favicon

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic' started by logoster, Feb 27, 2014.

  1. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,086
    not sure where to put this, so to be safe, ill put it in off-topic, the beamng website favicon has been replaced by the vbulliten logo, WHY?!?!?!?!?!?!??????????????????
     
  2. TechnicolorDalek

    TechnicolorDalek
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,010
    Shows as the BeamNG logo for me..
     
  3. Jack Attack

    Jack Attack
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    And for me.
     
  4. Potato

    Potato
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,149
    It's the BeamNG logo for me too.
     
  5. RedHorizon

    RedHorizon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    374
    What? I seriously have no idea what's going on. Screenshot?
     
  6. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,876
    Mine turned blue, was orange. Stayed the same on my desktop though.
     

    Attached Files:

    • image.jpg
  7. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,086
    not for me, it was fine this morning, but now it shows up as this:

    favicon.PNG
     
  8. Jack Attack

    Jack Attack
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    230
    Strange, it looks fine for me 7bOdp.png
     
  9. moosedks

    moosedks
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    mine was also like this earlier but now it's back to the beamng symbol
     
  10. stephen f

    stephen f
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    354
    same thing happened to me.
     
  11. tdev

    tdev
    Expand Collapse
    Developer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,929
    and fixed, please clear your cache to see it fixed :)
     
  12. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,086
    cleared my cache (i told it to clear it from back when i installed it) still shows up as the vbulletin logo for me
     
  13. tdev

    tdev
    Expand Collapse
    Developer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,929
    click on that one: http://www.beamng.com/favicon.ico

    if its the new one, your cache is still kickin' ;)
     
  14. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,086

    it downloads the beamng icon, however, i've now deleted my cache 11 times (and cookies once to see if that helped) but it is still the default vbulletin logo

    if needed, i use google chrome V 33.0.1750.154 m (latest according to chrome's build in updater)

    i just can't figure out what could be causing chrome to not accept the new favicon on my end
     
    #14 logoster, Mar 27, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
  15. simon48

    simon48
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    203
    I'd try clearing your "cached images and files" under "clear browsing data" in Chrome.
     
  16. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,086
    as i've said, i've cleared it 11 (well, 12 now, just did it again) times now, still nothing


    hmmm, according to the forums, tdev was viewing the thread a few moments ago, either he's writing a really really long post, or he's going to see if there's something wrong on the server side causing it to not send the favicon correctly to chrome
     
    #16 logoster, Mar 27, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
  17. simon48

    simon48
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    203
    The problem is with you, it works just fine. I'd suggest finding other settings that you can clear out and maybe manually deleting the caches. Not that it really matters that much, favicons can be a little bit fussy. Although usually if there's a problem with them the fix themselves eventually.
     
  18. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,021
    I had this problem when the thread was posted. Control-F5 was all I needed to fix it. Whatever is wrong is on your end. Control-F5 now and even switching onto my Linux VM and trying there returns the beamng icon.
     
  19. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,086
    hmmm, ctrl+F5 worked, until i restarted my pc (windows update) in which i had to re-press ctrl+F5, what exactly does it do?
     
  20. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,021
    Clears the cache for the current page and refreshes.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice