1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.23 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Supposed poor AMD Optimization

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by P_enta, Aug 19, 2021.

  1. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,831
    I know im in the minority but the performance on my Rx6800XT 16GB in this game truly is disappointing. There are some situations where my old 1060 6GB out preforms this GPU. Obviously, nobody uses AMD cards because they've sucked until the past 2-3 years, but the performance I'm getting is pretty crap.

    I'm 99% sure it's a draw call bottleneck, which is very apparent in Italy and wcusa. I'll be getting hundreds of frames until I hit a highly-populated area and it tanks to 30-40. I run on ultra at 3440x1440 and temps are fine, and the problem doesn't really go away even with mesh quality on low. On my 1060 6, it was basically a steady 60 frames the entire time. This is pretty bad considering that this graphics card is as powerful as an RTX 3080 and the 3080 outperforms this GPU by leaps and bounds in this game. I don't have this problem with any other game, I can run everything else on max settings and get hundreds of frames. Obviously, game optimization is very difficult and it doesn't make sense to dump a bunch of resources into a minority of the userbase, but if something could be done or explained that would be great. This is just me speculating I have absolutely no idea what's really going on behind the scenes. I suppose Vulkan is the fix for this? though I still have the same problem on the beta version of it currently.
     
  2. Tsutarja495

    Tsutarja495
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    771
    +1, noticed this as well on my RX 5600 XT. I don't have a point of comparison but I noticed that I sometimes struggle to break 40 FPS in certain areas of WCUSA and Italy.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    Drawcall bottleneck usually is because of single core CPU maxing out, but it can be that AMD GPU driver makes each drawcall to be lot more computations than NVidia driver, which of course would lead to issue.

    I have seen AMD card users having lot of these problems though with this game, so indeed solution would be nice even I don't have AMD card, I hate it when people can't enjoy great game as that reduces potential maximum happiness on the planet :D

    If Vulkan has same issue, then I'm not sure if it is drawcall issue as with Vulkan drawcalls are different at least what impression I have about them.

    So another possibility could be some shader getting just everything chocked up when enough many uses of such shader happening.

    Way this issue happens though, it can be very tricky to find out what actually is causing it, there is performance graphing tool in game, maybe you can find out something new by looking what happens with graphs when slowdown of fps happens?
    You need to have advanced features enabled for that, but then just click three bars (performance) and you should see graphs flying around (this is example of CPU limited situation, lowest graphics were used):
    upload_2021-8-19_11-31-46.png

    Also if you hover over graph there was more info, pausing physics with J might also do something interesting or then not, but that tool and posting high fps and low fps situation screenshots where it is easily readable might help developers.
     
  4. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,831
    Will do. Dont take my word for it because I truly have no idea whats going on back there haha
    --- Post updated ---


    Yeah no single core ever goes above 70% and its only ever those top two. Interestingly GPU usage will go from 20% all the way to 100% almost like its throttling, but the temperatures are great. Honestly have no idea whats happening but most likely there's something that can be done game engine wise to help this problem.
     
  5. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    Well that is interesting information, how about GPU clock speeds, do they go down while GPU usage goes to 100% or do they stay up?

    There is several possibilities for all that to happen of course, for example if some memory bandwidth would get used up artificially, you could see drop in usage and possibly even clock speed, but I think that with HWinfo you can get memory bandwidths on screen too, not sure if Afterburner itself had them.

    Sometimes there has been bug in drivers so that some instruction of game engine has caused very high GPU usage and low fps, I guess that can happen.

    Also I noticed that Avast sometimes acts up on Ryzen machine, makes game run really poorly like 13fps with just 24 D15 or so, modern day software has way too much automation, but I think in your case it has to be some graphics engine call / driver bug.
     
  6. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,831
    It could be. Gpu clock speeds are at a steady 2.2 ghz with vram steady at 2.15 while playing with no dips. Vram is nowhere close to being used up. Im using 3200mhz memory so I suppose 3600mhz could make a difference? though I'm pretty sure its negligible. Its probably just the drivers.
     
  7. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    Between fast 2666Mhz and 3600Mhz, there is difference, sure, but I would say it is kinda difficult to actually notice that in practice as difference can be certainly measured, but not so much experienced I think.

    At least my experience from both and if 3600Mhz goes up in latency difference vanishes to thin air, I guess there too one has to have both to get fast performance.

    Hopefully some update fixes the issue though, but in past AMD has not been quite well responsive to small developers, can't remember which game it was where developers didn't get them to reply at all, so developer just dropped support for AMD cards, well that was long time ago.
     
  8. Keemo

    Keemo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    I have an RX 570 4GB, and performance is really worse than Nvidia. My friend has an GTX 1050 Ti, and the game feels smoother, better overall frames. I've got more RAM, faster CPU (single and multi core), faster storage. I only fall behind in BeamNG.Drive and GTA V (also favors Nvidia cards, even worse than Beam).
     
  9. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,831
    Yeah I also experience horrible frame drops in gtav. will be getting 120 fps one second and 20 the next.
     
  10. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,831
    Is there any update on this? I struggle to get 60 frames per second on some maps with an 800 dollar graphics card, and even when I do it stutters like mad. This game is from a decade ago.
     
  11. Alieu

    Alieu
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,113
    agree, rx 580 4gb struggles in some areas
     
  12. Greeniac

    Greeniac
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    maybe vulkan will fix it
     
  13. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,831
    nope. Still performs like this on Vulcan.
     
  14. ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet

    ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,516
    To be honest, even I with a decent gaming pc have been getting drawcall issues as of late. On italy and west coast, it appears that I can get 80-100fps, but I get low spots and tiny little lag spikes of 40fps.
    Seems like its time for a bit of optimization again.
    my specs:
    upload_2021-10-17_10-14-19.png
    Along with a 1660 Super
    dont shit on me for a prebuilt, building a PC is a pain in the ass these days. and this only cost like 800 bucks on sale.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,831
    Forcing my clock speed between 2000-2200mhz has helped but there’s still lots of microstuttering and it’s extremely apparent
     
  16. SKB

    SKB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,489
    hmm, guess theres only one solution to this.

    Switch to Nvidia graphics cards. :trollface:;)
     
  17. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,831
    This is the only game I have issues with. Even the problems in GTA V have been fixed by now
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet

    ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,516
    This. The microstuttering is very annoying.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    Core enchancement off and CPU runs only at 3700Mhz max, then high performance power profile on, that has helped a lot with microthings for me and with some other games too as clock speed is then pretty much solidly 3700Mhz.

    Then again, with old slow Nvidia card I have not had as much issues as with guys with powerful AMD cards, so could it be that GPU clocks need to be set locked to something in order to get ok performance?

    So is the problem then too much optimization and too much energy efficiency? Probably not as simple as that.

    Then again, difference between 4.8Ghz to 3.7Ghz seems to be quite small in practice, there are very little short moments where I miss 4.8Ghz, but as 5900X is still as fast as stock 8th gen i7 even with 3.7Ghz it is not so bad, also CPU temp never reaches 50C and most of the time AIO fans are at 0rpm, it is insanely low heat CPU when restricted like that.
     
  20. CatAstrophe05

    CatAstrophe05
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2020
    Messages:
    160
    i have a ryzen 5 2600x and an 8gb rx 570 and yet a smooth 60 is barely reachable on some of the remastered maps on medium settings, that's before we even get started on wcusa
     
    • Like Like x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice