1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.25 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Engine sounds exported from FL Studio sounds worse in BeamNG

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by angelo234, Sep 19, 2021.

  1. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Programmer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    429
    Your video tutorial actually inspired me to use FL Studio to create engine sounds (I always wanted to make them but most of the time they ended up sounding like crap lol) so thanks for that :)

    Anyways I couldn't seem to get it to sound better by adjusting those "Time stretching" parameters and other ways.

    I actually just searched for "one cylinder engine sounds" and found a video with decent audio quality and ripped a single engine firing sound from it to be the sample I use for FL Studio.



    Here is the sample I'm using from that video:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Qwvzcl8fHpNrMzRsi6s9kg7391PolAuK/view?usp=sharing

    To get the pitch to match the rpm, I first chose a random high RPM like 5000 and changed the tempo until I think it sounds like that RPM. And say you happen to find that the tempo is 200 BPM. Then you can do some linear extrapolation to figure out the BPM for other RPMs with the formula using these numbers:

    BPM = 200 / 5000 * RPM
    --- Post updated ---
    I forgot to add that I use a python script to export the sound samples because there's no way I'd be exporting 100s of samples by hand lol (If you want to use it, make sure FL Studio is in full screen mode and its meant to be used for a 1920 x 1080 monitor. Modify rpm_increment producing samples in increments of that value and modify tempo_divide_rpm to the value you guestimate as mentioned above.):

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1d96xoSg2moFkwpSVmYC6sT-RRI3BqCrg/view?usp=sharing
     
    #21 angelo234, Sep 25, 2021
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2021
  2. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    435
    as far as the tempo_divide_rpm, what do I do if I want other cylinder counts? When I usually make engine sounds each sample is usually at 0:00:09. So How do I compensate for the length?
    I also use a phasor to simulate load and off load. So how would I get it to record both sets of samples to the same folder and blend file?
    Edit: How do I get it to open once I've got python installed, since it just opens and closes in a split second?
     
    #22 FFIVGUY, Sep 25, 2021
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2021
  3. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Programmer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    429
    Okay I've now modified the python code so you don't have to do any guess work anymore and its a more proper solution. Sorry I also forgot to mention that you need to install a Python module called pyautogui.

    Run this command in the Command Prompt to install it:
    Code:
    pip install pyautogui
    And before running the script it, edit the following variables in the script:
    1. Set fl_studio_beat_length_in_steps to how long each note is in beats (mines at 1 / 96 of a beat = 1 / (16 steps per beat (in project settings)) * 1/6 step)
    2. Set min_rpm to set the starting sample RPM
    3. Set max_rpm to set the ending sample RPM
    4. Set rpm_increment for setting the interval of samples to create
    5. Set num_cylinders_fired_per_cycle to how many firing strokes take place in one engine cycle (e.g. V6 = 3, V8 = 4)
    And you should just have to double click the file to run it. And when the script is running, don't touch anything since it moves the cursor and presses buttons to export the files like how you would have to do it manually.
     
  4. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    435
    I try to run the command and this what I get:
    C:\Windows\system32>pip install pyautogui
    'pip' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.
     
  5. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,492
    I'm not really onto you guys' progress but I think it's looking cool anyway :)

    BUT.. 'pip install' seems Linux syntax to me as it stands for 'IP Installs Python' if I'm correct. I don't think this works by any means in Windows (?)
     
  6. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    435
    I'll be happy to share the engine sounds once they're exported
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Programmer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    429
  8. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    435

     
    #28 FFIVGUY, Sep 27, 2021
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2021
  9. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Programmer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    429
    You need to run that command in command prompt not the IDLE
     
  10. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    435
    I Must have forgot that. Reinstalling it now
    --- Post updated ---
    I reinstalled it with it checked and it's downloading the command you gave me
    --- Post updated ---
    where does it save to?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Programmer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    429
    It saves to the folder where FL studio projects are saved.
    --- Post updated ---
    Just try exporting a random sample and seeing the default output directory.
     
  12. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    435
    I'm trying to record an I6 sound but none of the rpms are matching up. On the piano roll each of the samples are set to 0:00:9 and 42 bpm is usually 750 rpms
     
  13. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Programmer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    429
    Okay I made it so you can input a sample RPM and its correlated BPM by modifying bpm_divide_rpm. (I made it so it uses your sample BPM and RPM)

    Here's the link to the file again just in case:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1d96xoSg2moFkwpSVmYC6sT-RRI3BqCrg/view?usp=sharing
     
  14. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    435
    I got that fixed but once I record the samples is not looping as if I recorded it by hand
     
  15. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Programmer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    429
    I don't know what you mean. Maybe these export settings might help?
    Capture.png
    --- Post updated ---
    Maybe the problem is you need to add the piano roll pattern to the playlist track.
    Capture2.png
     
  16. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    435
    I mean this was what got recorded: 2021-09-28.png

    And this is what I get when I record it by hand: 2021-09-282.png
     
  17. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Programmer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    429
    Try playing the sound back in Audacity on loop (Shift + Space) and if it sounds good then you should be fine. I only export a single loop for the engine samples.
     
  18. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    435
    The thing is that there is only one cylinder there
     
  19. angelo234

    angelo234
    Expand Collapse
    Junior Programmer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    429
    Did you select the whole pattern in the playlist track? Like did you right click drag the whole pattern so its all highlighted in red?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Capture2.png
  20. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    435
    I did that but it doesn't even sound like a proper engine cycle and it in audacity and it doesn't even have the right amount of cylinders nor does it look the way it's supposed to
     
    #40 FFIVGUY, Sep 29, 2021
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2021
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice