1. Trouble with the game?
    Try the troubleshooter!

    Dismiss Notice
  2. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.35 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Controls don't work after update

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by mike_rolowski, Feb 10, 2015.

  1. mike_rolowski

    mike_rolowski
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Hi all,

    I'm new to BeamNG Drive and I love it - hours upon hours spent crashing into things so far!

    I spent a good few hours trying to set up my Speedlink Black Widow joystick (haven't found the pennies to invest in a driving controls kit yet) to work with the last stable release of the game; with the latest install though (0.3.7.6) my controller no longer works. :(

    In case you have any tips here is the code I used for the custom input map (please note this was mostly by trial and error and after reading around and copying and pasting from the forums - I am by no means experienced in any kind of programming):

    Code:
    // Product Name: S-6640-SBK BLACK WIDOW Flightstick
    // GUID: {031707B5-000-000-000-504944564944}
    // - 13 objects: rzaxis (axis), zaxis (axis), yaxis (axis), xaxis (axis), button0 (button), button1 (button), button2 (button), button3 (button), button4 (button), button5 (button), button6 (button), button7 (button)
    
    
    //%device = "{031707B5-000-000-000-504944564944}-" @ %joyNum;
    %device = "joystick" @ %joyNum;
    
    
    // 0 deadzone
    $gp_deadzone = "-0.15 0.015";
    
    
    // movement
    %mm.bind("joystick", xaxis, steer);
    
    
    //%mm.bind("joystick", yaxis, "U", "-1 1", joy_brake);
    //%mm.bind("joystick", yaxis, "D", $gp_deadzone, joy_accelerate);
    
    
    %mm.bind("joystick", yaxis, two_axis);
    //%mm.bind("joystick", yaxis, "ID", $gp_deadzone, two_axis);
    //%mm.bind("joystick", yaxis, "RID", "-0.15 0.15", "S", 1.2, accelerate);
    %mm.bind("joystick", zaxis, "RI", clutch);
    %mm.bind("joystick", button0, shiftUp);
    %mm.bind("joystick", button1, shiftDown);
    %mm.bind("joystick", button3, parkingbrake_toggle);
    
    
    echo("Black Widow mapping loaded");
    
    It would be really great if I could get this working again, so that I can precisely control my crashes and not be ham-footed (-handed) on the gas pedal! The in-game console is not helpful at all, especially after naming the '%device' to '"Joystick"', (from - presumably - 'unknown0') it appears all normal i.e. no error warnings. :confused:

    Any tips would be much appreciated!

    Cheers,
    Michael.
     
  2. arsika1999

    arsika1999
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    I have the same problem with a steering wheel that used to be natively supported... found a solution yet?
     
  3. 8Traque

    8Traque
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Try putting // in front of the line that says %device = "joystick" @ %joyNum;

    Doing this made my racing wheel work, so it may also work with your controller
     
  4. Rabid_Guardsman

    Rabid_Guardsman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Hopefully this works for others like it did for me.

    I just got the game a week ago and could not get my old logitech dual action working no matter what I tried (showed up in input test but not in game) but kept searching and found people recommending this "Xbox360 controller emulator" thing for other games and it seems to work pretty well. For those worried about it being a virus (I know I always worry about everything like this) take a look at the virus total scan things, main part, update part (it's a site that scans whatever you want with a bunch of different antivirus programs).

    To get it working you have to first download the "x360.ce.app-2.1.2.191" and throw the x360ce.exe file into BeamNG.drive\Bin32 (or maybe the main directory if you launch it with the .exe in there). Next download the 32bit version of the "x360ce Libraries 32bit 3.4.0.848" (or whatever the newest 32 bit libraries are), throw the "X360ce.gbd and xinput1_3.dll" into the same folder, and make a copy of Xinput1_3.dll then rename it Xinput9_1_0.dll. Now make sure your controller is plugged in and run x360.ce.exe, it will first tell you that the x360ce.ini file was not found and ask you if you want to make a new one, hit yes. Next a box will pop up saying "New Device Detected - (device name here)", just go ahead and leave "search automatically for settings" selected and "search the internet" checked and hit next, it should find something pretty quickly and then you just hit finish. Now you can set up your controller to do whatever, then close the application and run Beamng.drive and you should hear a ding when the game is launching that signifies that x360ce is working.

    Note: If you get an error about the configuration file version not matching the program version, it should still work if you hit OK. To make make it stop showing that message though, you can just open the x360ce.ini file and add

    Version=1

    at some point under [Options]

    so it will look something like this.

    Code:
    [Options]
    UseInitBeep=1
    Log=0
    Console=0
    DebugMode=0
    InternetDatabaseUrl=http://www.x360ce.com/webservices/x360ce.asmx
    InternetFeatures=1
    InternetAutoload=1
    AllowOnlyOneCopy=1
    Version=1
    
    [InputHook]
    HookMode=1
    
    Edit: This also works with my old saitek cyborg command unit even though it's normally pretty hard to get the analog stick on that working right in games!
     
    #4 Rabid_Guardsman, Feb 16, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2015
  5. Gouranga

    Gouranga
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Hi, I have the same problem with my MS sidewinder devices. Neither FFW nor joystick work in game despite working in the input test menu. I can run the application and it does find the BeamNG.drive.x86.exe. But there is no sound indication when I start the game and eventually there is no difference in device behaviour. Am I supposed to create beamng input mapping file for the xbox controller and use it instead? Do you have some ideas what else could be wrong?
    Thanks for this tip, anyway.
     
  6. skullcandy12

    skullcandy12
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    this seems to be a generic fix for most problems, as i tried everything in another thread for a racing wheel. but this worked.
    There may already be a inputmap for your device in the same folder. Just double check the device id and the inputmap file then do what traque did above
     
  7. bhorton

    bhorton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    628
    What? How is he posting without BeamNG.Drive badge?
     
  8. Gouranga

    Gouranga
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    You cannot get a badge without a working input device, mate...

    The MS wheel and joystick maps do not contain the line to comment out.
     
    #8 Gouranga, Mar 23, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice