Raise/disable the .dae node limit

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by Jacob Hoppe, Mar 4, 2021.

  1. Jacob Hoppe

    Jacob Hoppe
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    After trying to work on port a few racetracks to BeamNG, i found that a large portion of what i was trying to import was over the 2048 .dae nodes limit. I was wondering: is there any way to increase this limit (or better, remove it?)
     
  2. Jacob Hoppe

    Jacob Hoppe
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Bumping this, I wasn't originally going to do so but the recent Vulkan update has improved the performance of the game enough that this might be a nice feature to have
     
  3. kirbyguy22

    kirbyguy22
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    If you have that many objects in a single .DAE, you definitely need to do some manual collapsing of adjacent objects into a single node (clusters of trees, track-side objects, etc) or export to more than one .DAE, and I really recommend doing the former. Too much nodes increases drawcalls which puts more stress on the CPU (CPU sending instructions to GPU), but that also doesn't mean to collapse the entire map into one node as this affects object culling done by the engine.

    Vulkan should have less drawcall overhead but that shouldn't stop you from doing some optimization wherever possible. You're porting maps from different games which have different ways of optimizing render performance, and it's up to you, the porter, to optimize the map for the game you're porting it to. Some maps will be easier than others.

    Even the Nordschleife port that I did has less than 2048 objects even including the trees. Anything is possible! ;)
     
  4. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,831
    I can’t even get 2048 objects if I tried. The hell are you doing? If you really need it you can just export multiple .dae files, the game automatically checks each dae file for assets, you don’t need to specify anything.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice