Deformable terrain

Discussion in 'Ideas and Suggestions' started by Barkfin, Feb 6, 2021.

  1. Barkfin

    Barkfin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Some games like Mudrunner create tire tracks but I wonder how hard it would be to implement deformable terrain? Like if a car gouges into the dirt and leaves behind a divot.
     
  2. Jakux

    Jakux
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Messages:
    1,994
    I guess it could be possible but holy moly that would eat so much fps.
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
  3. Aboroath

    Aboroath
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,807
    Anything is possible however I seriously doubt the devs are doing anything concrete with this idea right now. My guess is that it is doable on a technical level but would take years of coding work to make happen without killing performance. Just guesses.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. STATE 0F THE UNI0N

    STATE 0F THE UNI0N
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    We just got improved tire/ground physics and I have to agree, this game would be an absolute staple in the genre if they could manage 'any' form of ground tessellation or dynamic ground materials.

    I'd happily rebuy the game 10 times over for just this feature.

    If the spintires series can manage it on much older hardware, I can only imagine what modern components would be capable of and I hope the devs take a serious look into this.
     
  5. Dr. Death

    Dr. Death
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,920
    You would buy the game 10 times over, but would you wait 10 times the dev time just to have it added?
     
  6. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    3,026
    Would be nice to actually have realistic ground physics. Everything is far too slidey. I wish they would implement more features like this because there’s people like me with computers that run the game at hundreds of fps and can afford and would like to have more features at the cost of fps.

    but also the team is like 40 people and it’s not easy developing on such a dated platform.
     
  7. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,661
    This would be an awesome next step, and computers are starting to reach up into the realm now where I think it could actually be done without being TOOO overly excruciating for every machine. When this used to get suggested a long time ago, that was when everyone was running Dual or Quad Core single threaded CPU's and, in all honesty.... it just couldn't happen with that low of power (not just core number wise, but each core's actual individual power as well). Now though... the mean computer performance of all the players has gone WAY up to the point where multi car traffic is just "a thing" now that is part of the game. Granted that is in no small part also due to the massive performance enhancements made by the dev team as well... but those both do play into it.

    Now I had read, from a dev I do believe, a LONG time ago that they had played around with the concept of deformable terrain. They didn't give much detail, but at the time it just wasn't working all that well... or at lest up to their standards. But perhaps, something like this could get a revisit now that some time has passed and computer performance has seen a dramatic improvement (along with massive game optimizations)? (no joke, I probably read that like 5 or 6 years ago... like... we are talking a long LONG time)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    3,026
    everyone has a 6 core cpu now, so it should be fine. Really people should stop expecting the game to run on such low preformance hardware.
     
  9. DaddelZeit

    DaddelZeit
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2019
    Messages:
    3,085
    I have a 4 core i3 but I'm thinking about upgrading to amd soon.
    Just saying :p
     
  10. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    3,026
    that’s what I mean, a ton of people are upgrading to higher core count cpus cause they are getting very cheap
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,661
    Well... I mean... its not so much the core count as it is how good each core is. I used to be one of those people that ran it on a Core2Duo... and honestly... the game actually ran pretty well all things considered. The only thing that was holding it back was the graphics card in my computer as even with a Core2Duo it still only ever hit about 50 or 60% CPU load... and that was quite a few years ago already.

    If they didn't make the jump to Direct X 11 (and then I think 12?) I would probably still be running it on that laptop as I would have had no incentive to buy a faster computer. But even still... the main thing that holds people back is the amount of graphics processing power the game seems to need to keep your frames up. Like, my current computer, I think the highest CPU load I have ever seen is about 2% with Beam, but my poor 1070 is at about 70 to 80% usage on most maps... but I am also running it at like... just about 4k res, so I kinda did that to myself.
     
  12. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    3,026
    odd. For me it’s flip flopped, and I think logically it makes more sense. Normally I run 25-30 traffic cars on max settings, 3440x1440. What I see is around 10% GPU usage and 85% cpu usage. Logically it makes sense cause the physics is rendering on the cpu, and the graphics are simple it’s graphics tech fro a decade ago. Maybe you have a bottleneck? (And by the way, if it was using directx12 they would have added ray tracing support by now.)
     
  13. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,661
    Ehh... no that sounds about right. Your running a ton of traffic where as most time I am exploring trails, so its just my single car on the map... thus my very low CPU usage. You also appear to be running the latest and greatest graphics card on a somewhat lower resolution then mine. I currently run at 5120x1440 at 120fps on a much lower powered graphics card... so honestly, it all makes sense in the long run.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice