1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

0.24 Discussion thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Leeloo, Dec 2, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scaleop4

    scaleop4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    same problem.. when i want to set a default car. it just goes back to the blue pickup truck.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  2. The Game 2

    The Game 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    291
    Exactly, It's so frustrating. I think they should revert the UI back to how it was before this change. It's just not working.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  3. scaleop4

    scaleop4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    same i don't really like new UI all that much i can live with but i liked the old one better..
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
  4. The Game 2

    The Game 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    291
    Me too dude. It's a novel idea but the execution and timing are terrible.
    --- Post updated ---
    Is there some way the Default vehicle issue? Cause it is annoying when I set a different vehicle to default it sets it back to the default blue d series. I can't begin to explain how annoying it is.
     
  5. scaleop4

    scaleop4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    trust me if i knew id tell you , i'm just going to wait for a fix. ( plus they need to fix how long it takes to open the car menu were you pick your car cos on mine is takes over a minute for the menu to open and you cant do anything while its happening.)
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  6. The Game 2

    The Game 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    291
    Yeah I'm gonna do the same but man is it freaking annoying though.
     
  7. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,841
    Cool, thanks, I've reproduced this and made a ticket. Since it seems to be a rather innocent bug, I can't tell you yet when I will have time to look into it.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  8. LukeFHJ

    LukeFHJ
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Is there a way to disable the missions in freeroam?
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  9. beamn driver

    beamn driver
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    202
    it is also necessary to add the help tab to the interface as before to see the performance of a PC or find sites on issues of interest, and I also noticed that the numbers on the speedometer of the chericher vivace arsenic are sometimes mixed, this can be seen if you turn on the pause
     
  10. BlackMetal

    BlackMetal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Are Height maps functional or it works as Normal map mixed with bump map?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. beamn driver

    beamn driver
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2021
    Messages:
    202
    in the gameplay like
    --- Post updated ---
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Spython

    Spython
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    87
    The solid front axle's limited slip diff for Gavril trucks is still missing a slot for axle shafts.
     
  13. titanic4

    titanic4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Regarding the "Save as default" issue, in lua\ge\extensions\core\partmgmt.lua there's following line in saveConfigFileStage2 function:
    Code:
    data.model = playerVehicleData.model 
    In most cases the playerVehicleData.model field doesn't seem to exist. That causes the data.model to be nil, which causes the field to be skipped while creating JSON file with the config.
    When I changed the line to following:
    Code:
    data.model = playerVehicleData.chosenParts.main
    the issue went away.
    BeamNG developers may fix the issue in a different way, though.
     
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. Puzzle

    Puzzle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Hot take: not a fan of the UI.
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
  15. ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet

    ThatCarGuyDownTheStreet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,953
    Gonna take a sec to get used to, but overall it's certainly an improvement over the previous UI, both in terms of layout and speed.
    Any specific reasons as to why you don't like it?
     
    • Agree Agree x 6
  16. SKB

    SKB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    1,965
    you'll get used to it.
     
  17. Alex [ITA]

    Alex [ITA]
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    453
    More UI bugs:
    • Radial menu:
      • Press ESC > Radial menu: if you press esc you'll cycle through the "esc menu" and the radial menu. The radial menu does not close (it sort of goes in background) and will continue to pop back up unless you press E or the radial menu button on the "esc menu";
      • Due to the bug reported in the point above most of the times the radial menu does not appear if you press E once (as it was already opened in the background), but it does if you press E twice (it closes the background radial menu and opens a new one);
      • The UI button is not aligned:
    upload_2021-12-3_11-44-40.png
    • UI apps:
      • Clicking the UI apps button brigs up this useless menu: upload_2021-12-3_11-47-44.png
        This menu is pointless as the next one (reached by clicking the green pencil):
        upload_2021-12-3_11-48-27.png
        Has the same drop down menu with the same options.
      • The "Torquecurve" (and other graphs apps) app breaks after changing any part in the vehicle config menu (Ctrl + W):
    upload_2021-12-3_11-53-10.png
    The only solution to this is to reload the UI (F5 or Ctrl + L).​
    • Selecting something on the vehicle config menu makes it completely unreadable:
    upload_2021-12-3_11-55-58.png
    • Many settings don't darken the unused area, while others do (eg. Settings > Controls and Settings > Audio are the only pages that darken the whole screen), you can see it by yourself;
    • Huge empty gap in Settings > Controls for no reason:
    upload_2021-12-3_12-7-55.png
    • You have to press "ESC" twice to go out from any menu (as esc just brings up the "esc menu"), unlike the old UI where you could return to the game just by one key pressing;
    • Opening the vehicle selector (Ctrl + E) when loaded in a map for the first time almost crashes the game: it takes a good 5 seconds with the game not responding for it to appear;
     
    #337 Alex [ITA], Dec 3, 2021
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2021
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  18. stenyak

    stenyak
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,442
    Alright. Then please double check the modifications on your end, and if the issue still persists, let us know the exact repro steps (or send us a sample modified file) to verify on our end.
     
  19. depewm07

    depewm07
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2020
    Messages:
    108
    I noticed on my logitech g920 wheel that when you turn the wheel all the way to left or right it mimics a power steering dead zone almost like kickback witch is super cool and realistic.
     
  20. Puzzle

    Puzzle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    I mean, it's mainly the sound effects and my personal preference to the previous design. I kinda wish there were at least an option to keep it.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice