WIP Citroën C4 Coupe (2005)

Discussion in 'Community Mods - Archived' started by Keepermaster, May 18, 2014.

?

Do you like the Citroën C4 Coupe?

1. Yes.

87.4%
  2. Not at all.

12.6%
  1. Keepermaster

Keepermaster
    Expand Collapse

"Yay, another WIP thread with content that would never be released!" Yes, I know, this is probably what you think. If it fails, then true. I'm new to modeling, so the risk is there. Anyways: I am trying to model this Citroën C4 Coupe, I will release it when I'm done, no beta release (Closed Beta only). Anyways, I was wondering if I am doing everything correctly.
    Poly flow isn't looking too good in my opinion, and the thing on the edge is terribly made. Some advice on how to keep poly flow smooth would be great :) I've been working 8-9 hours on it now.

The hood itself seems to be smooth enough, but the little thing by the light is ugly. I'll try smoothing it as much as I can. It seems like it's a little bit bulky too.

Also: I can't stand the car, I am modeling it because it had a good blueprint. I don't like new cars :p

NOTE: I am restarting, I'll upload pictures when I get progress again.

Update: I'll return to the project after learning myself how to get a perfect poly flow, as of the fact that I seemingly can't manage to do that yet.

Update 24/5: I found a tool named Subsurf, seems like a really nifty tool to keep poly flow! Is it a good idea to use it?

#1 Keepermaster, May 18, 2014
    Last edited: May 24, 2014
  2. Zappymouse

Zappymouse
    Expand Collapse

Your polygon density is quite high for the stage your mesh is at. I'd advise starting again with simpler geometry, adding finer details as you complete more of the car. Maintaining consistent polygon density and polyflow is mucho easier when working with fewer polygons. As for your current polyflow, it's a little messy, but quite good for a beginner. Kudos for keeping all your polygons as quads.