On Hold [Somewhat outdated] MAN TGS Euro 6

Discussion in 'Land' started by MRcrash, Oct 27, 2018.

Tags:
  1. MRcrash

    MRcrash
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,231
    screenshot_2021-10-08_21-33-27.png
     
    • Like Like x 39
  2. AmtrakSurflinerF59-PHI

    AmtrakSurflinerF59-PHI
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Rembol

    Rembol
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2021
    Messages:
    42
  4. KaanNecip

    KaanNecip
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    151
  5. P1GZCUT3

    P1GZCUT3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 23, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Cant wait
    till it comes out!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Blue Bird Gaming

    Blue Bird Gaming
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Messages:
    795
    It is already out on the first page.
    We are only waiting on the next update
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 2
  7. mikeyjbartlett 2

    mikeyjbartlett 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    So, MrCrash

    I've spoken to you in the past about this mod as I drive these vehicles on a daily basis.

    I've had a little play and decided to make the gearbox act more realistic. MAN gearboxes are actually manual gearboxes that are controlled automatically, not the usual torque converter automatic.

    Here is the engine jbeam for anyone who wants to have a play. To use, unpack the mod and replace the jbeam in the file and let me know.

    I've added delays to the gear changes that makes it feel more "manual" automatic. Let me know if anyone gets any problems!
     

    Attached Files:

    #2947 mikeyjbartlett 2, Oct 13, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2021
    • Like Like x 3
  8. RenAzuma66

    RenAzuma66
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1,019
    Well...we've actually added this in our version that hasnt released yet with the new update. It had a torque converter because there is no real automated manual logic in the game and this is the best we can do without a completely new gearbox lua (which I will look into), but so far it works pretty good

    Edit: I've looked into yours and it acts pretty much the same. I only wish it could shift several gears at a time which is why I wanna look into the custom lua, maybe i can figure something out withi t
     
    #2948 RenAzuma66, Oct 13, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2021
    • Like Like x 1
  9. mikeyjbartlett 2

    mikeyjbartlett 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    I've added the mod in the repo, as I've also locked the torque converter to prevent slip (again, gives it a more realistic clutch feeling)

    I've quoted both you and MrCrash for the assistance in the discord thread about jbeam'ing :)

    I know the mod will be obsolete once the new version is released however it gives the old mod a little more spring of life!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. default0.0player

    default0.0player
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,650
    BTW did you drive my automated manual gearbox mod for the T-Series? If it feels like the real one you can implement it into the MAN mod.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. RenAzuma66

    RenAzuma66
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1,019
    Anyone fancy some nerdy random numbers?
    upload_2021-10-17_16-33-28.png upload_2021-10-17_16-33-55.png
     
    • Like Like x 4
  12. default0.0player

    default0.0player
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,650
    The PROFI has problem, I downloaded and read the file. I found that
    Code:
            "lowShiftDownRPM":900,
            "lowShiftUpRPM":950,
            "highShiftDownRPM":900,
            "highShiftUpRPM":1750
    These lines definitely has problem. When the throttle is low, upshifting at 950 RPM, after shifting the engine RPM is lower than 900 RPM, it'll downshift again, then after downshift the engine RPM will be higher than 950, then it'll upshift/downshift back and forth. For example if the next gear ratio is 1.00 and the previous gear ratio is 1.38, and the shift down RPM is 900. The shift up RPM of the previous gear MUST be HIGHER than 1242 RPM to prevent shifting back and forth.
     
  13. RenAzuma66

    RenAzuma66
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1,019
    Yeah I've already fixed that bit. It works as intended now
     
  14. DaddelZeit

    DaddelZeit
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    Messages:
    3,041
    how
    just how
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
  15. mikeyjbartlett 2

    mikeyjbartlett 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Yeah I was finding issues climbing hills across the range of gearboxes too, fully loaded.

    will have a tweak and a look, the gearboxes usually short shift if only lightly applying the accelerator (in real life) so I was trying to mimic that a little, the engine should idle at about 600rpm anyway. I’ll tweak and speak to alexthegamer and we can work out a proper shifting pattern!

    If you want we can set up a discord thread and have a nice direct input into it all?
     
  16. noob102030

    noob102030
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Hi, please help me. When I spawn a truck, only the body appears without a cab, bumper. What to do?
    P.s Translated in the translator, because I don't know English.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2021-10-22155018.png
  17. RenAzuma66

    RenAzuma66
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1,019
    99% a mod collission error. Please remove the mod, clear your userfolder and cache and try it with no mods. And make sure to download it from this thread because other sites could have other things in the files. I don't know what could cause that apart from broken Jbeam so try those
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. noob102030

    noob102030
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Reinstalled the mod again and everything works. Thanks!
    --- Post updated ---
    I also noticed a small bug. When the beacons are off, there is no texture on it.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2021-10-22185650.png
  19. RenAzuma66

    RenAzuma66
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    1,019
    Iirc this is a known thingie, new update should be out not that far from now so that should fix it ^^
     
    • Like Like x 7
  20. DaddelZeit

    DaddelZeit
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    Messages:
    3,041
     
    • Like Like x 11
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice