General computer talk/advice

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by BlueScreen, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. Cwazywazy

    Cwazywazy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,245
    Mmhm. NZXT Phantom 001-WT. I got it as a gift over a year ago and I love it.
     
  2. Goose900

    Goose900
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    "

    Go into power options and set it to high performance, It mightn sound like much but with my cpu I get 30-40fps when in a normal state, but going into performance mode will put the cpu right into turbo clock speeds which greatly improves how smooth the games is played (atleast it does for me) and with what CPU I have its certainly no slouch, so I think the clockspeed will perform a huge difference in your experience if you can increase it, not sure if this is the case on AMD cpu's but for my 5930k it is, hope that helps :)
     
  3. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    Pausing physics does nothing, so it's not a CPU problem. My PC is never set for power saving anyway, I don't pay the bill :p
    It's not a GPU bottleneck either since lowering graphics settings does nothing as well.

    I'll fix it when I stop playing too much Skyrim.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Yeah, Phantoms are great. I might get a Phantom 410. Looks awesome.
     
  4. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,673
    I have a 970 and get fairly bad performance in BeamNG. According to nvidia it is a cpu bottleneck related to dx9, but people with current gen i7's have also had similar issues in some games. About 50% of people seem to find that reinstalling windows will fix the issues.

    @SoHigh , open someting like msi afterburner and see what the gpu utilisation is. If its anything like me the gpu utilisation will be around 60% and get even lower as the frame rate drops.

    Im also having an issue where gnomoria bsod's the computer after having it open for 5 mins
     
  5. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    That's most likely a driver bug. Have you tried reinstalling the drivers?

    - - - Updated - - -

    I want dis
    https://pcpartpicker.com/user/bluescreen1985/saved/2xVH99
     
  6. DrowsySam

    DrowsySam
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    956
    I'm also getting bad performance with my 970, worse than my 960 in fact. So it's something to do with BeamNG.drive not liking it, hopefully it can get sorted out.

    Oh yeah, I found two friends in my radiator, alive and well of course.
    6e484fdffe.png
     
  7. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    'straya m8

    oh wait...
     
  8. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,673
    Damn, hopefully at some point it can be fixed. Luckily the 970 has the power to brute force past the issue on most maps, but dry rock island kills the fps. East coast USA runs way more consistently though which is nice.
     
  9. VeyronEB

    VeyronEB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,539
    Hmm not sure why its so bad for you, my dry rock island and ECA run basically about the same as each other, sitting between 35-45fps at all times on max settings with postFX on.

    Just took these screenshots at the spawn point, I don't have any framerate drops anywhere at all now ever since the bridge lag issue got fixed, in fact on ECA it goes up to 50fps in some places.

    All my specs are in my signature and are all still stock clocked. And no my rig shouldn't out perform a 970 :p
     

    Attached Files:

    • screenshot_00044.jpg
    • screenshot_00045.jpg
  10. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,673
    For me dry rock island is between 25 and 60fps, It usually averages in the 50fps range. For some reason the Torque3d reacts quite badly to that sort of thing as well since it stutters at anything below 60 and tears very badly at anything above there.
     
  11. Dennis-W

    Dennis-W
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    289

    I've warned you for those corsair prefilled things...

    (imported from here)

    And I'm getting better performance in beam with my 970 than my 770, and a 770 is faster than a 960.
     
  12. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,673
    My 970 is a bit faster than my 560ti was in BeamNG. Possibly around 33%ish. But the 970 usually gets double the frame rates of the 560ti.
     
  13. vladmir poopin

    vladmir poopin
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    844
    where would i find how to do that?
     
  14. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,673
  15. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,082
    so, today i learned that my siblings laptop does not like the game Distance

    it BSOD'd while my siblings were doing LAN MP with me, so that was interesting, the last time i saw a PC BSOD was in 2004
     
  16. cameron4me

    cameron4me
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    The last time I saw a BSOD was about 3 months ago when I tried to play happy wheels on my netbook xD

    It ran at about 15FPS, just shows you how much a 5 year old Intel Atom single core can really do!
     
  17. Cwazywazy

    Cwazywazy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,245
    Overheating? The last time I saw a BSOD was earlier today. For some reason my CPU doesn't like to go higher than 5.2GHz.
     
  18. Funky7Monkey

    Funky7Monkey
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    I just finished overclocking my 8800GT (from a Mac). It has the worst fan speed curve I've ever seen. I made a new curve so that it runs cooler. I have one OC for general usage (stays under 60C), and one for BeamNG and other games (60-70C in BeamNG).[TABLE="class: grid, width: 360, align: left"]
    [TR]
    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Stock[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Standard OC[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Ingame OC[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="align: center"]Core clock:[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]600MHz[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]684MHz[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]740MHz[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD="align: center"]Memory:[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]900MHz[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]993MHz[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]1034MHz[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
     
  19. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,082

    nah, it's run FAR more intensive games for FAR longer then distance

    too lazy to find out what caused it
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice