WIP 1984 - 2006 Brutus B1

Discussion in 'Land' started by Sithhy™, May 16, 2017.

Tags:
?

Should the "empty" grille be replaced with the one from the Hopper on all hoods?

Poll closed Apr 26, 2019.
  1. Yes, do it

    27.3%
  2. No, don't do it

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Leave them as separate designs

    72.7%
  1. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,259
    Hilariously enough though... its very close to the original V8 engine (the 6.2L V8) in terms of performance. Originally the 6.2L was launched with 120 hp and 240 lbft of torque. The Cummins on the other hand makes about 105 hp and 265 lbft of torque. So while the engine technically makes more torque, it reaches both its max numbers at about half the RPM that the V8 does... thus making the engine feeling a bit sluggish.
     
  2. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2,349
    A little video I made of me doing the 'Climbing Utah' scenario, but with the B1 instead of the Hopper. It did pretty good, despite using the weakest stock engine - a 5.7L V8 petrol making 190HP :)

     
    • Like Like x 12
  3. Spython

    Spython
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    55
    The floor's driver side didn't seem to enjoy getting smashed on those rocks :p
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. Truckersteel

    Truckersteel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Will the slantback have an openable rear hatch like how the tailgate works on the D-Series?
     
  5. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2,349
    Possibly, but we're not sure about implementing it at the moment
     
  6. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2,349
    Spare tire carrier just for the slantback :)

    upload_2019-2-22_23-33-25.png
     
    • Like Like x 16
  7. fluffy12345

    fluffy12345
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    126
    i want this bad man it feels like im being teased with evernew bit of info give MMMMMMMMMMMM>
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  8. RacerRobin24

    RacerRobin24
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    I really like this....
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  9. Ihatecheeseguy

    Ihatecheeseguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    166
    Beamng needs more military vehicles.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  10. IAchievedBacon

    IAchievedBacon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    2,774
    Came to this thread to be on topic but by the looks of it how heavy of a system would you need to run the B1? (I'm not sure if this question has been asked but I can't really look back because of homework.)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Capkirk

    Capkirk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    739
    Hypothetically somewhere between the K-series and the older versions of the oldsfullsize mod. It's not as poly-heavy and unoptimized as the old oldsfullsize stuff, but it still has a lot more to it than most stock vehicles due to the sheer number of parts.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. Green ︻┳デ═—

    Green ︻┳デ═—
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    30
    This is too funny

     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. fluffy12345

    fluffy12345
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    126
    LAUGH
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    2,349
    Well, it could be somewhere around the K-Series area, but I haven't tested myself that yet (don't even know how o_O ), so for now I can't give you a specific answer. But don't worry about the 707k polys thing, it's a number for literally EVERY part shown at once, where you won't be able to do that ingame because compatibility with other parts of the vehicle, so I would expect the number drop by like half or more, depending on the configuration you go with :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,259
    Yeah, your not wrong... It is pretty heavy right now because of the detail of the JBeam I am giving it... but if you can run a T Series, you can run this thing... that being said though, it will get faster as I will be optimizing a whole lot more once I get everything in game.

    It needs some optimizations anyways because since we decided to add in those tracks, they are extremely difficult to run. I have dual 6 core processors running at 3.02 GHz, 32Gb's of ram, and a GTX 1070, and when I have the tracks and a body installed at the same time, it brings my computer to its knees. I think it has something to do with the collision triangles somehow as tracks vs wheels when it comes to node and beam cound are about even... so I don't know where all the extra processing power would be going other than that.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  16. Jackets64

    Jackets64
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    280
    Off topic, but i'm going to take a guess and bet that you've got dual Intel Xeon X5670s or something in the same area.
    (I'm a huge computer nerd!)
     
  17. atv_123

    atv_123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,259
    Yeah, I think the ones I have are Xeon X5675's... I am not 100% sure though as I am not home right now to actually just look at it.
     
  18. Jackets64

    Jackets64
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    280
    I'm looking into an x5650 @atv_123.
    --- Post updated ---
    Go X58!
     
  19. McBeard

    McBeard
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    since we're on the topic of pc specs, do you thing it'll work alright with a dual core i5 from almost ten years ago (i5 660) and a 1gb Radeon 6570?
    I do plan on buying a new pc some time next week but no clue how it'll run till I have it.
    Figured I'd ask since I may still have this one when the mod comes out.
     
  20. Jackets64

    Jackets64
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    280
    I recommend the new pc (or an upgrade!), your pc is a little bit underpowered for this game. If you feel like your comfortable opening your pc up and replacing some parts, I suggest the NVidia GT 1030 as it's a nice upgrade from that. Had one personally once and it did fine for low to medium graphics depending on the map etc. I don't know a CPU upgrade path from that.

    P.S. as your motherboard is an OEM mobo don't expect to be able to do that upgrade but there are a couple of OEM motherboards that were set up to support a CPU upgrade like that.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice