Released Tokyo's Shuto C1 Expressway

Discussion in 'Terrains, Levels, Maps' started by Ezo, Mar 4, 2019.

  1. andrzejserafin5

    andrzejserafin5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    1,075
    Very good map.
     
  2. youdidwhat!!

    youdidwhat!!
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    718
    where was this map hiding lol , how have i not found it
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. cardriver96

    cardriver96
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    how's the map working for you guys right now? Is it still laggy? I hope the OP updates it with lights and whatnot.
     
  4. andrzejserafin5

    andrzejserafin5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    1,075
    No,it's not laggy on my PC.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. cardriver96

    cardriver96
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Does the AI work by the way?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. andrzejserafin5

    andrzejserafin5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    1,075
    No it doesn't work.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Moe From Moe's Tavern

    Moe From Moe's Tavern
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2020
    Messages:
    29
    i like this
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  8. themikepeng

    themikepeng
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    I'm in the process of implementing an AI route for this map. So far I've added waypoints around half of the big loop, and I can get cars to spawn and drive correctly with the traffic AI. But for some reason, the bus won't respawn when using traffic? It'll follow the waypoints correctly, but won't respawn when it gets out of sight like the traffic is supposed to. The bus works just fine in traffic on other maps. Any ideas why a particular vehicle won't respawn on a particular map? (Should I create a new topic for this?)
    Edit: I'm talking about the Wentward DT40L bus.
     
    #48 themikepeng, Aug 26, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2020
    • Like Like x 4
  9. cardriver96

    cardriver96
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    I've noticed something similar with some cars as well although I have not been able to pinpoint the root cause of the issue. Might be a conflict with one of the mods if you have them enabled. In my case, there is usually one vehicle that doesn't show up when using the traffic function, however, the bus works fine for me.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. ab_got_2007

    ab_got_2007
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2020
    Messages:
    42
    im pretty suprised to see that this map is still going!! yall adding trafffiiccc system now which is pretty impresive!
    Edit: could you also please make it so when its night time lights turn on so you can see? it would be much appreciated!!
     
    #50 ab_got_2007, Sep 6, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  11. goku11

    goku11
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    This looks amazing. I'd have liked to have the Bayshore route as well, but I don't mind having just C1.
     
  12. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    336
    My only complaints about this map are VERY minor (i.e. not really worth complaining about). As for it being laggy, it really isn't. For me anyways. I've got a pretty beefy PC though. It feels like a Gran Turismo track (and that's a good thing). Overall, awesome map.
     
  13. DiRF

    DiRF
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    I'm not a level designer/builder myself, but based on posts from those who are, I believe that would be an enormously monumental undertaking for the mod-maker.
     
  14. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    336
    You'd likely need lua to do it, and with the right knowledge doing so should not be TOO difficult. The hard part would be finding how to use lua to do that I'd think. Well, you'd also need entities of some sort on each light to be activated by the lua. This is something I could do pretty easily in Garry's Mod with Hammer + Lua, but no idea how you'd do it in Beam, but I suspect the concept would be similar.
     
  15. shortlildyl

    shortlildyl
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    when i get this mod do i put it in the mods folder?
     
  16. kicars7

    kicars7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    100
    Mods, then put it in repo like any other mod.
     
  17. HiSpdMgcnLady

    HiSpdMgcnLady
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I have this map on Assetto Corsa and loved it there then I found out it's been more or less ported/remade for BeamNG so I had to download it and I am not disappointed at all. Sure it took a little bit to load in for the first time but after that my loading times have gotten better and more consistent and I get steady FPS through the whole map.

    However, I would like to see the Shinkanjou, Wangan, Yokohama, and Yokohane routes in the future as the games code and physics gets more optimized to allow for larger and larger maps but for now I'm gonna just build some C1 Loop runners and enjoy the C1. :D
     
  18. kicars7

    kicars7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    100
    It's most likley if you staight imported those maps it would be too much for Beam.ng Drive because it doesn't optimize the map to handle well so I don't think you can unless someone makes it from the ground up.
     
  19. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,728
    The reason folks have issues running this map on anything but the latest (2017 or newer) 4ghz (or higher) processors, is due to draw calls on the DX 11 holding up the rest of the works. Draw calls are the CPU telling the GPU what to render. If the UV faces aren't stitched together (where like textures are used) or duplicated perfectly when used in more than one spot, you'll naturally have very high draw calls.

    Splitting this mesh up is actually not that difficult. First, you want to backup your main model, save a copy somewhere or choose 'save as' in your modeling program of choice to make a new file out of it with your main city model.
    Then proceed to chop (but not yet delete) portions of the map up, into puzzle pieces, except with as straight lines as you can get them.
    Now when you have the model divided up in grid-like lines, you can then proceed to make as many copies as you have grid squares. If you made the model chopped in 3 different places on the X and Y directions, you'll have a model with 16 parts essentially. So you'll want to first make four copies and select everything but one square on each of those copies and delete the excess faces, while still keeping the full object to the side so you can use parts later - leaving you on each model with a different square of the city map. Now proceed to make more and more copies of your main full model, cutting each one down into it's own square, so they all eventually are done and can fit together. Make sure to then center your origins (movement handles) on the objects otherwise the game won't know if they're visible at the right time or not (as that works off the object origin), and export each 'finished' piece with it's own name.

    When you make the collision models and LOD's for these models, you don't need textures on your buildings in lower LOD forms, just leave them flat-shaded grey, silver, whatever building colors should look like that. Make sure to leave the road a little more detailed as that's where the player's focus is, but keep in mind, you can't see signs or road markings from a mile away. When doing the collision, expand the edges past the visible edge a little bit and use tapered edges (the game's bridges do this in most maps here on BeamNG, to prevent it eating tires from a hard edge when the vehicle slides). Curb faces and narrow building details also cause issues with the collision meshes as they are often narrow faces. Long slender triangles eat tires. Remove excess vertices and also re-shape your collision meshes (for example, curbing can extend down through the ground a foot or two, even on a bridge, without bothering anything or breaking immersion, which widens the collision triangles/faces), so that the players are less likely to get stuck. Collision faces which face into the object in-stead of outward towards the player, will suck the vehicle in, as will very thin surfaces thinner than a guide rail is, or double-sided surfaces when hit hard enough. For this reason we don't put collision on road signs and try to avoid it with tiny plants as they often get the car stuck. You never want the vehicle unintentionally stuck or damaged, as this ruins the fun and breaks immersion.
    The simpler the collision mesh is, the easier it is on borderline older processors to run the map, especially with more vehicles on it.

    I hope some of this aids you in your quest.
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. baarry5444

    baarry5444
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Keep in mind that this map mod was created for BeamNG over a year ago. So while it still works in the latest version, it's unlikely to receive any further updates or optimizations. Just saying.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice