WIP Detroit Diesel V16 Simulation

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by FFIVGUY, Jun 25, 2019.

  1. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    I am trying to simulate the Detroit diesel V16 which is two V8 blocks attached together rather than a full V16 block but I need to know is it possible to have multiple sound sets so I could simulate it properly?
     
  2. The Stig Is A Spy

    The Stig Is A Spy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Sorry, could you elaborate on what you mean by multiple "sound sets"?

    By default, an engine has two types of sound sources: one within the block (specified by torque reaction nodes) and multiples from the exhaust system. The sound configuration also has a "fundamental frequency cylinder count", but I'm not sure what part of the engine sound this variable changes.
     
  3. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    What are torque reaction nodes and multiples?
     
  4. The Stig Is A Spy

    The Stig Is A Spy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Messages:
    66
    Sorry. I should have clarified that by "multiples", I meant multiple sound emitters corresponding to each node at the end of an exhaust (I'm pretty sure that's how it goes).

    The wiki entry for engines says that the array "torqueReactionNodes" defines three orthogonal nodes within the engine and are required for it to work (much like reference nodes). As the name suggests, they're also responsible for torque forces originating from the engine (e.g. shaking when started up).

    Using the SBR4 and Bolide engines as an example, the torque reaction nodes in order are lower front left, lower rear left, and upper rear right.

    Pictured is the Bolide engine from a rear right quarter view.

    beamng-help-0.png
     
    #4 The Stig Is A Spy, Jun 26, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2019
  5. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    is it possible to have more than two sound sources?
     
  6. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,153
    Basically what he is trying to do is use a normal V8 sound to emulate a V16 sound. Essentially we wants to use 1 V8 sound overlayed with another offset slightly (offset at the crank by 45*) to make 16 individual cylinder pulses and thus make it sound like a V16.

    Honestly, if there is no way to do it in game, your best bet might be to manually offset the sounds in Audacity and create your own custom V16 sound from 2 V8 sounds overlayed.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Is there a way to do that in game?
     
  8. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,153
    If there is... I don't know how to do it. Someone might, but if so it isn't me.

    A cheaty way to do it could be to make a similar engine in Automation (if you have it) and export it... then just use the exported sound from that.

    Otherwise, like I said before, you could overlay the sounds in Audacity manually and make new sounds. This could take a while though.
     
  9. Capkirk

    Capkirk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    729
    There are V16 sounds in game, just use those. There is no good way to play two samples at once with offset.
     
  10. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Those are petrol not diesel. Like I stated it is two v8 blocks attached together not a full v16 block
     
  11. Capkirk

    Capkirk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    729
    You cannot do that in BeamNG without modding
     
  12. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    I know that.
     
  13. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    How much would I offset the sounds to create that custom v16 sound from 2 v8 sounds?
     
  14. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,153
    Well... you would basically just offset the sounds so that each piston beat of the new sound happens in between the piston beats of the original sound... My suggestion if you wish to do this is to listen to the real engine (via youtube or something) and have your two samples in Audacity, and then just keep sliding and playing the second one till you get close enough to the sound you want...

    Or you can have someone create as close of an engine as they can to the engine your trying to make in Automation as the sounds usually come out pretty close... even the diesels shockingly despite there only being gas engines in the game.
     
  15. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    But I don't think I can access the new sounds though due to licensing and stuff
     
  16. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    I would want to use the samples ingame but I can't access them due to licensing so is there someway around this or where can I find samples to use for my engine and exhaust?
     
  17. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,153
    You could probably use this... (go to 2:28 and start there)



    There is a nice steady idle, and a nice steady maintained rpm sound... both are pretty clear (even if not picked up by the best microphone) so you can then use the tutorial that I posted earlier to extract the sound and make the files you need.

    Also, doing it this way will probably be your best bet rather than combining 2 ve sounds as I didn't realize till I just looked it up that the Detroit V16 is a 2 stroke... seeing as a 2 stroke doesn't even exist in the game, it is better that you just get it directly from the engine.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Thing is I need two separate sounds for engine and exhaust. And what do you mean two stroke doesn't exist in game. What so you call the I6D_engine and I6D_exhaust sounds considering the I6D_2_engine and I6D_2_exhaust sounds are both four stroke and cummins and also I need to have enough samples so that it sounds realistic enough.
     
  19. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,153
    Look man... Your confused how to do it... I am confused what exactly you're not understanding. If you want more samples of the engine running there is plenty of material on YouTube. It took me all of about 30 seconds to google one that a guy stuck into a hotrod with all sorts of interior, exterior shots of him driving it around. That should be more than enough material for you to easily get 15 to 20 samples from... possibly even more.

    As for the whole 2 stroke 4 stroke thing, I don't know how much you understand about engines, but most engines are 4 stroke engines. Gasoline engines operate in the Otto cycle while Diesel engines operate with the Diesel cycle (shocker I know). 4 stroke engines operate in 4 separate stages. Suck, Squeeze, Bang, Blow. Each time one of these stages happens it happens with the piston moving in the opposite of the previous.

    A 2 stroke on the other hand has the same 4 stages, but it combines them. In a 2 stroke, the intake and exhaust happens at the same time (the Suck and Blow) while the compression and combustion (the Squeeze and Bang) happen at the same time in the next step.

    This is VERY important if you wish to simulate the sound properly as 2 stroke engines and 4 stroke engines sound VERY different. Since a 2 stroke has an exhaust stroke for each piston for each revolution of the crankshaft, as opposed to once every 2 revolutions with a 4 stroke, this ends up making a very very different sounding engine.

    examples....
    Start at 3 minutes.


    Pick any truck in this video... they are all 4 strokes.


    They sound VERY different.

    So if you want to do it properly, you need to get the sounds from a 2 stroke i4 (and splice them as I described before), V8 (and splice them again), or V16 to make it sound like the Detroit V16 you are trying to emulate.

    As for the sounds in the game... to the best of my knowledge (unless they added some that I am unaware of in the last update), they are all 4 stroke engines. I don't know of any 2 stroke engines in the game that are gas or diesel. Thus why using their sounds will not get you the result you want.
     
  20. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    maybe I will wait until automation has diesels to see what they have and by the way if I use the i4 like you said I would have an i8 then an i16 not a v16. So would have to find a v4 sound in that case
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice