1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

I'm stuck on 15-20 FPS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WeatheredSteel, May 25, 2015.

  1. WeatheredSteel

    WeatheredSteel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    So i'm not sure how to get a better FPS than 15-20

    specs

    Graphics: GEFORCE GTX 760 NVIDA

    RAM: 8GB

    PROCESSOR: Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz 2.39 GHz

    SYSTEM TYPE: 64-bit Operating system

    Anyone know if i'm able to play at around 40 or 60 Fps 'cause when I freeze physics my game goes to 40-60 Fps would be nice to know :)
     
  2. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,634
    Pressing J stops the physics, which is a huge thing on the processor. Your processor may not be sufficient enough to run the game.
     
  3. 1UZ-FE

    1UZ-FE
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    yeah your cpu needs to be better. Your graphics and ram seem fine. Get a quad core, and definitely stick with intel, unless you get a really really high end amd. Either way, it won't last as long and won't do threading like an Intel would.
     
  4. pickle330

    pickle330
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    183
    It must be your processor being too weak.

    If you pause the physics, the physics aren't being calculated, which takes the load off your processor, which will increase the framerate.

    If your processor's bottlenecking your GPU, the only way to fix this is to get a better one. But, you could also check to make sure your computer isn't in some sort of powersaving mode in windows and your bios. Also look to see you don't have some sort of program of malware using lots of your CPU in the background.

    Hope I could help a bit. :)
     
  5. g0tsl33p14

    g0tsl33p14
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    236
  6. WeatheredSteel

    WeatheredSteel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    ok so what I need is just a better CPU, what's a cheap one i can buy that will run with a good fps? and btw thank you for the quick reply I really appreciate the help.:)
     
  7. Zipppy

    Zipppy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    You'll likely be needing a new motherboard if you want a new processor, so add another $100-$200 to the $200+ of a new processor.


    I got the AMD FX8350 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX myself, (bash all you want about the AMD, whatever..) it's been quite a solid processor/motherboard combo over the past 2 years for me, takes overclocking really well, and I bought both for a combined $400.
     
  8. WeatheredSteel

    WeatheredSteel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Alrighty so I was looking for a new cpu to run Beamng with and was wondering if the "intel i5 4690 k" is good for this game, anyone know?
     
  9. randomshortguy

    randomshortguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    Yes. That is probably the best CPU out there for BeamNG that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. It has the single-threaded performance of an i7 4790k (at the same clock) and four strong cores. I have one, and it's great, I can run one car per core without the CPU becoming the bottleneck.
     
  10. WeatheredSteel

    WeatheredSteel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    alright thanks for your help, btw how much FPS will i get you know?
     
  11. 14ramosr

    14ramosr
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    980
    Nope, fps is affected by so many things. The temperature of your room, the direction the camera is facing, heck, even the time of day can change your fps to an extent
     
  12. mike22

    mike22
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    339
    This is true. My AMD 965 is showing it's age at this point. I was just playing the new version and some cars make the fps cap to 20 fps. It'll push cars like the Covet at around 40 fps.

    I'm still impressed this CPU can run the game decently though and it's 6 years old. His q6600 is about equal to what I have - a little less.

    The Town Course Short B is rough on my setup.
     
    #12 mike22, May 30, 2015
    Last edited: May 30, 2015
  13. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,536
    Think yourself lucky, that cpu is really slow, I can't get more than 25 fps whatever I do (not including pigeon) and pausing physics helps loads, on the CPU chart someone got 50fps ( which I really wanted ), btw if it's below 20fps you are in slow mo, with no way out!
     
  14. kruleworld

    kruleworld
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    181
    Since you need to get a new cpu and mboard anyway, have you considered trying overclock to see if you can make this one better?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice