1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

RAM and BeamNG performance?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BravoNovemberZulu, Jul 7, 2022.

  1. BravoNovemberZulu

    BravoNovemberZulu
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2021
    Messages:
    46
    Yeah, I’m wondering if increasing RAM would increase frames per second for me in Beam. I get anywhere between 100 (easy map no traffic) and terrible numbers, depending on conditions. System is from 2015, Digital Storm, currently has 8 gig, could go to 16 easily.
     
  2. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,706
    It depends, does the performance tanks when you add more cars or go on a big map ? If then it could as much be ram as CPU. Open the performance graph with shift+ctrl+f and look at what component is flashing when in intense conditions; that's the bottleneck
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Zero

    Zero
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,376
    It could, and 8gb is in general on the lower end of PC gaming nowadays.
    I had random issues with freezing etc, and upgrading from 8 to 16 helped a lot.

    But to help you best, can you please post your full PC specs? (CPU and GPU)
     
  4. BravoNovemberZulu

    BravoNovemberZulu
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2021
    Messages:
    46
    Drops with several cars running and or large maps is exactly it. And there’s no reason not to bring it up to 16 anyhow.
     
  5. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,706
    Sure but better check beforehand.
     
  6. BravoNovemberZulu

    BravoNovemberZulu
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2021
    Messages:
    46
    Actually it’s flashing red CPU, Game Engine and GPU, in descending order of frequency. Driving with 3 traffic cars on the large “American Road” map (~60fps) does not use all 8 gig of ram, albeit upping it to 5 traffic cars (~25 fps) does.

    Well shoot, there’s not jack I can afford in terms of upgrading CPU or GPU rn.

    Oh yeah, system info:
    Intel Core i5-6600K CPU@3.50 gigahertz, 4 cores
    NVIDIA GEForce GTX 970.
     
  7. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,706
    So if you upgrade your ram you could theorically spawn more traffic cars.
     
  8. Zero

    Zero
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,376
    afaik 5 cars is quite high for what kind of CPU you have, I don't think you can expect that.
     
  9. BravoNovemberZulu

    BravoNovemberZulu
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2021
    Messages:
    46
    Yes sir, this build was a gift from a friend of mine in 2015, we were heavily into combat flight sims like Il-2 and DCS. Was not into and did not know about BeamNG at the time. That CPU is still more than enough for any flight sim or almost anything else in 2022, nothing else has BeamNG’s depth of physics.

    The good news is that a CPU upgrad is a little less expensive than I thought it was, as is a fairly substantial GPU upgrade.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice