehicle, I know the car thoroughly and I have all the reference material that i will ever need.

I'm aiming to make the frame match the real structure of the real car as closely as possible. Only modification is that I will make this car have double-wishbone setup in the front and rear. Normally Volvo C30 has a Mac'phersons structure in the front, and some basic boring independent susp. in the back. I also plan on making some different engine setups, like 1.8l, 2,5l T5, and around 350hp tuned version. And maybe a version that has the original suspension setup.

This project might take some time as I'm studying and working at the same time.. I'm doing this because I want to learn more about inner bodywork, structures and crumble-zones.

As you can see in the attachments I already have done most of the main structure of the car. I also had some time to start working on the front suspension and engine -area.

Next I will probably work on separating the different beams and nodes to groups and tweak their settings depending if the particular part is boron-steel, high/mid-strength steel or just surface plates.

wip1.PNG

Ps: I love this game. :eek:

UPDATE 1:

Today I worked on optimizing the chassis jbeam and matching it better with the real car structure. I also had time to finish the front suspension, I changed the geometry a bit from the original plan. NOT the best possible geometry in the world, but still hopefully better than the original. :rolleyes: (C30 with the R-pack suspension actually has surprisingly good handling as stock) Also mesh is now in game, I still don't know how to texture/materialise it correctly, but atleast it shows up in the game.