Exporting from Blender problems

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by WhoDatRudeDude, Aug 22, 2018.

Tags:
  1. WhoDatRudeDude

WhoDatRudeDude
    Expand Collapse

Hello, I'm quite new to this so I'm still trying to understand - Hoping I one day can make a lot of cool assets.
    At the moment, all I've made is a test object to see if I could make it to work. I made a traffic cone (or I tried) in Blender and following Nadeox1's tutorial on youtube on how to export it into the game. It's not showing and there is no collision either. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Attached Files:

• 1.jpg
    • 2.jpg
    • 3.jpg
    • 4.jpg
    • 5.jpg
  2. fufsgfen

fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

You have two collision meshes, but no visual mesh.

See -1 after Colmesh, that means do not render me.

Colmesh-2 is something I have not seen on other objects.

What you need is yourcone_a50.

Then when ready to export, you need to select, start00, Colmesh-1, yourcone_a50 etc. and make sure that only selection is checked in exporter options.

If you then want to have more LODs, you will set yourcone_a150, yourcone_a400 etc. Bigger the number, closer it will switch to that specific model. In theory that is width of object in pixels on screen, but in practice one just needs to experiment with the number as there are so many variables which really affects what distance object will switch to another level of detail (LOD).

There is more about LOD here:
    http://docs.garagegames.com/torque-...on/Artist Guide/Primer/torque_art_primer.html