This guy tried to scam me

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic' started by henryjhost, May 3, 2018.

1. henryjhost

henryjhost
    Expand Collapse

So I have a car detailing business that I run out of my parent's garage. Today I get a text...

Him: Greetings this is John Smith(Not actual name) i will like to know if you are available for car wash and detailing.

Me: I will be available this weekend. Let me know what time and day. Anytime before 6:00 pm would be great since it will take 3-4 hours.

Him: Sounds good, how much do you charge per (2013 Chevrolet Express Cargo Van 1500 Regular Wheelbase RWD) for the full detailing and full interior and exterior wash service?

Me: $60

Him: How many days will you take to get 5 vehicles done? Okay I have a private driver that will deliver those vehicles down to your shop and pick them up when you are done too. How many days will you take to get 5 vehicles done?

Me: I'm a student that works out of his parents garage but I could do 1-2 vans a day for 4 hours a van. I could probably do 3 vans a weekend for 2 weekends.

Him: Perfect get me the estimate for the 5 vehicles so that I can be able to make payment with my card okay.

Me: It will be $300. Could you pay check? If not let me know.

Him: I won't be able to make a check payment due to my current health condition and presently out of town for my surgery reasons. So I hope you accept credit card as a method of payment?

Me: I should be able to. My phone is dying. I will get back to you at 5:00 after school.

Him: Okay good. But before we proceed i would also like to know the name of your credit card merchant processor which you will be charging my credit card on?

Me: Square. At school got to go.

*4:00*
    Him: Good day. Are you still at school?

*5:00*
    Me: Just got back. Had cross country practice. Do you have any other questions?

Him: Also i will be needing a little favor from you regarding the private driver who will be bringing those vehicles to your place.