0.17 Discussion thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by synsol, Aug 16, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Im_a_Lefty

    Im_a_Lefty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    That is because you need to change the long block.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. /Kobi

    /Kobi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    49
    Oh, thank you. Somehow I didn’t think about this.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Confused_Deer43

    Confused_Deer43
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    382
    The AI sometimes fails to properly line up at the drag strip, and when they do, sometimes they begin to reverse during the countdown and crash into walls
     
  4. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,654
    Does this occurs with some specific vehicle and configuration? Perhaps the brakes does not allow them to stop earlier.
     
  5. Confused_Deer43

    Confused_Deer43
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    382
    It's been kind of random, sometimes they stop before both amber lights are on, sometimes they line up but begin to reverse away rapidly turning left and right eventually crashing into a wall. (that last one I remember happened with the SBR4)
    no mods running etc, i'll try catch it on video and post it here if needed.
    This is sort of rare, after a few races it will likely happen at least once, bus has highest chance of failing to properly line up i'd say
     
  6. default0.0player

    default0.0player
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,098
    I found a simple solution, please consider doing it, thanks.
    In the "combustionEngineThermals.lua"
    In line 523
    Code:
      local coolantEfficiency = useRegularCoolantLogic and (coolantMass * invInitialCoolantMass * max(min((constants.maxCoolantTemperature - M.coolantTemperature) * 0.1, 1), 0)) or 0.01
    Change the number 0 to 0.001, as shown
    Code:
      local coolantEfficiency = useRegularCoolantLogic and (coolantMass * invInitialCoolantMass * max(min((constants.maxCoolantTemperature - M.coolantTemperature) * 0.1, 1), 0.001)) or 0.01
    The 0.001 is low enough to fully damage the engine after overheating, and high enough to prevent temp jumping after cooling down.
     
    #966 default0.0player, Oct 12, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2019
    • Like Like x 3
    • Staff Pick Staff Pick x 1
  7. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Engineering
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,693
    Oh I guess I never let you know that this has been fixed?
    But yea, it's been fixed for a while now :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. lioneljohndeere

    lioneljohndeere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    we need cold air so we can do cold starts!!!!!!!!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Copunit12

    Copunit12
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    402
    Even just as a slider would be great.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. EruptionTyphlosion

    EruptionTyphlosion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2,742
    Automation Test Track is 0 degrees Celsius in certain parts of the map.
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  11. Confused_Deer43

    Confused_Deer43
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    382
    technically if you modified a map to have below zero temperature and disabled engine preheating in the settings, you could get cold engines, i dont know if this would make starting up the engine take any longer though
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. lioneljohndeere

    lioneljohndeere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    yes
    --- Post updated ---
    i know that if you go up it gets cold and down is hot
     
  13. SimplyGaming

    SimplyGaming
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    759
    AI still tries to avoid other cars even when simplified collision physics are enabled (where inter-vehicle collisions are disabled so there's no reason they should react)
     
  14. 98crownvic

    98crownvic
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    1,499
    Is this really a glitch, or am I just misunderstanding you? If I were driving with simplified collisions, I wouldn't want traffic just phasing through each other.
     
  15. SimplyGaming

    SimplyGaming
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    759
    If it's not a glitch it should at least be toggleable, because I like to use it to compare lap times and I can't really do that when they're trying to avoid hitting each other despite it being impossible for that to happen.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Can-06

    Can-06
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    542
    Any ideas about this black thing?
    20191014150635_1.jpg
     
  17. lioneljohndeere

    lioneljohndeere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    the van diesel engine does not have a adjust bar on the stage 3 turbo fix needed
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3,057
    I may be wrong, but isn't such turbo from a mod?
     
  19. default0.0player

    default0.0player
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,098
    This is a bug, not mod-related. In the
    X:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\BeamNG.drive\content\vehicles\van.zip\vehicles\van\van_engine_v8_diesel.jbeam
    I found this
    Code:
    "van_intake_v8_diesel_stage3": {
        "information":{
            "authors":"BeamNG",
            "name":"Stage 3 Variable Boost Turbocharger",
            "value":2850,
        }
        "slotType" : "van_intake_v8_diesel",
        "turbocharger": {
            "bovSoundFileName":"event:>Vehicle>Forced_Induction>turbo_semi_01>turbo_bov"
            "hissLoopEvent":"event:>Vehicle>Forced_Induction>turbo_semi_01>turbo_hiss"
            "whineLoopEvent":"event:>Vehicle>Forced_Induction>turbo_semi_01>turbo_spin"
            "bovEnabled":false,
            "bovSoundPressureCoef": 0.0,
            "bovSoundVolumeCoef": 0.0
            "hissVolumePerPSI": 0.03,
            "whineVolumePer10kRPM": 0.04,
            "whinePitchPer10kRPM": 0.05,
            "wastegateStart":"$wastegateStart",
            "wastegateLimit":"$=$wastegateStart+1",
            "maxExhaustPower": 55000,
            "backPressureCoef": 0.00008,
            "frictionCoef": 80,
            "inertia":14,
            "damageThresholdTemperature": 750,
            "pressurePSI":[
                //turbineRPM, pressure(PSI)
                [0,          0],
                [25000,      5],
                [50000,     10],
                [100000,    16],
                [150000,    24],
                [200000,    33],
                [250000,    43],
            ],
            "engineDef":[
                //engineRPM, efficiency, exhaustFactor
                [0,     0.01,  0.01],
                [250,   0.10   0.10],
                [500,   0.20,  0.20],
                [800,   0.30,  0.30],
                [1100,  0.40,  0.40],
                [1400,  0.50,  0.50],
                [2000,  0.60,  0.60],
                [2500,  0.70,  0.70],
                [3000,  0.80,  0.80],
                [3500,  0.88,  0.88],
                [4000,  0.90,  0.90],
                [5000,  0.90,  0.90],
            ],
        },
        "mainEngine": {
            //turbocharger name
            "turbocharger":"turbocharger",
            "$+particulates":0.4,
        },
    No "Variable" section, but it has "$wastegateStart"
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  20. lioneljohndeere

    lioneljohndeere
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    i will see if mods vs no mods works thx
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice