General computer talk/advice

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by BlueScreen, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    Some CPUs are better overclockers than others, and there's no way to tell without testing them. When you buy a CPU, you might get a good overclocker or a bad one. This is often called the "silicon lottery". You're a winner if your chip overclocks well, you've lost if you can barely get past stock clocks.

    These guys buy a bunch of CPUs and manually test them to see how far they can go while staying stable and cool. Then they sell the good overclockers for very high prices, and the bad ones for slightly cheaper than the base price.

    If you buy, say, a 4690K rated for 4.8 GHz, you can be sure it will be stable at that clock speed. It will probably cost you somewhere around $400 which is a whole lot more to pay, so IMO it's not worth it unless you're very serious on overclocking. And hey, who knows, you might get a great overclocker straight from Intel for the base price.
     
  2. pillojon106

    pillojon106
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Oh ok thank you
     
  3. RoRlover1100

    RoRlover1100
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    #723 RoRlover1100, Apr 2, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2015
  4. cameron4me

    cameron4me
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    The 750ti isn't power hungry at all, some not even requiring a power connector. It should be plenty.
     
  5. mike22

    mike22
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    339
    * looks them up *

    I never knew these existed..

    - - - Updated - - -

    Check this out..

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/power-supply-oem-manufacturer,2913-5.html

    According to that, Channel Well made the Corsair CX600M I have.

    - - - Updated - - -

    It could be too late by then.

    - - - Updated - - -

    I think it's his power supply too. I'm wondering the same thing..
     
  6. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,673
    If he opens event viewer in windows it will tell him what caused the crash if it knows. But i have a feeling the best it will be able to tell him is that the system lost power unexpectedly, possibly the power supply but no one can say with any certainty without more information.
     
  7. DWPro

    DWPro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    T420 is 15e more, but who gives a fuck about the price, it's a Thinkpad with a full metal chassis.
    Also, how capable is the HD3000, and how does it compare to a HD4000.
     
  8. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    Go for the T420. Metal laptops suck.

    Also the HD 3000 is pretty shit, still should be able to run CS:GO on mid settings 1366x768
     
  9. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    Poorly, and the HD4000 fares poorly in the first place. HD4000 will run the source engine though.
     
  10. SuperNoob05

    SuperNoob05
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,287
    My current Pc has still got warrenty till the end of 2016.
    Would it be a good idea to just buy a new PC or try to upgrade this one.

    Specs (in case it matters) :GTX 750,Gen 4 i5 4460@3.2GHZ, 8GB RAM, crappy motherborad that's made by the people that build this PC (Medion (German Company, you probably don't know it))
     
  11. DWPro

    DWPro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    I know that the HD4000 is capable of really lowend gaming firsthand, I was capable of playing CS:GO on 768p on midish settings while getting 40FPS (due laptop battery save mode)

    - - - Updated - - -

    Note I said chassis, not exterior.
    If everything goes by plan, I should be getting it around late May, when school finishes.
     
  12. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,082

    not much of an achievement, even my intel hd 2500 can run source engine games with decent settings at 720p while still being over 30 fps, in fact i usually get around 45-60 fps, sometimes even around 120 fps (haven't tested 1080p, i don't have a 1080p monitor to do so)
     
  13. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,673
    True but with Intel Integrated graphics anything is an achievement :p

    I know that on my Intel Atom powered tablet i can play track mania² stadium at a very smooth frame rate. Its also fine with many 2d games depending on how well made they are. Geometry wars 3 is fantastic on it too. So even with fairly low end Intel Integrated graphics there are still games available that play fairly well at 1280x768.
     
  14. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    You could buy a new graphics card, everything else is not really worth upgrading yet.
    You could go for a GTX 970 which would be a huge upgrade, but they're insanely expensive in Germany.
     
  15. randomshortguy

    randomshortguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    Bit of a bump, but I'd like some advice/experience

    Speaking of the GTX 970, is a 960 worth it, or is a 970 the only way to go? I'm hoping to run 60 FPS at normal settings, no AA 1080p WITH SSAO on any map.

    I'd love to get a GTX 970, but by the time it's on my doorstep, it's $550 dollars, and the 960 is only $280.
     
  16. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,082

    as long as you only plan on doing 1080p and nothing fancy, a 960 should be fine, but don't expect to do much anything else due to max 2gb vram

    you might just get a gtx 760 4gb, and then overclock it (depending on prices of course) as the only thing the 960 really has over an overclocked 760 4gb is the maxwell power and temperature improvements

    or if you can go AMD, an r9-280 (once again depending on prices) would be an even better choice, as better performance, more vram, and (at least where i live) cheaper then a 960
     
  17. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    The 960 is pretty good, but the 970 is a huge performance bump. You could also go for a 280X if your PSU can handle it.
     
  18. SuperNoob05

    SuperNoob05
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,287
    I've had what might be a dumb idea.

    So, since BeamNG needs single core performance mostly, would it be worth it to get a space heater (pentium 4)?
    It's got all the single core performance you could want, 4GHZ of it to be exact.
     
  19. Kitteh5

    Kitteh5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    You can try it..., the Old Dell has Linux Mint on it so no clue.
     
  20. Cwazywazy

    Cwazywazy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,245
    Asked my teacher if he had any spare Core 2 Duos since I broke the 2.4 in my HP by accident. Told me to take one of the HPs he had lying around. It's about a year newer than the one I had, has a 2.9GHz C2D, etc. I put in two 160GB HDDs, a DVD writer, and a 4GB DDR3 stick. Best part is that it's overclockable. (Bonus is that it has a PSU that's even smaller and is 80+. Still 240w though.)

    - - - Updated - - -

    Nope. P4 single core performance is terrible. These days 2 cores is pretty much the absolute minimum for gaming/multitasking.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice