Experimental The CrashHard 8x8 BigRig Truck (Bug Reporting) 1.1.6

Big heavy 8x8 truck with lots of detachable parts

  1. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    No, it is a problem in mod I think, let's see if we can figure out what is causing this:
    upload_2019-11-26_18-38-58.png

    As your mod has only materials.cs, game creates main.materials.json in %beamngDocuments%/vehicles/CH_bigrig folder.

    It has lines like this
    "semi_cab" : {
    "name" : "semi_cab",
    "mapTo" : "semi_cab",

    Also like this:
    "semi_mudflap" : {
    "name" : "semi_mudflap",
    "mapTo" : "semi_mudflap",
    "class" : "Material",
    "persistentId" : "3012df7c-6bab-498b-af0f-74d8d2a6d134",
    "Stages" : [
    {
    "diffuseColor" : [ 0.5882353186607361, 0.5882353186607361, 0.5882353186607361, 1 ],
    "specular" : [ 0, 0, 0, 1 ],
    "specularPower" : 9.999999046325684
    },
    {},
    {},
    {}
    ],
    "translucentBlendOp" : "None"
    }

    So something there makes things go berserk then, not sure if it is .dae files where game reads all those definitions.

    main.materials.json is annoying there that missing or having one extra , makes it fail, so creating one is frustrating at least at first.

    I'm not too familiar with the new system, but I have figured out some bits while doing little map project when I happen to have little freetime. It is manageable, just have to remember to not have , at last line of section, but have to have , at end of other lines.

    This line loads texture in new materials file:
    "colorMap" : "texturename",

    I'm not sure if you need to make new type materials file or if you need to make sure there are not semi materials assigned to any of the models, those are what comes to my mind.

    Why thing works then for you, probably you might have some materials file in path that creates different mappings or you have texture files which are not part of the mod, but it can get pretty confusing and is way above my head for sure why this happens, can only make some guesses.

    Update:
    There is semi.dae in mod's zip, is that needed?:
    upload_2019-11-26_19-9-7.png
    --- Post updated ---
    Ah, I'm super stupid, but I think I did manage to fix your mod:
    upload_2019-11-26_19-13-44.png

    I did delete semi.dae from mod's folder, repacked as .zip, then removed CH_bigrig folder from BeamngDocuments/vehicles/ as well as from cache and after that it works.

    Also main.materials.json that is created after first load of vehicle, is no longer containing semi mudflap materials or other semi materials.

    So problem must be that semi.dae in mod's .zip file.

    However anyone that has got texture issue must remove CH_bigrig folder from BeamngDocuments/vehicles/ or offending main.materials.json will continue causing issues, I doubt clearing cache will clear that folder.
     
    #341 fufsgfen, Nov 26, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2019
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. CrashHard

    CrashHard
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,389
    I just deleted the semi.dae file in the mod zip, but I do not have a folder in the documents area, I think I have deleted that when I was done updateing the mod in the zip file, Before I uploaded the updated mod to this webpage.
    But anyway, it is now awaiting approval on the mod section, hope this fixes it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. CrashHard

    CrashHard
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,389
  4. ForceablePizza

    ForceablePizza
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    #344 ForceablePizza, Nov 26, 2019
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2019
    • Like Like x 1
  5. ast5515

    ast5515
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    219
    What kind of witchcraft is installed in your PC to make this run at 60 FPS? I have the i7 5820K and the RTX 2070 and I get (drumroll please) an average FPS of 20 with this :D
     
  6. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    It is called single core performance, 101fps with stock clocks and I have little extra things at gridmap to kill some of the fps:
    upload_2019-11-29_0-28-41.png
     
  7. ast5515

    ast5515
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    219
    I'm guessing you don't have simplified collision physics turned on.
    I'm also running stock clocks and it's a 5 year old 6 core CPU. It was never meant for single core stuff. I might overclock it eventually.
     
  8. JowoX90

    JowoX90
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    633
    jesus dude that's godly, im gonna make sure my next cpu has higher single core performance just for beam
     
  9. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    I guess you could get Ryzen 3xxx series upgrade quite cheap as it should plug in to your motherboard unless I'm mistaken.

    Thing to be aware is clock speed when there is more cores loaded, for example my CPU is advertised with 5Ghz while 4.3Ghz is what I get with stock clocks when playing BeamNG, so do research of how clock speed behaves, Ryzen 3xxx models should be pretty close in single core performance what I have heard and when you sell your current Ryzen 5 it should be quite low cost upgrade.

    There are really lot of games that still benefit from single core performance, but also more cores is good too, would love to have both, but usually more cores means less clock speed and with similar IPC that means less single core performance.

    This truck is extreme case even in BeamNG for single core performance need, so difference in performance might look bit more than what you get with typical gaming with this game, however running higher framerates one core is what seems to become a limit first with gtx1080 at least.

    Keeping fps at 60 requires less single core performance compared to 120fps and FFB likes from 120fps, so you need to evaluate your use case to know if you are going to need more cores or more clock speed.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. NeoSlx

    NeoSlx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    209
    The tarp config or whatever it's called runs atrociously. I have a pretty good GFX card so its pretty unexpected, considering I usually run with the other configs at 120 FPS
     
  11. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    Truck physics runs on single core of CPU, if you observe your CPU load for each core you can likely see that you are hitting limits of your CPU there.
     
  12. NeoSlx

    NeoSlx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    209
    Ok but how does that help
     
  13. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    There is limits, this truck is experimental in how complex truck can be made, considering that complexity it runs pretty well, but even with fastest of CPUs it is not going to perform as well as T75.
     
  14. CrashHard

    CrashHard
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,389

    (This is a very heavy mod to run, almost every part of the truck have its own J-beam structure, and they all collide with each other. And remember one vehicle will only use one of your CPU Cores)

    ALL THIS IS RUNNING ON ONE CORE OF YOUR CPU, It have nothing to do with your GPU

    Run it in 2x slowmotion, that gives you more frames.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. NewtonASDF

    NewtonASDF
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Just use the weight. 2600x and 1660 ti gets 50-60+ (i use vsync) with two of them.
    My only gripe with this mod is that the glass reflects the ground, making cab view nauseating at best.
    20191206191215_1.jpg
     
    #355 NewtonASDF, Dec 7, 2019
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2019
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. CrashHard

    CrashHard
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,389
    Hm, i guess the glass can be fixed at some point.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. Crazy Killer

    Crazy Killer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2018
    Messages:
    664
    Hmmm... i see the semi.DAE that ruined the T-series mudflaps, but this bug still exists; the T-series glass transparency is ruined when this BigRig spawned first.
    Some pictures:
    screenshot_2019-12-07_19-50-36.png screenshot_2019-12-07_19-50-46.png screenshot_2019-12-07_19-50-55.png screenshot_2019-12-07_19-51-02.png screenshot_2019-12-07_19-51-09.png screenshot_2019-12-07_19-53-25.png
     
  18. RandomCoder11

    RandomCoder11
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    I would love it if the big rig had a tow hitch.
     
  19. andrzejserafin5

    andrzejserafin5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2020
    Messages:
    1,059
    Nice,It Looks Like Polish Military "Jelcz" Truck.
     
  20. B3_Burner

    B3_Burner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Messages:
    397
    I only saw one person make reference to this, so I'm going to share my findings with this truck-- having run it for the first time yesterday (13 July 2020):

    1. Turn off Shadows (or decrease the shadow texture down from 1028 to either 512, or even 256)

    2. You're going to hate me for saying this... but check that "Simplify Physics" box. Yeah, yeah.... I know.... nobody ever wants to touch that box because it goes against every single basic instinct that this game stands for! But... hear me out for just a second. If ever there was a situation that is screaming for the S.P. checkbox, it's this one. What's more, 'Simplify Physic's removes the truck's ability to collide with other vehicles, but trees, buildings, K-rails... anything not a vehicle... all bets are still on and it will tear that cab apart... so what I'm saying is that all is not lost.

    I've never really understood what cores are... and I have 12 [correction: 6] of them, but I suppose "so the heck what?" Apparently the creator has said a car's CPU demand can only be carried by one core, and not shared across several. I have no idea why... but if that's the case, and you don't have the bank for a high single core computer, then take the plunge and hit that button... even if it's only needed for that one truck.

    I had shadows and crash physics normal, and on the dirt double figure 8 track at Derby USA, I was getting 25 fps, but turned off shadows and applied simple crash physics, and my rate jumped up to 120 fps. I think that's a very small sacrifice to make if you don't want lag. Or if realism is more your preference, and you can live with the lag, then disregard what I say, and do that.

    One other thing I notice is if you're tooling along slowly in it, and not really bouncing the parts around ferociously, the frames are higher than if you're bouncing the tires, suspension, etc. around all over the place. The faster you drive this thing... the lower the rates. The Derby figure 8 track was actually rather hard on the truck, and it didn't really like it. I was averaging 60 to 70 fps, just creeping along slowly, 25 fps when I got up over 45 mph-- bouncing and leaning left and right through curves.

    EDIT: Disregard below. Figured it out myself.
    [strikethrough]And final thing.... how do I rate the truck? I wanted to give it five stars, but I don't see any place where it will let me. Went to the ratings tab just saw other people's... no place to put my own. Oh well... let it be known for the record that I dig the truck, and appreciate the author's efforts.[/strikethrough]
     
    #360 B3_Burner, Jul 14, 2020
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2020
    • Like Like x 4
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice